Ratings based on 416 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Commode would not flush properly. Room had a bad gas smell and was giving me headache. Had to have assistant manager come and cut off. When got home noticed several extra charges on bill. Left room nice. Called manager and told said he would look into it. Charges still on my account. Extra 30.00 in fees.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Roger Asst. GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are sorry you didn't enjoy your stay at our hotel. I have looked into the extra charges and please note it can take 7-10 days to refund back to your card. We are hoping that you will give us another chance the next time you are in the area. Have a great day and once again please accept my sincere apologies.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not what I expected

Posted Sep 4, 2017
This hotel was not what I expected for the price we paid! We even paid extra for a room with a balcony but it was too overrun with spiders and spider webs to sit out there and enjoy it. There was water dripping from the ceiling tiles in the indoor pool. The building was outdated and unkept.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Roger Asst. GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry we did not need your expectations. Were hoping that you would be willing to give us another chance. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dayton Ohio

Great price

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Everything was good. Free breakfast in the morning. The building needs some paint.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Roger AGM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope you will choose us again the next time you are in the area! Have a greay day!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from west virginia

Posted Jul 18, 2017
The pillows were little squares. We had three towels in a room for five people. When we asked about getting extra towels we were told they didn't have any. Said that laundry would be in at 6am to call down later to see if any are done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Roger Asst. GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are very sorry about the towels. unfourtunetly, we have to make sure we have towels for all of our guests since we had a booked hotel. Next time you are back in town, please give us another try to make things right. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel. Great breakfast!! Good pool!!

Posted Jul 17, 2017
My kids loved the pool. Balcony was nice but needed cleaned.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Roger Asst. GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I will be passing this along to my Maintenance Dept. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Have a great day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, Ga.

Pleasant and comfortable.

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and the hours of service.
Cons: Didn't see anything.
Location: A little far from all the local activities.
Courteous staff. Great breakfast. A little far from the activities but very quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2017 by Roger Asst. Gm, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your feedback :)
4 out of 5
by Jacquelyn

Our Stay

Posted Jun 7, 2017 on Hotels
My husband and I were Celebrating our 1 year Anniversary. And we wanted to stay at Baymont it's a name that you can trust for cleanliness, it's safe, and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by angela

Terrible paid 135 pet night when it should have 55

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was out of wash clothes. Bathroom light was flickering in and out. Power outage because of storm but tv didn't come back on when the lights came back on. Couldn't get an extra pillow or blanket. Ice machine and drink machine was broke down on the first floor. Hotel smelled old or light water damage. Not good for 135 a night.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Overnight

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Overight stop. Room was clean, needs up dating. The bed closiest to the window was uncomfortable and noisey the other one was really nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Roger Asst. GM , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we're sorry to hear about this and are hoping you will give us another chance. Have a great day!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Decent Hotel, poorly maintained

Posted Apr 12, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Large room
Cons: Maintain the pool, clean the balconies, add air fresheners in rooms, get some meat for breakfast
Location: About 25 minutes from Dollywood, but there are lots of things nearby like: helicopter tours, zip lines, moonshine distillery
Took my 11 year old to Dollywood for spring break. Got the suite with a "hot tub", though its really a jetted tub, but still pretty nice... The room was large and comfortable, however there was a weird smell. We were going to get in the indoor pool, but the water was extremely murky, so we thought better of it. Needless to say, my kid was very disappointed. Also there was a nice balcony but it was infested with hundreds of spiders, probably should address that! Finally, the breakfast was okay though some bacon or sausage would have made it much better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 18, 2017 by Roger Asst. GM , Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, I'm so sorry to hear about this. I will pass this along to housekeeping. I hope you would be willing of give us another try. Have a great day!