Ratings based on 365 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2018
My only problem was that I was in room 233 which was a long distance to walk from reception..I will hopefully booking again during August and hope to get a room nearer ...The lobby was also not signed very good from the rooms.as I encountered other people wandering like myself.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 12, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. Please could you get in touch with a member of the Front of House team and they would be more than happy to apply a note to your profile for you to have a room much closer to reception. I do apologise for any inconvenience caused. Kind Regards, Gary Johnson General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 6, 2018
Stayed from Saturday to Monday and we loved every minute of it, the rooms were very spacious, very clean and decorated nicely. The hotel staff really friendly. Breakfast very good. We did not eat at Browns as we felt we would rather see Knutsford had to offer but it looked nice. All in all a wonderful break and really good base to explore from 5/5 :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mere in the near future and maybe you could visit our Browns Restaurant to try some great food and wine. Kind Regards, Gary Johnson General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel andcresort

Posted May 11, 2018
What an amazing place, friendly staff, great room and facilities, spa was amazing and the quality of customer service was excellent across all the facilities and restaurants. Can't wait to go back
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2018 by Gary Johnson, Hotel Management
Good Morning Claire, Thank you for visiting The Mere Resort & Spa, we genuinely appreciate your comments and feedback. I have passed on your kind words about the Resort to our staff to enjoy. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future. Best Regards, Gary Johnson General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Posted May 7, 2018
Great hotel and surrounding gardens (beautiful golf course).
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2018 by The Mere, Hotel Management
Good morning, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a wonderful review. We hope to see you return to the Mere in the near future. Kind Regards, Gary Johnson General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

nice hotel and quiet

Posted Apr 30, 2018
Pros: pleasant helpful staff
Cons: No
Location: N/A
Plenty of car parking. Room spacious. Breakfasts choices good as was the service.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2018 by The Mere , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We use all our feedback to help us continuously improve our standards of service to all our guests. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards, Team Mere
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2018
A fantastic memorable stay.... the staff were helpful and very welcoming
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2018 by General manager , Hotel Management
Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback. I’m glad you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards, Gary Johnson General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Powys

Noisy kids

Posted Apr 12, 2018
Pros: Not a lot as it was spoiled
Cons: Have doors that do not bang when closing. Also breakfast plates on first day, not cleared away and used (unsealed) pots of jam left on the table!
Location: Anderton Boat Lift
Had to put up with more that 3 hours of kids going for the world record of banging doors - going from one room to the next - making noise until at least 23.30. I did complain twice but only made a difference for 10 mins. If this had been younger adults I am sure more would have be done Also when checking out I mentioned it again and they commented we could have changed your room! Why should we have been more inconvenienced - we were not in the wrong - and the inconsiderate people have been inconvenienced as they were not controlling their kids - and by the sound of it we were not the only people to complain about them. It spoiled what would have been a nice couple of days, but we could not get out quick enough - also would have appreciated something more tangible than "Oh dear"
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 14, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good afternoon, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. I am so sorry for the issues you experienced during your stay regarding the noise and the way this was handled. I have investigated into this and can see it had been reported last night to our Nights manager. Over the evening phone calls were made to the room and also went to the room to ask them to reduce the noise. I apologise if you feel that the complaint wasn't taken serious and I can assure you that we use this feedback to help improve our services. I do hope this has not deferred you from visiting us again in the future. Kind Regards, Gary Johnson General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester

Ideal for Weekend away

Posted Apr 11, 2018
Had a lovely quiet stay prior to running Manchester marathon. Location was ideal with travelling via Metro from Altrincham. Room was clean, tidy & very pleasant. The facilities on offer with regards Spa/pool etc were much appreciated. Staff lovely & food gets a thumbs up too. Would only be too happy to stay again, and indeed hope that we do
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2018 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Good Evening, Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Mere in the future. I hope the marathon was went well for you. Kind Regards, Gary Johnson General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

treat for 17 year old daughter

Posted Apr 4, 2018
Booked as a treat for 3 inc 17 year old daughter. Arrived early to use spa facilities. Told room would be ready at 2 not ready til 3 and then only double room for 2. Took til 5.45 for them to deliver and squeeze in a fold up single bed which certainly was NOT a treat and not worth £190 !!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2018 by The Mere, Hotel Management
Good evening, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback. We use this as a learning tool to help us improve what we do at the Mere. We are sorry that the service you received is not what you expected. I have looked into this and can see it was booked via a 3rd party and unfortunately the age of your daughter was not passed on to us. The beds that were provided are what we use for children but they are generally only given for children under the age of 12. We recommend one of our suites for a child of this age as they would then be provided with a more stable and fixed structure sofa bed. We prepare all the extra beds on turndown at this time so it enables you to have more room whilst using the room in the afternoon. After investigation my front of house manager has said she had spoken with you on checkout and I follow up with the offer that if you return next time we will give you a complimentary upgrade to one of our suites. Lastly I can only apologise for the delay on the room not being ready, this is something that is not what we want from the Mere and we always try our best to ensure guests are checked on by 2pm. If you do return to the Mere in the future please don’t hesitate to contact myself or our guest relations team. I have added notes on to your profile for when and if you return for a complimentary upgrade and a request for the extra bed to be made up prior to arrival. Kind regards, Gary Johnson General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warrington

Nice Hotel.... Disappointing Service.

Posted Apr 3, 2018
Very disappointed with the overall service we received from The Mere Golf & Spa Hotel. We arrived just after 2pm to be told our room was not ready. We expected to wait maybe 30 minutes to find there were 8 other guests also waiting.. We were offered complimentary drinks at arrival and asked to wait in the seating area. That was it.... we were the only ones left waiting and after 2hrs waiting I asked the receptionist for an update and by the look on her face the realisation had hit that they had forgotten about us. Finally our room was ready and a mere apology was given with no other form of compensation. Very disappointed as we expected a better service based on our friends recommendations that it was such a fantastic Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2018 by The Mere, Hotel Management
Good evening, Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide us with feedback. I would ask if you can please contact our guest services team so we can try and rectify this issue you occurred. We are aware of a issue with rooms on this day and apologise for this. It can get very busy at times and our reception team try their best to allocate the rooms as soon as they are back in the system from housekeeping. I apologise if you feel like you were forgotten about and i can ensure you it was not their intention. If you could contact us direct with contact details for you and we can see if we can do any thing to ensure your next visit at the Mere is a more memorable one. Kind regards, Gary Johnson General Manager