Ratings based on 827 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington

Best Hotel I've stay!

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Value for money
My girlfriend and I were surprised by the staff friendliness and how helpful they are. Honestly the pics of the hotel on Expedia dont show all the beauty of the place. Is a good place for a honey moon, retreat, or simply indulge yourself.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice resort

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Took land transfer to pier, boat transfer to island, boat broke down in the middle of the gulf with very large waves! Very scary. No one told us what was happening until we asked. It was hot, and they didn't offer us water or anything. Poor English. They had to send another boat to pick us up. We had to change over boats in the middle of the gulf - very very scary!!! When we finally arrived, no compensation or anything. When we got to our room, they gave us the wrong room and didn't even say sorry. Food too expensive at resort, walked into the village every night for better and cheaper food. The resort happy hour was awful, Buy 2 get 1 - two minutes away it was Buy 1 get 1 free so went there. Overall nice place though, but will try somewhere else next time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Overpriced, not safe, wrong location, tourist trap

Posted Aug 27, 2017
The main problem with this hotel (and there are many), is the location. It is situated on the wrong end of the bay, on a very steep hill. It is 15 mins walk up the hill from the reception to a room in block 7. The hotel provides free lorries to shuttle people to and from their rooms to the beach. If you come all the way to Koh Pangang in order to be transported on the back of a lorry each time you need something from your room - then go for it. The road is very narrow, zigzagging and VERY steep, there is no pavement for pedestrians and hence if you or your child takes the risk and walks - your life is literally at the mercy of the lorry drivers and the hand breaks. I was shocked upon seeing the set up and asked to be moved. After huge negotiations, staring with demands for £300 per night extra, I bargained down to £125 per night extra in order to be moved to a slightly safer bungalow lower down the hill. It felt like the hotel held the gun to my head - my children's life or give us more money! The staff are completely untrained. They probably mean well but they haven't got a clue what a 5 star service meant to be like. Little things like napkins and beach towels would make a you weep. I've been coming to Thailand for 20 years and it was the first time I actually screamed at somebody in this beautiful and easy going country - a beach manager about the condition of the beach. Hugely overpriced tourist trap. Avoid avoid avoid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Amazing hotel overlooking the beach.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Loved our stay at Sathiya. Amazing pool overlooking the beach. Free paddle board and kayak hire on the beach. Amazing massages at the spa. Ocean view from room. Great staff. What more could you possibly want.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing getaway

Posted Jul 10, 2017
This place will blow you away! Fantastic location and rooms with plunge pool, outdoor shower and bath right amongst the trees. Staff are fantastic and can't wait to serve. If you pass them outside on their own time they are still just as friendly. A must stay, put it on your list.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

We'll be Back

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: The room and the staff and the food.
Cons: No improvements - please!!!
Location: Very close to village - a walk along the beach which takes about 5-10 minutes, depending how hot it is - it is a nice walk.
Second time at this hotel and just as wonderful as first stay. There is nothing bad to say about this hotel it's beautiful. The staff are exceptional and must give a special mention to Mary-Jane who is outstanding, all the staff are absolutely lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belgium

Awesome Hotel!

Posted Jun 23, 2017
This is just the most incredible place ever - in harmony with nature, beautiful, peaceful, restful and a fabulous place to unwind! The rooms are spectacular - carved teakwood, overlooking wilderness and the sea, a private pool and open air bathroom (a bit scary but spectacular). The highlight of the place is the staff who go out of the way (even before you arrive) to ensure that they can provide the best possible comfort and experience for you. Nothing was too much! Can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
by Jennifer

Amazing

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Cleverly Created Relaxation

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere and all the 'little touches' where you least expect them. The staff all work to make your stay as good as possible
Cons: The journey to the island, but can not see how they could improve it.
Location: There is another resort around the bay if you are feeling adventures
This hotel is not the easiest to get to even though they do everything they can to help. It does involve a 40 minute fast small boat transfer to the island. So if your idea of fun does dot include bouncing about in little boats maybe this is not the place for you. It is bouncy when the weather is good especially in the smaller of the 2 boats - in rough weather ......... - good luck! Once you get there, the rest is actually rather good! Get get a super almost royal welcome from what seems like most of the staff ( its only after a few days do you realise that when the gong goes, everybody drops everything and lines up in welcome - still a nice touch.) Most of the check in formalities are done at the jetty, so it's pretty much a welcome drink and cold towel then quickly on to the room. Which was very nice, clean and no unpleasant surprises. Once you start walking around the resort you quickly pick up on a strange sense of 'relaxed calm' everything is very chilled, informal and laid back, no dressing up for dinner. Food is usually a buffet but with plenty prepared in front of you and a good selection. Entertainment comes in 2 forms in the evening, Thai music and dancing performed by staff members, who must have had training as they are actually very good, and a singing duo who have a fairly unique style! They have put much thought into the landscaping of the site, a cross between traditional and a few 'disney' touches just to make you smile!
4 out of 5
by Wah Tong Thomas

Where's the management?

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Its really a very nice resort and great general staffs who are eager to serve. The problem seems to be lack of management who hasn't provided sufficient training to the hotel general staffs who are eager to serve but one can see also lacking in skill. It could be a world class 5 star hotel but for certain lack of management such as switching off the waterfall in the main pool before 5pm when its the best time of the day to be lying around the pool overlooking the whole bay area. Do they need to save electricity consider the pool is not closed till 7pm. Similarly why would you stop providing massage or water sport equipment at @4pm?? Staff clearing away @4pm to go home? Its the first time I see a restaurant serving breakfast till 10.30am and started sweeping the floor 10 minutes after closing! There is neither welcome drink nor offer of any refreshment whilst you waiting for the speed boat to leave the resort. After staying in many 5-6 star hotels, this is the only resort that you don't see any management to come along to greet you!