Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

First taste of Germany

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: Peace, quiet, view of the vineyards.
Cons: MY German. As our first stop, we quickly learned that at the small hotels not many staff members speak English. Just be prepared!
Location: It was about a 15-20 minute drive to Koblentz for the Rhine cruises, although there may have been a stop close to the hotel.
We loved this hotel. The large windows and door allowed for lovely view and lots of fresh air, which is important because so many hotels in Germany are not air-conditioned. The breakfast (although extra) was perhaps the best we ended up having. We were also thankful to have a biergarten right on site, since it was a bit of a drive Koblentz. We were pleased to find a lovely hiking trail just moments from the hotel which was perfect for morning runs.
3 out of 5
by Jose

Posted Jun 9, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel claim they have not received paiment and charged me for one night. So I paid for it twice. Please do something about it
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Hello Jose, i asked you at Check In if you allready payed the room by hotels.com and you said NO. After you checked it and saw you payed allready. I told you i need the bankaccountdetails. Without them i can´t do anything. And really this is nothing, what has to do with a review. Kind Regards J. Thompson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Attractive hotel in a beautiful location

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Clean
Cons: Open restaurant
Location: Rhine cruises, cable car and castle.
The hotel was in a beautiful, peaceful location. The staff were all very pleasant and the room was comfortable,spacious and clean. It was a shame that the restaurant was not open as we would have liked to eat in the hotel rather than driving to Koblenz.
4 out of 5
by Thea

Overnight stay

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Good choice for a overnight stay. No one was available for an early arrival. Good basic service.
3 out of 5
by Jeffrey

No Frills But No Complaints

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
We were delayed one day on our itinerary, so instead of two nights, we stayed only one night. Our host explained, upon our check in, that he would have to charge us for both nights (which I understand). He was very gracious, spoke prefect English, and offered us breakfast at no additional charge. The check in was quick and he was very friendly. The location was a short drive to the center of Koblenz, but you definitely need your own transportation (not public transport). The room was very basic and bathroom quite small, although adequate. Breakfast was typical German breakfast buffet. While I have no complaints, this hotel is definitely for budget travelers. A fair price for what you get, but definitely no frills.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very spacious and had a beautiful little porch area with a pond and table and chairs.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JH from York

Adequate for a stopover

Posted Aug 11, 2013
Pros: Nice breakfast
Cons: Needed a good clean and spruce up
Location: Pretty and fairly easy to find
The hotel is in an interesting location and we thought it a pretty area. There is a great little Pizza place in Lay (a village a short drive away) if the hotel restaurant doesn't tempt you. It was disappointing that we were greeted by a Polish lady who had no German or English and she also was the only member of staff on duty at breakfast. Although she was very smiley and friendly, trying to manage with only gestures is a little disappointing. It also meant she couldn't answer any of my questions about the local area. The hotel is a curiously faded place with stuffed animals on display and everything looks like it could do with a good dust. Everything also felt a little damp, but this is possibly due to its location buried in the valley in a densely wooded area. However, it was functional and breakfast was nice.
5 out of 5
by Keith from Eastbourne

Grat for Moselle River

Posted Apr 11, 2013 on Hotels
Great Hotel, good value, nice food. Good Garden overlooking the river with friendly goats
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austria.

Thought it was cheap!!

Posted Jul 11, 2011 on Hotels
This place was once the place to eat and probably stay but the whole place was very run down. They say on hotels.com that they take credit cards but we had to pay cash. The upside was the food wasn't too bad and it was reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2011 on Hotels
good location just off the motorway but in a quiet road by a little stream, in the mosel valley, filled with vineyards. the house wine is delicious and the staff were very acommodating of our late arrival and made us very welcome. the only negatves were: the card machine was not working, so we had to drive to the nearest cashpoint, no hot water in the little annexe. All in all a lovely, cosy, traditional German hotel. Highly recommended.