Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ISRAEL

Room uncomfortable

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Courteous service dining room
Cons: Courtesy and service of the hotel reception staff. Do not know how to give service. Not pleasant.
Location: Distance from the beach. Near a major road. Near the mall was closed all the time.
Old hotel, room cleanliness poor, old-fashioned dining room, the free water bottle broken obliged us as 10 new bottles.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nora Chewang

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Location and happy hour
Great location at the top of the Chewang strip, pity about the construction next door, but not the hotels fault. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Great happy hour with food cooked on the deck. Would stay here again if visiting Koh Samui
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by chris from sydney

Nice hotel close to the markets

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Nice hotel, shower water pressure and consistency was terrible. Bed was a bit hard but slept fine. Hotel staff were great, very helpful and polite.
2 out of 5
by Cass from Australia

Quite Average

Posted Mar 22, 2012
Pros: Happy hour
Cons: No room cleaning
Location: Good.
The beds here are very very hard, not very comfortable after a long flight. There is no cleaning of the room , house keeping only make your bed and provide new towels. As for the room service , by the time it got to us it was COLD ..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do you like blood stains on your towels?

Posted Feb 21, 2012
I don't know why this hotel is marked so highly. Its really dirty. There are stains on all the towels, bedsheets, etc. I only booked 2 nights there and was happy to leave.
4 out of 5
by JP from Colombia

Very nice but..

Posted Nov 5, 2011
Location: Beaches
The hotel is clean, excellent location, good room,etc. BUT i face an unpleasant experience:I live in Thailand for some years and have many friends in diiferent places, including Koh Samui. A foreigner friend of mine came to visit and no questions were asked. Later on, a Thai friend came to visit and he was questioned as if he was a criminal or a prostitute and asked to leave his ID card in the front desk. Furthermore, my room was booked for two guest and my second guest, another friend was arriving in the evening from Bangkok to meet me in Samui. BUT i was told that if my Thai friend comes to the room, even for short time, would be considered my second guest and noone else could stay there..
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Paradise Lost

Posted Oct 31, 2011
Location: Chaweng had everything I needed and more. This was a return trip after three years so I was very keen in re-visiting the establishments I frequented before. Some have changed management and others have sprung up in their place but over all, I will return to Chaweng again.
I stayed at Nora Chaweng Hotel 3 years ago when it was just newly built. Back then the inconvenience and nuiances of an almost being finished hotel from the strong smell of drying cement and new staff were supplimented well by a courteous and warm service from staff. This visit however three years after was not as warm. Almost none of the staff had a welcoming smile. Then it took the intervention of the manager get us moved to another room/floor after the A/C unit in my Mom's room spewd water all over the TV in her room. But they did find us two ajoining rooms. I ordered a van to transport us to the Airport at 9AM on the day we checked out for a 10AM departure to the airport. We had to wait a good 20 minutes before the van and driver arrived. Very dissappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lahore, Pakistan

Nice hotel on Chawen Road

Posted Jun 17, 2011
The rooms at the hotel were comfy and spacious, although I found the bed a little hard for my liking. The hotel is at the beginning of Chaweng road and you have to cross the street and go through another resort to get to the beach, but it's not too much of a distance. However, the happening areas were a bit further down the beach. The spa was wonderful! My wife and I tried the honeymoon package and were in bliss afterwards, although individual treatments are expensive compared to outside massage places and spas. Everything you need (money exchange,pharmacy, last minute purchases) were also in walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to other travellers. I got a good value during low season so I was very happy with my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Convient location, nice rooms, decent price

Posted Jul 12, 2010
Nora Chaweng Hotel is right on the main roach (Chaweng Beach Rd), 5 minute walk from the beach, close to the night life, shopping and everything else. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, even advising us on a delicious local place to eat. The staff spoke English and were sweet and accomodating in every way. Rooms cleaned on a daily basis. Hotel staff were knowledgeable and willing to go the extra mile. If you want somewhere close to the action, and looks exactly like the hotel website - this is the place for you. The pool is lovely (extremely cold-but the weather is so hot its not a big deal). You do hear some noise at night - being that close to strip... but it wasnt horrible. My only complaint would be we paid for laundry and it was expensive (in regards to the other rates for laundry in Thailand). But the benefit was we didnt have to walk around with our laundry and find a suitable place and all our clothing came back fresh and clean in our rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

The Best Hotel I Stayed At During My Month in SE Asia

Posted Dec 16, 2009
I stayed at the Nora Chaweng Hotel in the middle of my month long trip through SE Asia. The room and staff were so much better than the other places I stayed at during my trip that I ended up resting here instead of spending time on the beach. The WIFI worked. The location was great. But if I were to give one more reason to stay at the Nora Chaweng Hotel, I'd say the OMELET bar! Your complimnentary breakfast includes having a staff member custom make your eggs to order. It was the best OMELET I've ever had in my life! Just outside the front door is a great travel agent that was able to book tours and plane tickets for us. Her plane ticket prices were lower than those we found online. The only negative is the bed is just as hard as every other bed in Thailand. The trick is to fold your comforter in half and then lay on top and cover yourself (like a taco).