Ratings based on 462 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Centrally located for business and leisure

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: All staff, from front desk to housekeeping to restaurant workers, were pleasant, helpful, and professional.
Cons: Sokos Hotels generally seem not to provide in-room electric kettles for making hot water, tea, or coffee.
Stayed at the hotel for an overnight business trip. Location excellent; situated across the street from the central railway station and next to two major tram stops. Plenty of nearby options for dining. Will definitely stay here again when in Helsinki.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Great location , clean room , will definitely stay there again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Attentive helpful front desk staff, and cleaning staff who all spoke perfect English.
Cons: The bathroom layout was a bit strange in our room - no counter space except behind the toilet, and shower soap was a soap/shampoo combination.
This is a good value if you'll be touring around Helsinki. It's as close to the train station as you can get, and steps away from trams and buses, but is still quiet. There is a 24 hour supermarket in the base as well (there seem to be a fair number of those in a one block radius, actually).
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Receptionist, Hotel Management
Thank you for your nice feedback. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Jarmo Reception
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good location

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Well located in the center of Helsinki and close to transportation of all kinds.
4 out of 5
by Grant

Very Central

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
Big Hotel right close to everything including the main train station. A little disappointed they couldn't accommodate our request for an early check-in having just got off a 12 hour flight and arriving at 7am which we had asked in advance for. This is just a matter of customer service which the receptionist didn't seem to have a lot of. The room was nice, overlooking the main square area. Only room problem was the curtains left gaps at the ends so with the sun rising directly in our faces at 4.30am was a nuisance. The breakfast area is huge with a great selection, but avoid around the 9am period as it's very busy. If you have children they are well catered for at this hotel. Good WiFi. Yes I would probably stay here again, but would check that the price was competitive with other hotels in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
Location is good,the airport bus is just cross the road,and the Central Railway Station and trams nearby. Staffs are friendly and helpful.Breakfast is good and the view from the roof top restaurant is so wonderful. If there is a safe inside the room, it is prefect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017
Thank you for the great review! We're very happy to hear that you had a good time while staying with us. Regards Vaakuna reception
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
The single bed room was decent for the stay in the city. Nice panoramic view of the city from the balcony. Good breakfast. Friendly staff. Long hours of sauna.
2 out of 5
by John

Convenient but AVOID if you want to sleep

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is very convenient for the Train station. We were a family of 4, 3 adults and 2 children (2 and under). Staff seemed nice. Breakfast was fine. Though the stay was ruined by the AWFUL mattress in the room. It was made from a kind of trampoline material. Perhaps they only use these things for family rooms but it should be illegal. I ended up sleeping on the floor!
4 out of 5
by Henri

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by ANTTI

Excellent location but a little bit dated property

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
As a 60-plus-year-old hotel, Vaakuna is a Helsinki staple. Its location is unbeatable location and, all in all, it's a nice hotel. The lobby is small as are some of the guest rooms (I've stayed in two). On my first stay the breakfast room and the spread were amazing but on this most recent stay the experience was mediocre at best due to some renovations that are happening on the 10th floor. The rooftop terrace is pretty cool (figuratively and - in December - literally)! Although the second stay wasn't quite as good as the first one, I'll still consider staying there in the future.