Ratings based on 1,005 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wet average

Posted Dec 1, 2017
This hotel is no more than a 3 star place. Check in was slow, food very average and rooms are just ok. Can’t recommend for travelers wanting real luxury
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Chao Treenawong, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review of the Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort. Our Culinary Director has recently been working on some new menu ideas for the restaurants in resort so you should see a marked difference. Also with the check-in procedure during periods in high season where we can have 90 rooms (average 180 people) need processing for check-in at the same time, we sincerely appreciate your understanding that our team are working as fast as they can prioritizing the guests with young children first and guests with any special needs. Regards, Chao Treenawong, General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous private resort

Posted Nov 27, 2017
From arrival to leaving, this resort is all about service with a smile and beauty. Pulling up to the resort on a private speedboat to the most beautiful location was nothing short of a dream! The room amenities were fabulous, and each area of the resort was gorgeous. The only drawback is that, if you want to go out to the nightlife on the island (which is mainly around Tonsai Pier area)... you have to take a longtail boat (if you are able to considering the weather, etc.) -- which can cost you upwards of 1,500 baht ($45 USD, one way), and which you may have to navigate a bit through the jungle to get back to your room. So I might suggest to the resort to have a private boat available for trips back to the resort from Tonsai at midnight and maybe even 2am.. but other that, the stay was PERFECT.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by Chao Treenawong, General Manager., Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Greetings from Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort and thank you for the 5/5 rating. Our last long tail boat departs from Ton Sai Pier at 16.00 though we are looking at maybe extending the times in the future though we do not operate any during the night as for the health and safety of our guests is of paramount importance, hence the costs of the long tail boats is negotiated directly with the boat captains during the night. And as you rightly mention, the only other way to the resort is by walking over the mountain which can take about an hour, though we highly suggest wearing strong shoes and taking plenty of water, a hat and sun screen if walking during the day. Thank you again for your valued feedback. Regards, Chao Treenawong, General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from denver CO

Picturesque setting

Posted Nov 16, 2017
The resort looks like what you imagine in Thailand, with huts ion the beach and coconut trees. there are two lovely pools. The staff was very helpful. There were Thai dancers and live music at night. It’s so big, drivers would take you to the room in golf carts.the San was amazing! I️ had a 2 hour massage with a facial. The negatives were the gym is small, but it’s being up upgraded, there wasn’t a lot of good fruit at breakfast, and there were no gluten free items on the lunch pool menu.,
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2017 by Chao Treenawong, Hotel Management
Dear Khun Katie, Thank you for your review and your valued time. Currently, we are making some changes to the menu and our culinary team would be more than happy to provide any special dietary meals you require during your stay, please just let us know the next time you visit so we can take care or your needs. Regards, Chao Treenawong, General Manager.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Unbelievably overpriced

Posted Nov 11, 2017
They don’t tell you about the boat trip from the dock that is required to get to the hotel. Food and drinks are easily three times the normal price. Nothing is included. Beds are hard, ants in the rooms. Sub-par breakfast— undercooked bacon and soggy French toast. Decent coffee. Staff very friendly, WiFi difficult to connect to at most times. Drinks very good. Pool bars close at 6, happy hour for drinks but it changes locations each hour from 5-8PM so you’re constantly moving. Not impressed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Chao Treenawong, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Khun Amanda, Firstly, I must sincerely apologise for our failing to meet your expectations and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention. The bungalow you were staying in has undergone a very thorough inspection and cleaning process so no future guest will have the same problems as yourself. Our IT Manager has also adjusted the Wifi signals settings so guests should have better coverage whilst in the resort and I am sorry you feel the pricing in resort is high, though we are very competitively priced compared to other local hotels of the same standards as we need to import all our products from Phuket, Krabi and further afield from our suppliers. We would hope to see you again and thank you for your valued time writing this review. Regards, Chao Treenawong, General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

A perfect location in Phi Phi with great service.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Arriving by the Resorts Cruiser at low tide we got collected by tractor and ferried to reception. The staff were warm and welcoming and we found it to be a perfect honeymoon location. Our beachfront junior suite was the perfect location to enjoy the entire resort.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Chao Treenawong, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Khun Malisorn, Thank you for a lovely review. We loved taking care of you and are so pleased you enjoyed your Beachfront Junior Suite during your Honeymoon. We hope to see you again soon. Regards, Chao Treenawong, General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seal Beach, CA. USA

Best spot on Phi Phi, Honeymooners must!!!!!

Posted Oct 24, 2017
We went to Thailand for our Honeymoon and Phi Phi was a must see. We had heard that Phi Phi was dirty and crowded. When we arrived by speedboat at High tide, they literally dropped us off on the dry sand. We found the resort to be pristine! This resort is not crowded and we felt like we were on a private island as you are in a bay. There are multiple dining options and plenty of pool space. We liked the fact that we were on the other side of the island away from the main hustle and bustled area of Tonsai. The resort arranged day trips for us to go see Maya beach, go snorkeling, and even to go kayaking. We even went for a hike to the lookout area to see Tonsai. We also took a boat taxi to soak up the crowds in Tonsai. We were glad that we chose this place to stay for our Honeymoon. It was secluded enough to keep the crowds away, but plenty of access to see the entire island and surrounding area. If we make it back to Phi Phi, we will stay here again!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Chao Treenawong, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Khun Greg, Thank you for staying with us recently. Your feedback gives us motivation. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ, USA

Quiet, beach resort

Posted Oct 12, 2017
This beautiful, large resort is the only property in Au Lo Bakao Bay, which is located on the east side of Phi Phi. Individual huts were well appointed. The deluxe sea view hut had two private outdoor areas with one covered and equipped with loungers, a table and drying rack. The rooms were clean and spacious. The breakfast buffet had plenty of selection, and the Thai restaurant was tasty and had a pleasant, romantic atmosphere. We did find the service hit and miss (sometimes just plain rude...) at both the restaurants and front desk area, which was surprising considering Thailand's reputation for friendly service. The property could also be better lit as it was difficult to navigate at night and more information (a map, how to get to the other side of the island and look out points, etc.) could be provided. We had the impression they really didn't want us to stray from the property. The little 'village' behind the property had a great Thai restaurant named Pad Thai and a bar (can't remember the name...) that we especially enjoyed. Note, you cannot get to the main lookout point from the hotel (we spent too much time trying), and getting to Ton Sai Bay (the main town) is difficult by land so riding the ferry is recommended.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Chao Treenawong, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Khun Susan, Thank you for your recent review of the resort though I am sorry to hear of the poor service you attained from our team from both front desk and the restaurant and can assure you that this is not normal. As an added piece of information guests should find a local map of the resort and walking area in their bungalows or villa (if you do not see a copy in your room please ask at reception who will be more than happy to provide another copy)to assist in locating the view points and Loh Lana Bay beach. We do suggest wearing strong comfortable shoes, taking water, hat and sunscreen for your safety as the ground is uneven and overgrown as you need to climb a small mountain going towards Ton Sai.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Excellent hotel location. Top service from staffs

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Good Food. Excellent service from the staff. Overall very happy with the our stay at this hotel. Location is mind blowing and I am keen for the next stay with Phi phi island village resort. cheers.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Chao Treenawong, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Khun TC, Thank you for your kind review. Sincerely, my team will be very happy to read your positive comments on their service standards. We hope to see you again very soon. Regards, Chao Treenawong, General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from israel

perfect place for a vacation

Posted Sep 24, 2017
great resort on a remote and private beach. they had golf carts to ride you around the resort at any time, a vary long private beach with evrey thing you need on it like hammocks or beanbags or sun bads, thay even have there own PADI diving shop that gives you a free pool trail lessen if you are a first time diver which is nice! the only thing that slightly bothered me was that you had to pay for a long tail boat to get you in and out of the resort and when we got there the boat man stop 100 m from the shore line to collect the money for the fair like a piret...
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Chao Treenawong, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Khun Omri, We appreciate your valued feedback. Sincerely, we do try to provide a very relaxing environment for our guests and provide many enjoyable activities including the complimentary diver trial lesson with our highly skilled diving team. Also thank you for bringing to our attention your thoughts on the way the long tail boat captain collected the fee for the trip. Normally all guests can pre-arrange the trip with the hotel so this is something my Front Office team can look in to for the convenience of the guests. Once again, thank you for your time and we hope to see you again soon. Regards, Chao Treenawong, General Manager.
5 out of 5
by Santhosh

Honeymoon

Posted Sep 9, 2017 on Hotels
Resort was very beautiful and well worth the price. Would definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by chao, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest Thank you for sharing this great review with us. I am delighted to read you had such a magical stay during your honeymoon and enjoyed our hospitality. I shared your kind words with our team and they are delighted to know about your excellent feedback on service. We look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ in the very near future With best regards Chao Treenawong – General Manager.