Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Shady trees
Cons: Breakfast
Location: Good location
It is well positioned along Chewang beach. There are a few annoying aspects about this hotel though. Breakfast could be much better if the food brought out were hot. We brought the problem of cold food to the attention of the manager twice, but they just don't seem to get it that hot food shouldn't be left laying around cold. Lots of excuses, saying we were the only ones complaining and all that poor management stuff. The other thing which is not their fault is the annoying deep base sound from nearby Ark bar which penetrates room walls and goes night and day. We have been coming here once, sometimes twice a year.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Close to shops and beach

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Overall experience is good because the staff is very helpful and friendly but there are far too many mosquitoes in the room itself. The bed is very hard, even by Asian standards and there is a strong stench in the room that couldn't be gotten rid of. The best part of the hotel is its proximity to all the restaurants, bars, clubs, shops and of cos the beach is right by the hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel, Great Location, rooms show a lil wear

Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
Breakfast was included at the ocean front restaurant. It was an impressive buffet. Rooms were a bit worn but the bed was comfortable (let very firm). It was close to the big party at ArkBar but not in it. Short walk to the upscale Library hotel with very nice restaurants. Overall great stay, staff, property. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Had a fantastic stay

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Location and relaxed ambience.
Lovely resort with a great location. Well maintained gardens and rooms. We were in a Deluxe Villa which had been renovated recently. Nice pool with many lounges both at the pool and on the beach. Nice breakfast with egg station. The resort was under the flight path of the nearby airport but there weren't many flights each day so it wasn't a problem - in fact we had fun watching the planes. A fantastic resort with good value for money.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: The beach.
Cons: The breakfast is poor.
Location: The location is great the hotel in the night buzzer near all the restaurants.
The room is clean, the Wi-Fi is terrible, the location is great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Very nice garden and scenery

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Baan Chaweng has very nice gardens, scenery & pool and is exceptionally clean & safe. The staff were all very kind and friendly with us. We had a few small issues and the staff worked very hard to make sure we were happy and comfortable. Overall I was very happy with Baan Chaweng and had a great experience there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet beach and busy street life: Have both!

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
The staff at the resort were friendly and efficient and the grounds are lovely and well maintained. Our bungalow was nicely furnished but with one minor flaw: there is no place to put gels and shampoos inside the shower stall. A very minor inconvenience in an otherwise clean, comfortable and quiet experience. The breakfast buffet was pleasant and the restaurant looks lovely at night! I would stay at Baan Chaweng Resort again and don't hesitate to recommend it to families, couples, singles or seniors. Unfortunately Koh Samui itself is not well-managed and price gouging is rampant: especially with taxi drivers. A taxi from Sathorn to Don Muang in Bangkok is 400 baht,including toll road fees, for a one hour ride and the drivers in Samui were asking 500 for an 8 minute ride! Many of the seafood restaurants offer very poor quality food for too high prices. (Do not eat at Copacabana). Do your homework and find the independent (Thai-owned) businesses that still offer good value for money. There are not many left! Samui is a lovely island but with so many beautiful beaches in Thailand and Vietnam, I'm not sure I would go back. I hope that the government takes charge and thinks about what "sustainable" tourism means.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok stay

Posted Sep 17, 2016
Lots of wear and tear.... beds not the most comfortable. Great staff. Great food. Awesome location