Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT STAY HERE

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel uses anyway possible to get as much money out of you as possible. Our room was a pool access room where the pool did not even have full lounge chairs, just cheap seats that were basically sitting on the ground. Our room smelled of sewage and mildew the entire time. The hotel itself is very very far from anywhere you would want to go in koh samui and is not nice enough that you would want to hang around there. Furthermore the pools are much smaller than in any picture, walking around it smells horrible and the stench is only masked my the occasional plumeria tree. The beach is not one you could swim in at all. It has rocks all over and is a brown color. The restaurant has some of the worst food I have ever had and is extremely over priced. We wouldn't order any food after our first night no matter how hungry we were. The staff was very lazy, they left room service plates in the walkway for over 2 days. The only positive were the very sweet housekeeping ladies. Furthermore at the end of our stay the hotel claimed we had damaged a motorbike and asked us how much we were "willing to pay" for the damages, saying we had signed a contract. They threatened to call the police on us if we did not pay them. They even overcharged us 200 thb from our taxi driver so they could pocket it themselves. Overall the staff was extremely unprofessional, they cursed at us and screamed when we would not pay for a motorbike we had not damaged. It was a horrible exper
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guests, thank you very much for your recent stay in our Resort and your online review. Best regards, Birgit Guest Relation Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool Rrsort for a Gamily Stayation

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Overall it has been a pleasant stay. All thr hotel staffs are friendly and nice execept the following. One thing that disappoint us is the timeliness of the breakfast which we are told will be ready by 7am however it is not up till almost 7.30am. The staff attitude really turns you down when they don't even seems apologetic. We are planning to check out early just to catch the ferry out of Samui on time but they have made us so rush in our schedule. Kindly look into your trainee staff, they are the one that spoil the image of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymus, thank you very much for your recent stay in our Resort and your online Review. We will forward all the given compliments to our hardworking staff. The Breakfast we do ensure to the guests is ready by 7 am to 10.30 am every day. If you had problems during your check out we do apologize for the inconvenience you had. Best regards, Birgit Guest Relation Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Netherlands

Great location & value for money

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Fantastic hotel, service and location are great. Value for money. Will definitely come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymus, thank you very much for staying with us recently and your valued online guest comment. We do hope to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay with us. Best regards and all the best for your future. Birgit Guest Relation Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

Little piece of paradise

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent resort. Very helpful friendly staff. Great location on beach. Would highly recommend deva spa resort
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 12, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymus, thank you very much for staying with us recently and your valued online guest comment. We will forward all your given compliments to our hardworking staff. We do hope to welcome you back soon for another joyful stay with us. Best regards and all the best for your future. Birgit Guest Relation Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Great family stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016
We stayed at The hotel in August. We had read the reviews so knew we wouldn't be able to use the beach but could benefit from the free shuttle bus is that run throughout the week. The view from the hotel bar of the beach is still spectacular and lovely to enjoy cocktails on an evening. The room we had was pool access and great. My son got quite ill during the trip and the staff were so kind. Really good value hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by GRM-Birgit , Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Kate, greetings from Deva Samui Resort and for the online review at Expedia. We appreciate to hear that you did had an great time in our Resort with your family. We hope your son is better again as soon he did arrived back home. We do hope to see you all 4 back for another holiday stay in our Resort. Regards, Birgit Guest Relation Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel perfect for a quiet getaway

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
Had 4 nights at Deva Samui, everything was really good, very helpful staff and lovely room. My only criticism would be that they close the swimming pools too early, it would be nice if they could keep them open till 8.30-9.00pm. Great hotel for couples wanting peace and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 18, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear anonymus, greetings from Deva Samui Resort and Spa where you did spend your lately holiday and thank you very much for your online review. We hope to welcome you soon back for a longer holiday stay for some more memorable moments. We will forward the given compliments to our staff. Best regards, Birgit Guest Relation Manager
4 out of 5
by Paul from Newcastle Upon Tyne

Hotel review

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Hotels
people have stated hotel was isolated, I disagree. I nice location away from the hustle an bustle of the main resorts. Room was a little basic (concrete floors) but clean and tidy with all of the mod cons of air conditioning wifi and tv. Hiring a car gave us greater freedom to explorer the main resorts, all within 15 mins drive. Staff were very very friendly and always served us with a smile. I would visit again as a base. Not exactly 5 star but for the price a very reasonably price hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Paul, thank you very much for your recent stay in our Resort. Thank you for your kind online review we do appreciate. We will forward all the given compliments to our hardworking staff and we do hope to welcome you back in the nearest future for another memorable and joyful stay. Best regards, Birgit_GRM
4 out of 5
by Nick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Find another hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Cons: daily fogging - use sticky glue to trap the houseflies
An inn-keeper's top priority is to ensure safety of all guests. With dengue/zika spread by mosquitoes - it is vital that any hotel with lots of water features must do their utmost to keep mosquitoes away. This hotel's coffeehouse is swarmed with mosquitoes (the hotel is well aware - just look at the at mosquitoes burners under the tables). The place should be fogged daily. I have dengue previously - its horrible Houseflies - hotel is well aware but most do more. we ate with one hand and the other hand used to ward of the flies. We changed coffee cups every morning as the flies will land on the cups. Food is sufficient and varied - but all are kept under covers (houseflies !!) The beach - is so filthy - tons of plastic/glass bottles - plastic bags. You cannot swim as lots of barnacles and rocky and there is a drain runoff less than 200 meters away. The walkway from the coffeehouse back to the reception area - the creepers are dangling down - be very careful - the flowers attract bees - you do not want to walk right into a bee at eye level !! Those who opted for their superior room - are situated right at the back - on the 3th floor - no elevator - either facing the main room or the back of another block. The toilet need a fresh coat of paint. Hotel have a free shuttle to other beach and town - but only leaves at 1pm. You can get a cab - but its at least B300 to anywhere. The Big Buddha is a good 2 kms away (certainly not a 10 mins walk as suggested by the hotel).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 3, 2016 by GRM-Birgit , Hotel Management
Dear anonymus, thank you very much for staying with us and your online review. Best regards, Birgit Guest Relation Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
All round great hotel. Rooms are very spacious and the staff are great. Only thing to plan is that you have to get taxis to places you want to see (if not on a planned trip) price of which can add up. Don't let that out you off though as everything was pretty much perfect :)
Comment from Hotel Management
by GRM, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymus, thank you very much for your holiday stay in our Resort. We been happy to serve you during your stay. For the convenient to get around we do provide different shuttle bus services. DAILY: At 11 am to the Beach Club in Chaweng Noi At 1 pm to Chaweng and back at 5 pm At 1 pm to Choengmon and back at 5.30 pm At 4.30 pm to Chaweng Wednesdays Free to Fishermans Village at 7.30 pm and back at 10.30 Fridays to Fishermans Village at 6 pm and back at 10 pm for 100 baht per person per way Every Evening except Wednesday and Friday we provide Shuttle to Chaweng Beach at 7.30 pm and back at 10.30 pm for 100 baht per person per way. We will forward your given compliments to our staff.and we do hope to see you once back again. Regards, GRM