Ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne, australia

Posted Jul 1, 2016
We are a family with three young children and recently stayed at the manathai. This is a fantastic resort. The staff are unbelievable. A special thanks to POM who made us feel like royalty, especially at breakfast. The staff are always cleaning so the resort is spotless. Both pools are fantastic and well maintained. Pad thai restaurant served great food at a reasonable cost. We watched the Euros' at Mulligans which is in the resort. Great pub, however a little expensive. However a 15 minute walk along the beach gets you to some great beachside restaurants, namely Thai Spices, which has amazing food and service at a ridiculously low price. A MUST! The only downside for me was the beach at the front of the resort. The water was dirty and the sand had broken glass, and discarded rubbish. This was very upsetting to see. Although just outside the resort, if this was cleaned up, this resort would always be fully booked. However a 20 minute stroll along the beach gets you to the white sands of Lamai beach with beautiful warm clear waters. Also, we would often catch a tuk tuk from our resort for 300baht to Lamai (a 5 minute drive for 14 of us - 3 families) where there were great restaurants and amazingly cheap shopping! Manathai thank you for an amazing stay!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from taiwan

good value for 4 stars hotel standard

Posted May 27, 2016
Pros: ocean pool
Cons: service
Location: a little bit our of entertainment place
the hotel is good, the staffs need more training to meet 4 star standard . the ocean pool was so nice, and the room could compare with 5 stars hotel, but, the staffs ability ( English, professional, service skill...)is below 4 stars hotel standard.......
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney NSW Australia

Nice hotel. Quite area and close to Lamai beach

Posted May 1, 2016
Cons: Later opening times for the infinity pool. 7pm seemed a bit early.
Loved staying at hotel. Was there for 9 nights. We had the deluxe balcony with buffet breakfast. Room was clean, the hotel staff were very helpful and we had not problems while we stayed there. The beach front for the hotel wasn't the greatest but a 5 minute walk south had very nice beaches. The only odd thing was that the pool over the road from the hotel (which was still part of the hotel) closed at 7pm. The drinks at the hotel bar were a bit hit and miss depending on who made them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Hochwertiges 4 Sterne Hotel

Posted Apr 29, 2016
Pros: Die Lage des Hotels und das Preis-Leistungverhältnis sind unschlagbar.
Cons: Die chinesischen Reisegruppen können manchmal etwas laut sein, werden aber durch Schilder aufgefordert ruhig zu sein.
Location: Das Hotel ist durch eine Strasse vom Strand und dem grossen Swimmingpool getrennt. Ein Lotse hilft Tag und Nacht beim Überqueren der Strasse.
Das Hotel entsprach in jedem Detail der Beschreibung. Die Zimmer sind schön und haben ein angenehmes feeling. Der Service ist hervorragend, das Personal stets bemüht und äusserst freundlich. Während unseres Aufenthaltes wurde ständig an der Hoteldekoration gearbeitet und Dinge wurden verbessert. An der Rezeption war man bemüht uns mit der Anmietung eines Autos und der Motorroller behilflich zu sein. Kostet vielleicht ein wenig mehr als sonst wo im Ort, aber die Qualität der Fahrzeuge war sehr gut und alles sehr Vertrauen erweckend. Tatsächlich muss man die stark befahrene Strasse überqueren, um zum zweiten grossen Hotelpool am Strand zu gelangen, der sehr angenehm ist. Der Strand selbst ist, wie schon von anderen beschrieben nicht zum Baden geeignet. Überhaupt ist der ganze Strand von Lamai nur von der Ferne schön, er ist nicht nur vor dem Hotel sondern auch weiter südlich eher schmutzig. Die schöne Strände der Insel muss man per Auto oder Motorroller erreichen. Die Lage des Hotels ist super, es ist nachts ruhig und man ist doch nur ein paar Minuten vom Trubel von Lamai entfernt, wenn man den Trubel denn sucht. Auch Chaweng ist in 15 Minuten erreichbar. Direkt neben dem Hotel startet die sehr wenig befahrene Strasse durch den Dschungel und über die Hügel nach Mae Nam. Überhaupt ist das Innere der Insel wunderschön und ruhig und man kann, wenn man gut sucht, einsame Wasserfälle und Flüsse zumBaden im kühlen Wasser finden. Das Publikum des Hotels ist international.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

not a 4.5 star hotel

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: Our up graded room
Cons: Restaurants need to serve better size meals, serve basic cafe foods. Bar staff need to be taught basic cocktail recipes!staff need to learn English.
Location: Location - littered with rubbish along the beach. Not pleasant to swim at, sewer nearby! Surrounds are dirty and foul smells leak out of drain pipes.
The hotel is situated across from the beach.....however, do not swim at this beach , we went for a walk on the first day and came across a sewer pipe leading directly into the sea only a short distance away...... The pool by the sea is good , however the Restaurant Waterside is not up to standard. I had to convince the staff that I wished to purchase coffee accompanied by a biscuit or cake for morning or afternoon tea......after the third day I was pleasantly surprised by the staff with complimentary cookies. Their English is poor all over the resort...... Only two reception staff could converse in English. Housekeeping were advised by myself & the reception manager that I would like a top sheet for our bed.....I requested for 4 days , I received extra blanket, extra Doona but no sheet..... I gave up! We had a a ten day stay.....the hotel needs to replace broken visible roof tiles/shingles that are visible from the top floor. The gardens have been neglected, lack of flowers and plants. We did voice our concerns about the advertised star rating and the maintenance required , we were upgraded in to a beautiful suite. However, this part of Koh Samui at Lamai was disappointing....not the beautiful beach holiday we imagined. The restaurants at the resort were overpriced and very small meals. Breakfast was ok you could order eggs to be cooked to your liking.....3 fruits, toast etc. nothing flash.... Two staff members were very helpful Mai & Bea.....
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derby UK

Lovely hotel and staff and close to the beach

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff who were always smiling, lovely big room and swimming pools
Cons: The beach area needs cleaning to make it more desirable and the waterside pool bar and restuarant needs to be cheaper and play more suitable music.
Location: Location was fine for us but not a great deal of things to do nearby apart from eating and drinking. Close to Airport
From the time we arrived till the time we departed the staff could not have been more helpful. I arrived very early in the morning but was allocated a room straight away which allowed me to settle into my beautiful room without having to wait for the usual 2pm check-in time. Beautiful hotel and 2 lovely pools to enjoy for a most relaxing holiday.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from schwarzwald

Schön wars

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Waren Mitte März für eine Woche hier. Der Check in war sehr freundlich und trotz früher Anreise am Morgen konnten wir gleich in unser Zimmer. Hatten ein Deluxe balcony Room,war jetzt nicht riesig aber sehr gepflegt, ruhig und sauber mit allem was man braucht. Auf dem kleinen Balkon nur ein Stuhl, aber auf Nachfrage brachte man uns noch einen. Das Frühstück war sehr lecker und reichhaltig mit richtigen Kaffee oder Cappuccino auch die Atmosphäre hat uns gefallen. Am schönen Pool gab es zu jeder Zeit freie Liegen, Straßenlärm nervt schon, am kleinen Strand geht es. Baden sind wir dort nicht. Ein paar Minuten weiter mit dem Roller gibt es einen wunderschönen Strand. Ein Seven Eleven gleich neben dem Hotel. Tolles und sehr günstiges Essen im Incharm ein paar Meter nebenan. Roller und unsere Fährtickets konnten wir an der Rezeption buchen. Haben das Hotel zu einem super Preis bekommen, und können daher nicht meckern:)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to the beach

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Comfortable rooms, friendly staff in a lovely setting. Good few restaurants including a pub but mediocre quality food. 2 swimming pools with the one next to the beach a lot nicer. Staff very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zürich

Schönes Hotel im Kolonialstil in Strandnähe

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: Die Zimmer sind wirklich sehr schön; und das Personal ist sehr freundlich.
Cons: Der Strand müsste sauberer sein; und die Preise in den diversen Hotelrestaurants tiefer.
Location: Die Lage des Hotels ist gut; bis ins Zentrum von Lamai ist es etwa 10 Minuten zu laufen (am Strand). Viele Ausflugsmöglichkeiten.
Das Manathai Beach ist ein sehr schönes Hotel, die Zimmer und Suiten sind sehr schön und sauber; die Zimmer sehr gut ausgestattet. Der Service im Hotel ist ebenfalls sehr gut. Das Frühstück ist gemischt europäisch/asiatisch und ebenfalls gut. Der Strand ist leider nicht so schön und auch nicht sehr sauber - das erstaunt bei einem Hotel dieser Preisklasse. Die Preise der 5 Hotelrestaurants sind überhöht. Das Hotel ist stark frequentiert von chinesischen Reisegruppen. Ich kann das Hotel mit gewissen Einschränkungen empfehlen; was mir persönlich am meisten fehlte war die Atmosphäre - obwohl das Receptionsteam ausgesprochen freundlich und hilfreich war, blieb das Hotel doch unpersönlich - was bei über 200 Zimmern auch nicht so ungewöhnlich ist. Ich würde das Hotel eher für einen Kurzaufenthalt buchen.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

luxiourous hotel with beach pool

Posted Mar 13, 2016
Pros: design, pool,
Cons: this is not a big deal but frankly they should think about changing the little tables at the beach pool. They do not match the hotel of this class.
Location: very close to silver beach and lamai centre, aprox. 30 minut beach walk to grandmother and grandfather rocks
Luxiourous and beautiful hotel with private pool on the beach. Beautiful rooms and very good service. There is no really beach on this side of Koh Samui, but amazing pool with the view on the sea is simply perfect. Approximately 15 minutes to Silver beach and 10 minutes to Lamai centre.