Ratings based on 87 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2017
The facilities are a bit aged but the grounds are very well kept and charming. The location is also perfect if you are in for a nice, quiet, secluded, relaxed vacay. The Staff was amazing, especially the knowledgeable guide, Aod, who is local Samui and gave great guided tour. But if you are looking for lots to do and lots to see, the hotel location isn't the most convenient. We left feeling recharged and refreshed, will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Cosy & comfortable hotel with beach & nice pools

Posted Feb 1, 2017
A very comfortable and relaxing hotel with private beach and two nice pools! Garden room surprisingly spacious! Tawann restaurant in the hotel offering authentic Thai and Asian food! Nice buffet breakfast included in the room fare! Friendly staff! All is good:)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing holiday thanks to this hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: In the evenings they have barbecue outdoors on the beach with lights and music, in the morning - yoga on the beach, during the day - cooking & massage
Cons: Nothing
Location: Amazing location - Cliff restaurant and 2 fave beaches - crystal cove & silver beach are just few minutes drive
We travelled with a 1-year old son and this this experience cannot be any better - helpful & flexible stuff doing their best to make sure you are happy, beautiful location, great rooms, good quality restaurants, and simply stunning beach & pool area. In the evenings they have barbecue outdoors on the beach with lights and music, in the morning - yoga on the beach, during the day - cooking & massage & cocktail classes. Free ice cream as a welcome treat, and these amazing things keep on happening with you during the whole stay. Hotels is definitely recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Saved our island trip.

Posted Jan 13, 2017
We were in koh samui during the unseasonal flooding in December. When we arrived at renaissance we were just coming back from Being stuck on koh phangan due to the bad weather. we were so happy we splurged and got this hotel. The weather was awful, but we still had so many amenities at our fingertips, and an amazing staff! Seriously my bf and I both agreed this was the most accommodating hotel. Right on the beach, 2 pools, 3 restaurants, super nice massages. Really impressed. And our room had an outdoor bathtub and little deck area. Very peaceful!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangkok

Great hotel. Great atmosphere and private beach.

Posted Dec 13, 2016
Pros: Great price and family friendly hotel.
Arrived with 3 kids and stayed at pool villa. The room is perfect for a family like us and the kids can play freely in the pool. Hotel main pool is right next to the beach so we can let the children swim in the pool and play sand on the quiet, private beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Wonderful place to stay, great staff, great rooms, great pool, food, grounds. Quiet, restful, great location!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Location: Location is nice and quiet, but far from Chaweng.
Luxurious hotel, fantastic breakfast, great room and facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vic Australia

Private beach location

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Friendly,attentive staff
Cons: Room clean and comfortable, some elements a little dated eg shower recess
Location: Peaceful, private location on beautiful protected beach. Amenities like markets and restaurants quite readily accessible by taxi.
Resort restaurants excellent with authentic local food. Approximately 15 minutes by car to Lamai with other good dining options.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austrtalia

a nice hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: loved the staff so friendly and nothing is to much trouble
Cons: just the pricing at the restaurants
Location: transport is required for any activities out of the resort we went to the tiger zoo and aquarium but I wouldn't recommend it
A nice hotel with great staff especially Capu in the banana room where we had breakfast and Melissa up at reception, great place to stay if you want to just chill although you will need transport if you want to go any where on the island. The only down side was the price of eating at the resort it is quite pricey although I can recommend the blue and white pizza place just outside the resort
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Not quite a 5-star, but AMAZING 6-star staff!!!

Posted May 29, 2016
Pros: GREAT staff! Comfortable and relaxed vibe; delicious food (and outstanding breakfast, really -- I don't know why other reviewers complained about it)
Cons: I think Marriott benefits could have been applied to our spa treatments and our lunches, but for some reason they were not.
Location: The hotel is located in quiet Lamai Beach, but it's easy to hire a taxi or schedule a tour to get around the island or get off the island.
If you're looking for a 5-star in the tradition of the Four Seasons or the Ritz, then you should know that the Renaissance is not on par with those in terms of opulent facilities, luxuriousness of grounds, etc. However, it is a very comfortable and nice resort, and the staff and food were FANTASTIC. While I would rate the resort itself as a middle 4-star, I would definitely rate the staff as 6 stars -- they are wonderful, kind, professional people. We brought our baby son with us, and everyone was so sweet to him and about helping us during meal times. Capu, Max, Gunz, Venus, Woody, Jira and so many others were really top notch. We had Venus watch after our son when we went on an all-day excursion to the Angthong Marine Park, and she did a wonderful job. This is a great place for families, definitely. The hotel provided a baby cot, mosquito netting to go over the crib (which we did not need; we did not have any issues with mosquitoes), a bottle sterilizer, and lots of complimentary bottles of water. The food is delicious -- breakfast was always wonderful and every meal we had at the hotel's restaurants and bars or in our room were tasty as well. While the prices are expensive for food in Thailand, I did not find the prices to be so bad for hotel prices. The property looks out on a nice little beach. The water is warm and shallow and goes out very far -- it was nice to walk in it! Just remember to wear water shoes since the ground is rocky with coral and stones