Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Once we changed rooms we had a great stay

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Arrived at the hotel quite late to find the bathroom fan very noisy and couldn't switch it off. The room was otherwise quite good if not bit tired looking. We asked to be moved due to the noise, which they did without any fuss. This next room was very good, clean and modern - so we were very pleased. Staff friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lancs

Poor hotel, average spa, food lukewarm and bland,

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Would not recommend., food bad, service slow, waited an hour for our drinks order when we were the only two people in the bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, convenient for Knutsford/Manchester

Posted Jan 12, 2017
This is a nice hotel with good facilities. I was upgraded to one of their recently refurbished rooms which was very nice and had all the latest tech and comfort. Contemporary look, clean. Staff were friendly (except for the unrequested wake up call I received at 0600!). Gym is a bit dated/tired but does the job. I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again for business or pleasure.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from London

Very Relaxing and I have returned already.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: Celanliness, comfort and atmosphere
Cons: More Ginger Biscuits in the room, which they obliged with on my second stay.
Location: It is close to Radbroke Hall which was helpful, of course Knutsford itself is a stones throw, and the Maclaran Garage is very close :P
I booked at VERY short notice, so a good deal and was very pleasantly surprised. The facilities were very relaxing and after a long day extremely welcome. Too often the bathrooms in hotels are poorly appointed and awkward, not so in my room on the ground floor.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beds uncomfortable

Posted Oct 9, 2016
The lifts were broken so had to walk up the stairs with a poorly back . Bath plug didn't work . Beds extremely uncomfortable . -the milk in the fridge was sour
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Nice hotel

Posted Oct 9, 2016
Location: Went for a wedding so only stayed at hotel.
Dirty tray outside the door, dirty glass on patio table, bag of dog poop outside on patio, lovely bathroom but stained grout in shower. That said lovely room (we went for a suite) and breakfast was really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Comfortable stay in ideal location

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Ideal location for Tatton Park
Staff at check-in were very friendly. All staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar on each of our three nights and the food and service were excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Newly refurbished room was fabulous!

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Easy to get to off M6 J20 a straight down A50. Nice restaurant and breakfast area. Nice private dining room.
Cons: If/when all the rooms get refurbished to the standard of my room it will be a great sta for anyone.
Location: Good garden centre/gift shop next door. We went further afield rather than local areas.
I stayed one night in a newly refurbished standard double room, which was very stylish and well designed, with lots of great touches - spacious L-shaped seating area; swivel flat-screen TV so you didn't have to sit on the (king-sized) bed to watch telly; interior lighting in the wardrobe; a decent hairdryer; good-sized counter-top/workspace/dressing table/mirror; great lighting; pod-style coffee machine (pity I don't drink coffe); fresh milk in the fridge; superbly styled bathroom with separate shower cubicle and double-headed shower. Couldn't fault any of it. I felt sorry for my friend who was staying for several days in a junior suite which was old-fashioned, jaded and faded. She was quite dismayed when she saw my room. Staff were very efficient and attentive. Didn't have time to take advantage of the spa facilities. Mobile phone signal was very poor in my room, but wifi was excellent.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glastonbury

An average hotel with some nice touches

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: The small touches, like cookies and milk brought to the room every evening.
Cons: The toilet had a really weak flush.
Location: The hotel isn't within walking distance of anything, but it is a 5-minute drive to the centre of town where there are lots of nice restaurants.
When it comes down to it, the Cottons Hotel & Spa is like the average chain hotel, like a Travelodge, Days Inn, or SpringHill Suites. But it offers some very nice touches: children's bathrobes, cookies and milk brought to the room every evening, good hotel-wide internet service, and a pool that the whole family can enjoy. The bed, including mattress and pillows, was one of the most comfortable I've slept in. And they have a great shower, with excellent water pressure, and an easy one-touch on-off button that I've never seen elsewhere. The pullout bed wasn't as comfortable, of course. The "family room" we were given was just a room with a pullout bed. On the down side, the staff are not the most well trained. We rang and rang for room service and no one picked up. When we ate in the restaurant, they never knew what kind of soup of the day they had. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived after 3 p.m. On our first night, there was a rowdy wedding party surrounding our room. Guests kept going across the corridor to each other's rooms, slamming doors, laughing, shouting way into the night, and early the next morning. When I asked if we could change our room, the representative said no (understandable because the hotel was full) but she was also completely unapologetic, and just looked annoyed that I had asked. In fact, that was the basic attitude of everyone at the front desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Good hotel close to Knutsford

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Good service, very welcoming. Liked the food. Excellent breakfast.