Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with good lake view

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Lake view, clean, spacious rooms.
Cons: Travel desk is waste. Food is hygienic but taste wise average.
Location: If possible, avoid going out as most of the places are overcrowded and/or not properly managed. Enjoy hotel stay and lake from a distance :)
We went to Kodi just to relax. No plans to see places as most of the time famous places are either overcrowded and/or not properly managed. Most of the time we were at the hotel relaxing or enjoying hotel facilities. We enjoyed our time. 3rd day we went to see nearby falls but there was no rain so no water. Nobody bothered to tell this to us. So half way we cancelled our sightseeing and went back to hotel.
5 out of 5
by Rupesh

Excellent Hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent place for family enjoyment...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not value for money spent

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
It was nice excepting the passage from lobby to the lift not kept well..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good hospitality, decent and a cooperative staff.

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: Location, Lake facing rooms, Cycle ride, boat ride.
Cons: Absence of a heated swimming pool. Otherwise perfect
Location: Excellent location and some tourist spots on a walkable distance.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Jun 3, 2016
Loved the stay.... Ideal for 3-4 nights Can do a bit better in the entertainment section Though a lot to do for smaller kids.
4 out of 5
by Christian from Zurich, Switzerland

Comfortable, unique

Posted Feb 16, 2016 on Hotels
Nice hotel build in stone and wood, it is romantic and special. It is probably the best hotel in Kodaikanal. You feel back in old times. The service is very attentionate. Good restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent service at very comfortable hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Food, service
Cons: Sound-proofing between rooms
Location: High in the hills, Kodaikanal offers fresh air and stunning views from Coaker's Walk which is near to the hotel if you're lucky to get good weather.
Stayed at the Carlton for 4 nights and was lucky to enjoy good weather for 2 days. Room was very comfortable, only room for improvement is the sound-proofing. Food and service from very attentive staff was excellent. Enjoyed a cocktail in the ambient bar and a cycle round the lake. The complimentary tour and paddle boat ride were appreciated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 5, 2015 on Hotels
perfect holiday destination specially with the small kids had a awesome holiday
5 out of 5
by RANAJIT from Delhi

Simply the best in Kodaikanal

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent Location and very enjoyable complementary boat ride
4 out of 5
by Riaz from Chennai

A good hotel opposite the lake

Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
A nice hotel in front of the lake over seeing it . Guess it's the only star hotel in Kodaikanal facing the lake . The rooms were nice and cosy . Service was decent upto five star levels. Nothing much to rave Abt the food but , but that's the case in hill stations always . Overall a nice place to be in .