Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Would definately come back and stay again! Breakfast is yummy and the atmosphere of the resort is calming and peaceful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for family

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Quiet and clean.
Cons: The hotel taxi should change to hotel van
Location: the restaurant in the hotel is really good and the seafood is delicious. The view is also good.
I thought this is a good hotel. Quiet and clean. I booked a 2-bed room villa. The swimming pool is OK not really big. There is also a Jacuzzi which I didn't try but I think children will love it. Transportation is not very convenience but if you book this hotel you should know that. I am really a bit scare of their taxi there so I usually book the hotel van to go outside. You can arrange with the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great location & service

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Away from the bustle but not difficult to get around if you wish. Staff are really helpful & will book taxis, transfers etc.
Cons: Some of the rooms were obviously spectacular when new but need a little TLC to bring them back to spec. I changed my 1st room without quibble.
Location: A number of other beaches with great bars, restaurants, yoga retreats all within 10 mins ride. Sail Rock Scuba will collect & drop off are excellent.
I stayed here for 9 nights B&B in late June located on the North West of the island about 30 mins drive away from the noisier Southern resort area of Haad Rin (Full Moon parties etc). The hotel accommodation is built into the hillside and set into a stunning landscape and on a fine beach. The beach has a number of restaurants, bars, masseuse huts etc as well as the in-house offering so plenty of choice. The hotel itself though - like a good number of the island resort hotels - is set down a steep hill and to get around means hiring a scooter - very reasonable - or taking a taxi to outside locations further afield. Standard taxi fare is between 100 and 200 baht depending on the destination i.e. £2 to £4 - not going to break the bank. The pool is set on 3 linked tiers and is beautiful for lounging for those who do not want to lie on the white sandy beach. The bay is tidal so the far end (5 mins) is better for swimming as the area immediately in front of the hotel is too shallow and used by some small local boats etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

Get the pool villa, it's worth it.

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Cons: A soap bar would be nice. They do give shower gel, but I prefer soap bars.
It's a bit far from town (all the shops are near Tong Sala pier), but there are a lot of restaurants along the beach offering decent food at great price. Rent a bike and you could have more options. For inexperienced riders, please be careful, as the road leading to the hotel is a steep hill with sharp bends. Like really steep. Room is great. Beautiful room, spacious, clean, cosy bed, clean private pool, fantastic beach view from the room and the private pool. The living hall smells like old wood, but the air-conditioning gets rid of it after you switch it on for a while. You can access the pool directly from the living hall as well. Our room is quite far from the reception, very tiring to walk. But you can call front desk to get a buggy to pick you up. Hotel staff can help you with bike rental and other transportation (even until Surat Thani airport). The beach where the hotel is at (Haad Salad) is not that great for swimming (amazing sunset view though), but a 5 minute bike ride can take you to Mae Haad beach (really beautiful beach), or Haad Yao beach (wide, shallow beach, with the softest sand I've ever felt). Hotel staffs are very helpful. Only a few staff can speak English well, but overall they're all really nice people. Breakfast is just okay though. If you could choose, get the room near the pond. It's nearer to the reception and the beach. The pond looks green, but it doesn't smell or anything really.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: The quietness, good food (with gigantic portions) and VERY low prices.
Cons: The personnel service. They were rather slow and not always bring what asked for.
Location: The beach is LITTERED with massage places. Snorkeling, sometimes there are fireshows on the farther side of the beach.
Overall I'd say it was a great experience staying over at salad buri. Maybe the spa part wasn't exactly what I expected, since there were only masseuses outside and the rest of the hotels on the same beach had the same options but weren't named "spa resorts". The resort itself is rather isolated, so to travel anywhere I had to either take a taxi or rent a moped. Service was great, albeit a little slow at times. The view and the beach were the best on the whole island, always clean and always quiet. Room service was quick and tidy. Food was fantastic, always fresh fruit and vegetables, although you sometimes have to share either the space or the food with the local dogs that live around the hotel. They were never trouble, but it's best to keep them at arm's length. The only downside to this is that the living quarters of the resort are located on a rather steep hill, with a lot of sharp stones and steps and no railings anywhere.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Is right in front of a very nice beach and the view from the rooms is beautiful. The restaurant is pretty good and the pool is nice.
Location: Is quite far from the main area of the island, which actually can be a good thing if you are looking for a more beautiful and not dirty beach to go to
We arrived at the hotel, we did check in, and everything was fine except for the fact that the staff came in and out of our room about 2 or 3 times I don't know why. 6 hours later the person who worked on the reception got inside our room (while my fiancé and I were in the bathtub) saying that she had given us the wrong key and we were in the wrong room. We had unpacked everything already and we had to pack again really quick while she was waiting on the door. Then they moved us to a room that was basically inside the wardrobe of the room that we were previously. Honestly, the hotel is very good but this kind of mistake is inadmissible. Moreover, nobody came to stay in our first room this day. They should have let we stayed in this room at least for the first day as a compensation for the terrible mistake and for the invasion of privacy, but they did not give us anything and actually acted as if were our fault. Our second room was really small and as I sad, was inside the other room. We had no privacy at all. I would not recommend this hotel if you are thinking about to book a standard room.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2015
Thailand disappoints for customer service in general. The hotel was supposed to be 4+ stars. It's not.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Great stay on Koh Phangnan

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Peace and quiet. Own private pool with a view over Haad Salad. Friendly and helpful staff.
Location: The pool and beach are great for kids. There are some nice restaurants along the beach.
We stayed in a villa with private pool set high above Haad Salad. It was unfortunate that it rained for 2 of the 4 days we were there but the staff at Salad Buri were terrific. Often we required the cart to transport us up the steep hill to our villa. This is a great place for a relaxing holiday but nor suitable for people with mobility problems however the carts make it easier.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Our stay here was very pleasant. Dining on the beach every evening is available. The room was small as we went for a cheap option but very clean, comfortable and well decorated with some stunning views. A lot of stairs are climbed to get back to our room which means if you forgot something it's a tiring trip back up the hillside in the heat! Another downside is it's very remote. It's a very hilly walk to the nearest shop for drinks and snacks for your room. The hotel fills the fridge with drinks but charges you, even for the bottles of water! (Which we had for free even in much cheaper hotels). However, as a chilled out time in our travels, just lasting by the pool and on the beach, we had a great time. A short walk along the beach offers other restaurants to eat in, which are also cheaper than the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kirchdorf / Krems

Amazing room but....

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Pros: The rooms are really nice and I loved the furniture, etc.
Cons: The service skills of the stuff could improve a lot.
Location: The resort is at a small bay where you find a lot of other restaurants. It is constructed up a hill, therefore you might climb to your room.
Salad Buri Resort is a very beautiful resort and the rooms are just great but you have to walk a lot up the hill. If your room is half way up the road it is a real "climb" from the beach to your room but I had an amazing view from my balcony. One of the problems I had during my stay was that the phone in my room did not work and it was raining outside, so I had to call them through skype because I did not have any towels in my room. The Internet was kind of slow and did not always work but after calling them twice via skype, they actually managed to bring me some towels. Their booking service was not as good as I had expected and the stuff was kind of unfriendly, therefore I ended up booking my dive trip and shuttle service to Koh Tao in another hotel. Also their restaurant service could improve a lot (during breakfast there was not any stuff at all for about 20min) but that is not really a problem as there are a lot of other restaurants around. The beach looks nice from your room but I would not really go swimming there (therefore they have a swimming pool).