Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint hotel close to places of interest

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Good and quiet location with easy access to the City Loop Bus stops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Nice and comfortable hotel near the main station

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: The hotel theme is special.
Location: Kobe beef restaurant, biggest shopping complex, local shopping street, most convenient transportation hub
Wonderful with a quite view, very close to the biggest station in Kobe with all sorts of shopping and cuisine around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas, US

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Excellent location in the center part of Kobe. 5-10 minutes walk to train stations. Only thing to be careful with the area is that lots of bars and clubs around the blocks and by closing time you may see some drunks and bar fights, but safe location nonetheless. Very unique theme inside the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nz

Marine theme

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: Warm theming, plenty of room
Cons: More english signage to help us learning tourists
Location: Near the station which us handy, also close to rope ride and herb gardens( although, don't bother eating up there!!)
Really interesting hotel, ship theme I guess with possibly some interesting history. Needs info in English to make the most. Staff were ok but not overly friendly. Hotel was clean, tidy, really neat lifts, spacious room, good location close to station etc
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nara Japan

Very convenient.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Cons: Breakfast was fine but I didn't like the coffee.
Nice atmosphere. Great bathroom----so much space!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pretty Good

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Short stay..good location..clean rooms..nice view of the shrine from our room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from East Yorkshire, UK

Fantastic location, great view, very comfortable

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: A city centre location, but with peaceful atmosphere and stunning view.
Cons: More storage for clothes would be useful.
Location: The temple had a variety of things going on during my stay, very interesting insight to Japanese culture within 100 yards of my room window!
I stayed for 9 nights. The hotel is within a five minute stroll of Sannomiya station, which is a major stop for every train and bus, so getting out an about was a piece of cake. My room overlooked a temple, and when I opened my window the most noticeable sound was of the fountains within the temple grounds. I was one minute away from a street packed with shops and restaurants of every description. The room facilities were great. There was a great picture on the TV but only Japanese programmes are available understandably. However, unlimited free internet meant that I could access UK news, programmes and films, and social media sites so I could keep in touch with home without cost. I was in a single room, but the bed was double size, the lighting was great, and sound-proofing excellent. There was a loo/bidet with a heated seat, and huge bottles of shampoo, rinse and soap topped up every day. There was also a basket of extras including a toothbrush/paste, cotton buds, razor etc. They even provide a nightshirt and slippers! The only thing I struggled with is the storage. There were only four coat hangers and one very small drawer under the mirror. I used my suitcase as a trunk throughout my stay, using the wardrobe for coats and shoes. The staff were very helpful, and the cleaning staff very courteous and respectful. My Japanese is hopeless, but I did manage to get a decent 'thank you' worked out by the end of my stay as I used it a lot at this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Globetrotter from Honolulu, HI

Very nice hotel, good location.

Posted May 14, 2013
Pros: Nice, quiet location. Interesting nautical themed rooms. Comfortable.
Cons: Don't charge for early check-in.
Location: No restaurant in the hotel, but the room has nice tea and coffee that you can brew yourself.
We stayed here for a couple nights before leaving on our cruise from Kobe to Hong Kong. Our flight got into Kobe at 7am. We checked our luggage at the hotel and went for a walk around town. By the time we got back the room was ready, but it was still a couple hours before the standard check-in time. The young manager who thought he was hot stuff wanted to charge us to check-in early. We refused, sat around in the reception area and eye-balled him until check-in time. If they want 2 dozy tourists stinking up their lobby, that's their problem.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nickname from Your Location

Good location

Posted Apr 23, 2013
Very nice hotel and great location! Super clean and nice staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Canada

Great location and very pleasant stay

Posted Jun 21, 2012
Excellent location, very close to the bustling Sannomiya area with its restaurants and shops, yet on a quiet side street across from the peaceful Ikuta shrine. The small Japanese hotel room felt more spacious than others because a) it was and b) it was well laid out. The bed was very comfortable. Quirky nautical decor. Breakfast buffet was included and it was very good, with western and Japanese items. Yes, pick this place for its terrific location and you will also have an overall, pleasing experience.