Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced Oldie

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Found the place to be a bit disappointing given the rate one pays per night. The place is clean and the staff are friendly but renovations to bring the hotel into the 21st century are desperately needed. At a lower rate I wouldn't mind spending a night there. Will definitely be trying out something else next time I'm in Klerksdorp.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Michell, Hotel Management
Dear Valued GUEST Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Klerksdorp. As we pride ourselves on delivering a memorable hotel experience during your travels, we have unfortunately fallen short of our goal during your recent stay. I have shared your feedback with the relevant Managers of the hotel. Upholding our commitment to provide a memorable experience with exceptional service, we hope to have an opportunity to better your experience with us whenever your travels bring you back to Klerksdorp. Sincerely, Michell FO Manager
2 out of 5
by Moss

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
I was really taken aback when I returned to my room on saturday after 14:00 to find my room still not cleaned. I reported it at reception and asked to be let know when it's done while I wait at the reception. About an hour later, cleaning of the room was complete an no one had the decency to alert me as per my request. I had to find out when I to check progress....was really disappointed!
3 out of 5
by Marlon

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
Was ok for budget sleepover
4 out of 5
by BENNY

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
Very good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and comfortable

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
Centrally located, friendly reception staff and comfortable rooms.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jacky from Mafikeng

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Fun
5 out of 5
by Big

fabulous Klerksdorp Protea Hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
I had an enjoyable stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

enjoyable stay

Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel was clean and had lovely feather pillows on the bed. Staff were pleasant and accomodating when we asked to change to a room with a shower in instead of a bath.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Dirty - not worth the money

Posted Apr 30, 2015
Pros: Absolutely nothing
Cons: Absolutely everything
Can't believe someone as big as the Protea hotel allows a hotel in this condition to be open. From doors not being able to be locked, to dirty showers - wouldn't be surprised if the beds were full of bed bugs and mites etc - hence choosing to sleep on top of the covers....