Ratings based on 1,200 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Great hotel!

Posted Dec 24, 2017
This hotel is in such a great position - really close to the city centre shops and sights. Really comfy bed and good bathroom. I stayed for two nights before traveling north, then back for another night. I would definitely recommend this place and I would stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
Dear Ange, Thank you for your review! Your feedback is very valuable to us and we appreciate the time you took to share it with us. It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It is absolutely true as you mentioned, if you’re looking for a hotel in the city center of Helsinki, this is the hotel for you. I will share your comments with our team. Once more, thank you for the review and I hope to see you soon again in Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre! Sincerely, Mari Salonen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Close to Railway Station

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Hotel is very accessible to railway station especially after arriving 8 hrs from Rovaniemi. Had a speedy and smooth check in. The staffs are very knowledgeable and helpful to guide us with the city map. K supermarket, Finnair airport buses, tram lines and shopping centers are all within short walking distance. 👍
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
Dear Cindy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your resent stay with us! It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all the comments in your review! This kind of information is important for us. I hope you will continue booking accommodation in Holiday Inn hotels in the future. Sincerely, Mari Salonen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from busan

Posted Dec 20, 2017
Had a comfortable stay. Just 10 sec from the main train station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 27, 2017 by Kati, Hotel Management
Dear mk, Thank you for having chosen Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre! We appreciate the chance to hear your feedback.Thank you for the compliments. We welcome you again to Holiday Inn hotels in the future! Sincerely, Kati Salminen, Duty Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Pros: Central to everything, very friendly and helpful staff
Cons: Restaurant food was good, but perhaps a larger variety of appetizer type dishes or meals with smaller portions for smaller appetites, e.g. senior port
Location: Wonderful location for access to buses, trains, shopping and sight seeeing.
Really enjoyed our stay at Holiday Inn Centre City...so handy to bus and train terminals and within walking distance to shopping, Christmas Market, Cathedral, harbour, Rock Church etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2017 by Kati, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for letting us know your lovely feedback about your recent stay. Your opinion is very important to us and we always want to learn to do better service for our valued guests. We wish you welcome to stay again in the future at Holiday Inn hotels worldwide! Sincerely, Kati Salminen Front Office Duty Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Helsinki good hotel location

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Hotel v gd location. Staff helpful, friendly and informative. General areas all well kept pleasing and presentable. Our room 510 too hot and although control in the room was turned right down seemed to make little difference to temperature. Also lot of noise from pipes or heating system in our room. My friends room 518 faced bus station and did not have these issues. Breakfast was wonderful, huge choice, hit ,cold, meats, cheeses fruit pancakes etc etc. All in all good value just avoid 510.!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 13, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! Your feedback is very valuable to us and we appreciate the time you took to share it with us. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us and if your stay was negatively affected by these. Once again, thank you for your review. I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back in Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre soon again! Sincerely, Mari Salonen General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great hotel

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Great modern hotel, right next to the train station..... lovely food, staff were excellent.. didn’t try the sauna (next time)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your resent stay with us! It is nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all the comments in your review! This kind of information is important for us. I hope you will continue booking accommodation in Holiday Inn hotels in the future. Sincerely, Mari Salonen General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Nice and friendly staff. Great location. Excellent accommodations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to Helsinki! Best regards, Mari Salonen General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Great stay

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Very comfortable and near train station but quiet. Great breakfast and comfortable room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Kati, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thank you for this review. It is our pleasure to read all your good comments and positive feedback. We thank you for the chance to hear your opinion. Welcome again to Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre! Sincerely, Kati Salminen Duty Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel canceled room on site w/o notice

Posted Oct 29, 2017
I showed up to the City Centre location the night of my reservation and upon checking in, they updated me that my reservation couldn't be honored given water damage in the hotel. They didn't provide a heads up, notifying me in any way before I showed up on site. They didn't have an immediate solution either, and eventually put me in a sister location 20 minutes outside of the city center and not the same caliber hotel. While they paid for taxis back and forth, this didn't feel like enough to make up for the inconvenience. Note my staff and experience ratings are for City Centre location while my room ratings are for the sister hotel they moved me to.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2017 by Mari, Hotel Management
Dear Lauren Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and for taking the time to provide feedback about your experience at Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre. I am sorry for all the problems with the water cable maintenance work. Unfortunately, the hotel got information about this service work from the city of Helsinki less than 24 hours before the hot water shut down. Once again, thank you for your review. I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back in Holiday Inn Helsinki City Centre soon again! Sincerely, Mari Salonen General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Strategic Location

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Staff friendliness, location of the hotel and the mattress.
Cons: window insulation and housekeeping.
Location: right next to train station, M&S, Stockmann, Esprit, Zara, Senate Square, Parliament House, Helsinki Cathedral, Market Square, Ateneum etc.
The hotel is just right next to the train station. We could drop our stuff and move around the central and back to hotel whenever we are tired. We arrived at 8am in the morning and the hotel staff allowed us to early check in. However, it could be due to our early check-in that the room was not properly clean. there was shoe mark on the hotel towels and on the toilet floor. The staff acknowledged our complaint and immediately sent the cleaner to clean up the room. The overall experience of the hotel was good, the bed is very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Kati, Hotel Management
Dear Desmond, Thank you for sharing your lovely review. Reading about your stay here makes us very happy. Your opinions are important to us and we wish to apologize for the imperfect cleaning. Looking forward to having you as our guest at Holiday Inn hotels worldwide again! Sincerely, Kati Salminen Duty Manager