Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic golf course, fantastic views, poor hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2017
The hotel has a fantastic golf course and has views to kill for - unfortunately the hotel itself is "tired" and is in need of renovations especially the rooms. Although there are some staff are very good, the majority are sulky and appear to be disinterested in their jobs. We have been going there for several years now but only for the golf - the hotel has been deteriorating every year - now that Marriot Hotels is involved we expect that things will improve. Only time will tell!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great Hotel but Reception personnel inefficient.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: Lovely hotel in a great position.
Cons: Management direction, re. above. Example...we had cake and coffe on the terrace .....free! Nobody around when we could have signed the bill!
Location: Great location for golf and ideal for your last night stay prior to going to Capetown airport and a flight home.
Good experience apart from dealings with Reception and room condition. Room first. There were no bath towels and one floor lamp had no bulb ('elf and safety issue in the UK). Reception. They did not do what they said they were going to do. Re. the towels, I telephoned twice and visited Reception once to get towels and they eventually arrived 2hours 20 mins. later. Meantime, my wife dried herself on the towelling robe! I asked Reception if we could extend our departure time. They said they would speak with the Duty Manager and phone me. This didn't happen so later on our departure day I went to Reception, saw the Duty Manager myself and agreed a time with him.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mr L R

Beautiful and outstanding

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful and outstanding
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Stunning pool & spa

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed here back in December and loved the hotel grounds and our room, very spacious with a huge balcony. the soaker tub was also nice and we enjoyed using the spa and indoor pool. the food was okay, nothing to write home about but in terms of being in a beautiful setting with good service, there wasnt much to complain about. it was also a scenic drive from cape town airport to the hotel, a bit far but a great way to see more of south africa..kleindmond is amazing btw!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Beautiful views over the lagoon and golf course

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Overall pretty good. Food in snack bar fair Trouble with electronic entrance keys not working We feel if you are staying st the hotel they should reserve some tee times for residents
5 out of 5
by Joakim

Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
Always loving the scenery and friendliness of the staff! Great golf course!
3 out of 5
by Shaun

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Overall happy with stay being going for the last 4 years, however was disappointed in following, no towels at the pool, supper service very slow, golf cart given full of empty bottles.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Pros: Setting and facilities. Room size was great.
Cons: Service.
Staff were poorly trained - I understand there was a strike at the time and students were covering for the normal staff. However, these students were in no way prepared for their tasks. Room service was non-existent and waiter/serving staff had no idea of how to take care of guests, let along get the orders at the restaurant correct.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel that has lost its 5-star reputation

Posted Jan 5, 2017 on Hotels
The Hotel has always had a very good infrastructure & facilities (spa, golf course, tennis court, swimming pools, lounges) for rest & relaxation. In addition, its location & serene environment makes for an ideal holiday/break. However, all these great attributes are negatively impacted with the poor level of service, the lack of proper staff training, the availability of staff in various areas of the hotel, the quality of the restaurant & food. The sun loungers available in the swimming pool area only accommodate about 40 guests - this is a problem when the hotel is at full occupancy at 153 rooms - not to mention the added frustration in the summer period where most guests want to spend time by the pool. The hotel also needs a rejuvenation in terms of its rooms, showers, general interior design. All this left a very bad taste when being charged R5000/night.