Ratings based on 132 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australai

Great spot in Chewange

Posted Aug 26, 2016
We had a lovely time at the Dara, the rooms are nice, the staff were great and the beach bar is beautiful. There were 2 things that put a dampener on it though, first we got a missanalous charge on our bill for 300 tbt for a ceramic shower gell container that accidentally fell in the shower and a 200 tbt charge for makeup that was on the pillows and on a face towel. We were annoyed at this as both were accidents and to us very minor but in the grand scheme of things the Dara was much cheaper than other hotels in the area so I guess the cost was not all that significant. The other thing is that the wifi was a bit slow and in our room some websites and apps would not work. Apart from that we had a great experience at the Dara.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel right on the beach.

Posted Aug 2, 2016
This hotel is perfectly located right on the beach and has a nice swimming pool/bar/restaurant too! It is on the quieter part of the beach, but just a short walk away for those who enjoy the loud, party scene. The rooms were comfortable and clean, and the staff was so helpful. The Dara was one of 4 hotels I stayed in on my Thailand trip and it was by far my favorite!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2016 by Song / Yield Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your review!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was a little disappointed here

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros- friendly staff, Thai cooking class was awesome, good location, Cons- breakfest buffet is terrible, room smelled like mildew, can't really relax on beach because vendors are constantly walking up to you and trying to sell you something
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Mark Suppiah, General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Rachael Thank you for staying with us and sharing your feedback on Expedia.com. My team and I are delighted to learn you enjoyed your Thai Cooking Class, the friendliness of our staff and our location. I checked our records but I could not find receiving your feedback during your stay about your concerns related to our breakfast and your room. As we are on a public beach, we have no control over the vendors. However, we have informed the local authorities on this matter. Thank you. Best regards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hamburg

Family friendly hotel at the heart of the island

Posted Jul 7, 2016
Hotel is at one of the best beaches on the island. Service and crew is perfect, can't be better than this. Very very family friendly hotel. Meals at the restaurant are far more better than in the center. You don't even have to go outside the hotel for a perfect thai meal.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 8, 2016 by Mark Suppiah, Hotel Management
Dear Tugba Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback on Expedia.com My team and I are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely thank you for your compliments and your testimonial is very much appreciated by us and I am sure by readers of Expedia.com. We look forward to your next stay with us. Best regards. Mark Suppiah General Manager
5 out of 5
by Linda

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Linda Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Dara Samui Beach Resort. My team and I are very happy to learn you enjoyed your stay with us and for sharing this with all readers. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dara Samui Beach Resort. Best regards. Mark Suppiah General Manager
3 out of 5
by Ciaran

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 15, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 愛知県名古屋市

立地良く、フロントの対応は素晴らしいが残念

Posted May 10, 2016
5人旅行で、3部屋借りましたが3部屋ともクレームがありました! 1. 冷蔵庫が冷えない 2. 天井のエアコンから水が漏れてくる 3. タオルを新しいのに替えてない などありました。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

“地區方便 , 海灘晚餐有特色”

Posted May 3, 2016 on Hotels
位置方便 , 雖然海鮮唔太新鮮但海灘晚餐有特色 ,早餐 種類選擇多 , 很豐富 。 但泳池較細 , 海灘多垃圾 ! 酒店房間蚊很多 ! 問酒店會否有驅蚊油或電蚊香用品提供 , 但回應叫我自己買 ! 真的覺得未有五星酒店的服務 ! 世界衛生局都呼籲要小心蚊患 , 慎防登革熱 , 希望在這面改善 , 提供電蚊香等用品 !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Manmohan from India

Location...little else!

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Hotels
Well located but disappointing stay. The plumbing was terrible. The showers had very little pressure and every once in a while, the water would get super hot and literally burn our skins. Then automatically it would get back to a normal temperature. We complained at the reception but it was of no use. I realised it was not just our room but the entire hotel as our kids faced the same ordeal in their room. Air-conditioning was sub optimal and the long walks to our room (no elevators) made it less than pleasant. The morning buffet breakfast was most ordinary and boring as they served the exact same thing every morning. The service however was good.