Ratings based on 316 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Orleans, la

Great ryokan with amazing golden hot spring

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Overall great experience with all we expected of a famous ryokan and more
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Nice hotel next to Hankyu bus station

Posted Apr 21, 2017
The staff members are very friendly and helpful. The room/suite we were in was very spacious and had a nice open view of the Main Street. Everything was very clean and tidy. The building is aged and the wood smells a little... but it creates a more authentic Japanese ryokan feel to it. The male and female hotspring baths meet at the far end (with a half partition) where it's partially outdoors. Couples can see each other and chat while enjoying the hotspring. This is a feature I haven't come across before. Dinner served in the room was a bit disappointing as the fish and meat portions were extremely small for the price the hotel charged.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The service provided is top-notch. The private hot bath for TENRAKU is worth it (quiet and comfy)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel common space is smaller than its online

Posted Dec 2, 2016
The hot spring area is not as tranquil as the photos. The massage chair in room is a definitely a plus. There is only half of day worth area to explore around the town.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tocen Goshoboh In Arima Onsen

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Our stay at Tocen Goshoboh was comfortable and relaxing. From check-in and throughout our stay the staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The staff spoke very limited English so communicating with them was a bit challenging. We reserved a "Tenraku" Japanese style room with full bath that was clean and comfortable for the 2 of us. The free wi-fi reception, in the resort, was very weak and/or non-existant. All of our meals were served in our room and were kaiseki style. The food was delicious and well presented. The highlight is the Kobe beef which is offered as an optional course at 30-35 dollars per meal per person. We highly recommend ordering the Kobe beef, it is extremely tender and flavorful!!! Please be aware that if you bring in your own liquor to enjoy during any meal, you will be charged a corkage fee of 3000 yen per meal. This was not mentioned by the staff at check-in or noted in any written material given to us. A furo "natural hot springs bath" before and/or after a meal was a great way to relax. An indoor and outdoor furo is available as well as a private indoor bath that can be reserved in advance. Tocen Goshoboh is located right in the main part of Arima Onsen near shopping and dining spots. We recommend Tocen Goshoboh if your travel plans include a stay at an onsen.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Lastminute
Pros: The staff were really friendly and accomodating
Staff was very attentive and polite. Everything was well prepared. Best part is they helped me with my next destination too (advised what station to go to and how to get there). The onsen hotel was clean and well equipped.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from malaysia

Good service .good location .nice view

Posted Sep 11, 2016
First time to go arima osen So lucky can stay in tocen goshoboh . Is a good memory for me . Good service .good location .frendly staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HK

Nice hotel next to bus stop

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Everything is good. However i paid extra guest fee for my 4 years old daughter when booking, but when arrived, nothing was prepared for this extra guest, like no cup, tatami... Even the cloth (yukata) also need to pay for her at the hotel. The size of my room is capable for 5 adult, I just wonder why I need to pay the extra guest fee when booking? Seems no different.
4 out of 5
by Pui In

Great location with nice service, excellent!

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
Very convenient place, just 1 minute walk from the Hanku bus station. Very friendly staff who can offer help always! Strongly suggest trying the dinner and breakfast, which is made with delicate skills and heart. The spa (Onsen) is excellent, which is original from Arima Onsen. Overall, it's a very unforgettable good memory of staying in this hotel !