Ratings based on 295 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Fantastic resort - look forward to returning.

Posted Nov 28, 2017
Pros: Location was great and very friendly staff.
Cons: Food portion at beach restaurant.
From the moment you arrive at the airport the hotel staff look after you. Journey from airport to jetty and then onto resort by boat was comfortable with refreshments offered. Check in was quick and efficient despite multiple arrivals at once. Room was a good size and very clean as you would expect so such a resort. Breakfast had a good choice considering remote location and staff very friendly, as they were all around the resort. Ate in all the restaurants and food was good, although slightly disappointed by beach restaurant as the portion size was not enough to feed a a child let alone an adult. However that was our only gripe during a very pleasant 10 day stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2017 by Franck, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a nice review; and glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We have noted your comment on portion size at the Beach Restaurant and we will certainly correct that. Thank you for letting us know. Sawasdee from all @ Pimalai,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Excellent customer service, beautiful location

Posted Nov 13, 2017
We could not have imagined a more beautiful setting, and the luxurious accommodations were more than we had hoped for. The staff went out of their way to make sure our stay was everything we expected and were very attentive. We can’t suggest an improvement to this resort. It is perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by franck, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Perfect resort !!

Posted Oct 27, 2017
This resort is a paradise! My husband and I really enjoyed the beautiful grounds and its excellent location right next to the beach. The beach was a good size and clean. The Why Not Bar and the restaurant was at the other end of the beach and had a wonderful atmosphere for our holiday. After hanging out at the beach, we washed our feet w the water tap right outside the room. How thoughtful! The infinity pools at the hotel were awesome! I love the Rak Talay and Spice and Rice restaurants. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Franck, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review and thank you for staying with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Beyond excellent. Best kept secret of Thailand.

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: The green, natural environment and business model. The staff. The location. And, oddly enough, the VIP way they transport your to airport.
Cons: The pools close at 7PM... This is downright un-American.lol. But it is truly my one, major complain. I don't sunbathe.
Location: Go into town. There are a couple of villages near the resort, go there and eat, eat anything. The people are amazing there as week.
From beginning to end staff and facilities are amazing. Breathtaking views and exciting run-ins with nature are just a couple of this resort's characteristics that will have you ready to tell a friend. All of the staff, from he front desk, to the grounds keepers to the drivers are amazing. The GM, Franck, has a friendliness and professionalism that sets the tone for the rest of your stay, it it definitely lives up to the expectations. In the evening the beach sunsets brings out everyone from visitors to hundreds, if not thousands of unique hermit crabs. If you know how to open one, you can even pick up a coconut off the ground. Words just can no describe the joy of stumbling upon another hotel at the tail end of al long trip and then falling into probably one of the best kept hospitality secrets of the world.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Franck, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review .Credit to the Staff; they make it all happened . thank you for your visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing, amazing, amazing,

Posted Sep 14, 2017
We had an amazing time, one of the best resort I have ever been, the staff were brilliant, the food was fantastic and we just had a wonderful time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Korea

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Pretty much everything is good: the staff is friendly and very helpful; the environment is beautiful; the location is fantastic and the food is great!
Cons: Make a bigger bathtub - fitting two! - in the bedrooms. We had trouble watching the stored online movies - kept skipping back...
Location: Boating trips; biking down the coastal road - which I did with enthusiasm!; walks on the beach, which is within minutes' distance from the hotel rooms
The Pimalai Resort is a beautiful place and feels much more natural than a traditional hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Franck, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. Thank you for letting us know about the movie online not functioning properly . we will check it. Thank you for your visit.
5 out of 5
by Michael

First class luxury resort

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
A first class resort. We had a lovely, relaxing 5-night break here in one of the Pool Villas. The villa was outstanding. Food was excellent, but very expensive. Courtesy airport transfers were very nice. Highly recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017
Thank you Michael for your comment and positive review. we hope to see you back . Franck
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hobart

Luxury Island Escape in beautiful surroundings.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: The location, the breakfast, the friendly staff and lovely decor.
Cons: We found the bookings of large groups a bit too overwhelming.
Location: The resort is outside of the town BUT for us thats the bonus as it's quiet and secluded. A trip into the old town is well worth while.
This is my second visit to Pimalai and we love that this resort is far away from the hustle and bustle. There is every possible facility you need at the resort, including well prices restaurants and bars, but if you don't mind walking along the beautiful beach you can find a few bars and restaurants which serve great food at really cheap prices. We were so impressed that the manager Frank recognised us when we were walking around and it's 7 years since we last visited. The wonderful staff made us feel special remembering our names and that we had visited before. The sunsets are incredible and you can watch these with a cocktail from the top level overlooking the resort and expanse of ocean or sitting on the beach bar in the sand. A very beautiful and luxury resort with attentive and lovely staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by Franck, Hotel Management
Sawasdee Dotcomdc. Glad to have you back with us. Thank you for the review and thank you for mentioning about the attentive and lovely staff. Hope you will return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Inconsistency of services

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: the resort is very nice.. good view
Cons: the inconsistency of the service
Location: Nothing...not much to see outside or look at..
Very disappointing by the inconsistency of services by reception and customer service staff. When we checked in, one staff told us we could call any time for a caddy ride to reception/or any part of the resort and when we called, we were told every guest needs to make their own way to the reception (situated on a higher ground). Another staff told us, staff from reception will help to print our boarding pass for our flight home and when we made that request.. later, we were told we need to use the printer at the library and that reception don't print boarding pass for guest. We were made to look so ugly as demanding guests asking for these services. I emailed to inform them in advance that my husband and I are making this special trip to celebrate his 60th birthday and was told a 'surprise cake' will be arranged for him on that day..30July... nothing happened.. No Cake.. I still have that email ....For the price we paid for this resort... and with these kind of services, we will not go back again....
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2017 by franck, Hotel Management
Dear C&C . At our resort we appreciate those of our guests who have taken the time to post their experiences and opinions on Expedia. It is only through this feedback that we can (quoting Robert Burns) “see ourselves as others see us” and learn of what we do right and what requires improvement. By far the majority of the reviews that appear on Expedia are most positive, a few point out minor complaints and a miniscule minority express dissatisfaction with their Pimalai experience. Regardless, we give as much attention to all reviews be they critical or praiseworthy. Your comments – some negative/ some constructive - are important to us. We will certainly investigate the issue with the reception staff and the missing cake - as this is very unusual. Although our goal is for perfection we realize that we cannot always achieve this but that does not prevent us from trying. We will never pride ourselves as being the very best resort and rest on our laurels. Indeed constant change is required for us to be near the lead in what we offer our guests in a very competitive market. Over the years we have consistently worked hard to demonstrate that we are a quality resort, not only with the hardware that it is made of, but also & probably most importantly with the software – the people who work within the resort and who receive constant praise for their efforts that are fundamental to the success of our endeavors- as witnessed by many guests who keep returning to stay with us. With sunny regards from Lanta & from all.