Ratings based on 1,717 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Nice hotel. Very friendly and courteous staff. Breakfast was good. I would also have enjoyed yogurt and fresh fruit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Adequate for a decent price.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: Price
Cons: Cleanliness.
Rear entrance was wet with constantly dripping water over the door. There was the constant sound of running water that was irritating.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Hotel had in-room maintenance issues:

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: As for appearances, the room was neat and tidy, everything was in place, and except for the issues mention, I would have enjoyed the stay.
Cons: Improve the in-room maintenance issues. They are simple. Simply swap out the small refrigerator and repair the exhaust fans for all your rooms. I
Location: The location was perfect for my needs. The hotel was very clean.
This was a non-smoking g room but upon entry smelled of smoke and mildew. 1. The Bathroom exhaust fan was not operating from the room and this was a constant draw exhaust system, which is the primary reason there is a smell of mildew since the AC unit would run constantly on days of high temperatures, as was the case of the day I stayed there. 2. The refrigerator in the room high a high-pitch whine and a loud hum that ran through the entire night. 3. There was a burn hole in the blanket covering the bed from previous guest. This blanket was probably swapped during past cleaning and was not inspected or returned to a smoking room. I imagine the linens are mixed in their laundry. 4. I notified the front desk at my departure and sign-out where there were the receptionist and the maintenance person. When I mentioned the maintenance issues to them, the maintenance person complained that he had over 120 rooms to take care of and did not even address the concerns I had of the room. I told him I'd recommend swapping out the refrigerator and they should have someone go on their roof to fix the exhaust fan motor that wasn't working. He seemed more exasperated then anything. With the exhaust fan not working in this bank of rooms, they will all have high humidity and smell of mildew since the air in the rooms is not being exchanged. It's a very basic fix any maintenance person should be competent to fix.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Only in a pinch.....

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Not much to say about this hotel.... needs major renovation....
Cons: Everything..... (except the staff, very nice)
Location: Nothing within walking distance.
Hotel needs major make-over. Elevators are a crap shoot. Would not recommend,
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Air conditioner blew moist warm air to the point my pillow felt wet. When I woke up the next morning I saw a roach crawling through my sheets. Awful. Awful hotel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beware of Bed Bugs

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Staff wasn't overtly rude, so I guess that's something.
Cons: Light it on fire.
Location: No clue.
As I did not see the bug(s), I cannot say with 100% certainty that's what it was. Having said that, after a 1 night stay in this facility I was covered in about a dozen bites on my skin in a pattern that my doctor said matched bed bug bites. In addition, the entire place reeks of mold and mildew. The room I stayed in also had a moldy, old smell to it. The carpet at the back entrance is saturated with water for a good 5 feet as you walk into the building. It's gross, and I hope I have taken the proper measures to ensure I did not bring any "friends" home with me. This "rating" system of Expedia's will ensure I do not use their services, or this hotel, again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Good price, close to downtown, adequate

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Right price, close to downtown
Cons: Lighting in rooms. Replace carpets. Keep rooms for pets separate from others.
For one night the room was ok. Room needs more lighting. Rugs were musty which flared up my sinuses. Motel Should have assigned rooms for pets separate from others. Heard motel was replacing carpets for wooden floors. Way to go!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good value for money

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, clean room, good breakfast, and excellent hot water shower pressure. Good price. Easy commutes to downtown and to Kingston Pike shops
Cons: Rooms could be updated. And this is being done now. About a dozen rooms on the floor where I was staying were being totally gutted.
Location: Location is great. Easy commutes for business, shopping and restaurants.
I stayed two nights at this hotel, one of those nights arranged thru Expedia. I stayed at this hotel last year also for a few nights. This hotel is old, but offers a comfortable room at a good price. Dont expect Marriott standards at these prices. Staff has always been friendly and helpful. Room was clean although dated. Bed was comfortable with clean linens. Free breakfast was basic but good, offering both hot foods and cold cereals. Free all day coffee and fruit basket available in the lobby. Excellent location with easy access to two major Interstates that can take you north, south, east or west. Easy commute of a few minutes to the University of Tennessee. I read a couple of Google reviews from other hotel guests complaining about a musty odor in the hotel. I agree that there is a musty smell especially in the hallways. But, when I visited two student dormitory buildings at the U of Tenn, I noticed the same smell was present there also. I think the musty smell Is probably common in a lot of places in Knoxville and goes with the Knoxville summertime climate - humid and hot like hell. Would stay at this hotel again. i
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

It Was Okay for the Price

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: The staff is very friendly.
Cons: The place needs a slight renovation.
Location: It's about 8-10 minutes away from the University of Tennessee. There is a McKay's right down the street as well.
I actually selected another hotel to stay in, but when the confirmation came through, I was notified I'd be staying at Red Roof Inn. I wasn't please, but decided not to sweat it. This particular Red Roof Inn could use a bit of a facelift. I could tell that the room was at least 10-15 years old, and the upgrades in the room were added on at a much later date. The air conditioner was spotty which made the room somewhat muggy, the tub filled up with water even through I used the shower only, and I found two house bugs crawling in the shower. That being said, the staff was very nice and helpful. The location was perfect for where I needed to be, and it was a very short stay, so the cons were bearable.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hot Springs

Convenient to highway. Sheralynn wonderful agent.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Really worried at first. Morning check agent in did not smile or welcome us. Wanted to leave but already paid. Room was clean and comfortable. Check out was very nice with good and courteous agent, Sheralynn. Felt better about the stay knowing she is there. Give her a raise.