Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Posted Nov 20, 2018 on Orbitz
Staff was incredible. Very helpful and friendly. The location is beautiful but the decor a little outdated. The room was very smokey but ok once we opened the window to air it out. The food was EXCELLENT. The outdoor onsen was my fave. I would stay here again despite the smokey room - just make sure you request a non-smoking room!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Absolutely amazing!

Posted Mar 3, 2018 on Hotels
Ok, so when I booked I must have been rushed and just thought it was expensive. Turns out I got the dinner and breakfast option and was so glad I did. The 9-course dinner will leave you wanting it to never end and yet unable to eat much more. The property has three private Onsen (hot-springs) which makes things just so much more convenient. And the town itself is lovely. There are direct (and slow) local buses from nearby and from Osaka and Kyoto. Watch luggage on local buses as there is no storage other than your lap. I highly recommend this town and hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Jihong

A wonderful experience

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
A wonderful experience. Nice food and service. Felt full relax and rest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Serenity in one spot

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Stayed overnight to try out the full ryokan experience. The place is quite wonderful. All three onsens were extremely relaxing, the scenary was eye catching and the staff were quite helpful. The dinner and breakfast were best food experiences I've ever had. The gentleman that personally checked in me in and the waitress spoke English so I never felt left out. I just wished I stayed another night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
Great
4 out of 5
by kangoh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

fantastic river side location

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels
very nice western and Japanese style hotel. as usually in japan, English is not well spoken/understood, but its manageable for sure. great outside hot baths (onsen), Very nice location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Richard from Tewkesbury, England, UK

Traditional Japanese Hotel at a popular Hot Spring

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Authentic Japanese cuisine.
Location: Its an Onsen, up in the mountains, very picturesque, we walked and used the Onsen. I think we may have been the only foreigners there.
This was our first time at a Ryokan and an Onsen. We arrived at Shin-Kobe station and took the subway to Tanigami, changed there for a train to Arimaguchi, then changed again for a train which shuttles between Arimaguchi and Arima Onsen. The transfer from Shin-Kobe was accomplished with a single ticket for ¥720. The 12 tatami mat Japanese style room was used for breakfast, dinner and sleeping. We had a maid which served our meals and reconfigured the room as required for eating or sleeping. The same maid looked after us for the entire duration of our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 15, 2014 on Hotels