Ratings based on 586 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Good nights stay for the price. Staff very helpful and a pleasure to deal with.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review of the Microtel Inn & Suites Klamath Falls. We are pleased to read you found us to be a good value and that our associates impressed you with their courteous service. Thanks again for being our guest, and we hope you will make the same choice the next time you're in the area. Kind Regards, Rachel Patel, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Fine but..,

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Should maybe be a disclosure about how close they are to an airport. Planes were very loud, windows very thin. Only other complaint would be the high powered fluorescent lights they have above the bed instead of lamps next to the bed. It's blinding and can't be used at night without causing eye pain.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Howard, thank you for sharing your feedback. Although you were overall satisfied with your stay, we apologize for the issues you encountered and regret the inconvenience it caused. We wish we had the opportunity to address these issues while you were here as we would have done our best to ensure you were comfortable. We appreciate your feedback and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with a much better experience. Kind Regards, Rachel Patel, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Micro means small. Small room, uncomfortable bed.

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Not what we expected. We thought Wyndham meant excellence.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel. We are sorry for failing to meet all of your expectations in regard to your stay and regret the inconvenience it caused. I have shared your concerns in regard to the beds with my housekeeping team to ensure it never happens again. We appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon! Kind Regards, Rachel Patel, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from reno

Nice,clean hotel

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Nice hotel small room ,Microtel, but had what you needed clean bathroom,bed,Internet,refrigerator and microwave. Staff on break a lot; ice and soda machine broken. Breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
I am pleased to read about your stay at the Microtel Inn & Suites Klamath Falls. It’s our pleasure knowing you loved our complimentary continental breakfast buffet and had an overall pleasant visit. Your feedback is important to us as it will help us to improve our facilities and service going forward. We hope that you'll choose us again next time whenever your travels bring you back to our area! Kind Regards, Rachel Patel, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2017
It was nice time being in this hotel. The staff was friendly, but had to wait an hour to enter the room. Some exceptions were given to us like staying late in the pool, which make our kids happy. Otherwise cool place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at the Microtel Inn & Suites Klamath Falls. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused at the time of check-in but we are glad we could compensate for that. We are also pleased you loved our service and enjoyed your time at the pool. We hope to welcome you and your family as our guest again in the future. Kind Regards, Rachel Patel, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from CA

Nice Hotel , close to shops, restaurants.

Posted Jul 14, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Crater Lake, Rogue River, hiking, bicycling, fishing
We stayed for 3 nights in July. The staff was super courteous and nice. Suites are comfortable, with a queen sized bed and a sofa bed. Microwave and mini refrigerator. Perfect for us and our 13 year old son. Only their 'free' breakfast is pretty minimal- eggs, breads, 2 kinds of cereal. Thats it, but for the rate, hey, no complaints.There is huge Walmart nearby and many small places to eat and shop basic needs. Good place to stay if you are visiting Crater lake or Rogue river or the surrounding area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Kali, thank you for staying at the Microtel Inn & Suites Klamath Falls, and we are delighted that our location worked well for you. Our goal is to make every guest feel as comfortable as possible, so I'm glad that you experienced that while you were here. Thanks for your feedback, and we hope to see you and your family again soon. Kind Regards, Rachel Patel, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albany, CA

Uncomfortable bed, no room service

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Rooms are small and cozy, The beds are very uncomfortable, top of that they don't even service the room, exchange towels and remove our trash for 2 days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sachin, Thank you for posting a review of your stay with us. We strive to consistently deliver exceptional service so I sincerely apologize that housekeeping neglected to clean your room. I have shared your feedback with the our housekeeping staff and steps have already been taken so that these mistakes are not repeated in the future. I truly hope that you will give us another chance to prove that we are committed to providing outstanding guest service. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel. Kindest Regards, Raj Patel General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richland, Washington

Close enough to a shopping area and fast food.

Posted Jul 9, 2017
The clerk checking us in was not very friendly as it appeared that she we were keeping her away from something more important. The breakfast bar was not very good as there wasn't much variety.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
David, thank you for your visit. Although you liked our convenient location, we are sorry for the issues you experienced and regret the inconvenience it caused. We will be sure to share your feedback with the entire team and will use it as a training tool to improve our performance. We appreciate you being our guest, and please give us another opportunity to make a better impression on your next visit to our area. Kind Regards, Rachel Patel, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
It was great! The only thing to add is that the room for breakfast could use more tables. We had no where to sit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
It was a pleasure having you as our guest at the Microtel Inn & Suites. We are delighted to learn you had a pleasant time while you were here. I have also taken a note of your feedback as we plan any upgrades in the future. We hope you will make us your home again whenever you are back in this area. Kind Regards, Rachel Patel, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to a mixed industrial and family busin

Posted Jul 3, 2017
No disabled parking at the same end of the building as the disabled room we were in. Men congregating at the parking area smoking pot and cigarettes. Makes people not feel safe! That is at night! To much smoke for people who have lung problems.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the feedback. We sincerely apologize for the issues you encountered and regret the inconvenience it caused. We have strict policies in regard to safety and security of our guests, so we appreciate you bringing your concern to me. We hope to have another chance in the future so we can provide you with a much better experience. Kind Regards, Rachel Patel, General Manager