Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
53% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Bad communication

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: sea view is good
- Bad communication We almost miss snorkel trip because receptor. They told my guide that they don't have our room number. We ordered Pad Thai Kung (Thai noodle with shrimp) but they serve Kaow Pud Kung (Fried rice with shrimp), when we ask to waiter, he told "you order Fried rice with shrimp" and do nothing. -too much mosquito in room (so bad :( -We deal with receptor about motorcycle 2 day is 500 THB but when we checkout the bill show 600 THB
5 out of 5
by Joanna

Much better than expected!

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay and liked the fact that we were on the beach. One caveat though is I would suggest to book a villa as according to other reviews the regular rooms are not as nice as the villas. The staff was friendly and the laundry was cheaper than most places we have been. One suggestion to the hotel is that they need to invest in blackout curtains because the lights on the walkway are bright and light up the rooms at night. There is no wifi in the rooms but in the common areas it is good and if you are lucky you can sometimes get it on the beach. If you are looking for a budget hotel this is the place for you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good price,nice outside area!

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Great location and great outside area with swimming pool looking at the beach,service at tha restaurant and bar was good and the food too! Unfortunately the room was very old without wifi or any other type of signal,wifi only available in common areas! The girl at the reception was very helpful the guy too although he made a mistake with our tickets to Samui and we end up paying extra money on the way. Overall not too bad,you get what you pay for I guess!
2 out of 5
by Stellan from Cape Town

Awful

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
It was absolutely awful. We had to upgrade since their cheaper rooms are incredibly horrendous, no aircon, next to a very busy road with no soundproofing. So we took a villa, but it was not better. Completely overrun by mosquitoes with no way to keep them out. The doors had gaps below and above ensuring easy entry for the little bloodsuckers. The shower never had a constant temperature and it had to be adjusted between hot and cold throughout, making for a very unpleasant experience. Staff were barely helpful and sometimes rude. The pool was very nice, so there's that. I can only imagine how awkward it must be when the resort is fully booked; rooms are linked with a paper thin wooden door which suffers from many gaps that prevent it from sitting flush against the door post and I am sure neighbours would hardly be able to breathe for dear of having people hear you, let alone having a normal conversation at a respectable volume. Since it was raining for a few days of our stay we go to experience all of the shortcomings of the "villa" rooms. I'm sure if you only sleep in the room it's okay since the aircon worked, bar the mosquitoes of course. For anything other than sleeping in, the rooms are horrible and the overall ambiance of the resort is incredibly bad.
3 out of 5
by Carina from Benoni

One persone almost spoilt our stay

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
Tom at reception was very unfriendly. He is surely not an asset to the hotel. Ladies at breakfast was great.
1 out of 5
by Roger

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 4, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from East Hampton, NY

Beware. Amantra over books.

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: New ownership
This is warning to all potential customers at this hotel. My wife and I booked a 5 day stay here at Amantra through Expidia. I had a reservation number and conformation number. Our credit card was already charged. We traveled over 30 hours to get to Koh Lanta and Amantra. However, when we checked in there was no rooms available for us. The manager offered us the worse room in there hotel (B4) and free breakfast (which we already paid for) plus free use of a moped. The worse part we were traveling with family who had 2 other rooms. We had to cut our losses and move to another hotel about 2k away and leave our family behind. I would definently avoid this hotel at all cost.
4 out of 5
by Khairul Aswat from Malaysia

Right Choice

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
Great staff, good location (next to beach and outdoor pool), easy access for Island Hooping (Boat will pick you up at the Hotel Beach), have scuba diving center (pool dive available).
4 out of 5
by Khairul Aswat from Malaysia

This is your right choice!!

Posted Nov 26, 2015 on Hotels
Great staff, good location (next to beach and outdoor pool), easy access for Island Hooping (Boat will pick you up at the Hotel Beach), have scuba diving center (pool dive available).
3 out of 5
by jorge from Mexico

Posted Nov 11, 2015 on Hotels
Is the last resort of the island so rent. A motorbike is MUST