Ratings based on 1,920 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great choice

Posted Aug 17, 2017
I would have given this hotel 5 stars but the fact that their in room internet was down for pretty much the entirety of my stay there I can't do it. Overall it's an excellent choice, it's a bit far from Kona and Hilo about 1 hour drive to either. The closest town is a 10 minute drive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

Gecko was in the room. Away from everything

Posted Aug 11, 2017
It was terrible. They have Gecko in the room. They give the worst rooms to Expedia customers
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great hotel close to the beach

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Wounderful place. The hotel is just on one of the best beaches of the island. It also have a large pool with many facilities. I would defitely recommend it to everyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shawnee, Ks. 66216

Beach is the best.

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: For older hotel its in pretty good shape. I like that they are going to upgrade soon. Will become partners with Westin.
Cons: More to do. Bars and food that is open later.
Location: There is nothing to do that is within a 25 or so minute drive away.
The hotel is great if you want to just relax. There really isnt much else to do but go to the beach or the pool...unless you like to golf and even with that I couldnt do that everyday. The bars close early and there is nothing open after that. You would have to drive quite a while to get any amenities. However the grounds are well manicured and the staff is great. Very pricey for not much to do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect beach!

Posted Aug 1, 2017
The hotel was nice and well maintained. Staff was friendly. We had a beach front room and it was an absolutely gorgeous location. The only downside was the food. Restaurants were extremely expensive and a limited menu that got boring after a couple days. The sister hotel Muana Kea had better food selection. We would definitely stay there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Two problems.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: The beauty of the beach and the truly grand scale of the lobby/property. It is a very calm, quiet, peaceful, uncrowded kind of feeling.
Cons: They could have given me the room beds they 'advertised' and that I paid for, and they could have done more to live up to their resort fee.
The beach is great. The facilities/lobby are beautiful and impressive. I would like to give it a 4 or even a 5. Here's my two gripes: 1) I spend a LOT of time shopping hotels on Expedia because for our family of 4 (two boys, 11 and 13) I REALLY want two queen beds in the room. Many hotels only have doubles. Hapuna Prince advertised their listing as 2 queens. I booked in January for July. I know "room/bed 'requests' are requests and are not guaranteed" as the small print says, but I have booked lots of rooms through Expedia and never had the hotel not come through. This was the first time I ever felt like the hotel was 'looking down' on an Expedia booking. The solution from the not-very-invested front desk clerk was to bring in a roll-away bed. That left us with two adults in a double and a very cramped room. I felt it was a bait-and-switch and I simply would never have booked there if what they were offering in the Expedia listing was two doubles. 2) It's nice they offer snorkel gear for an hour a day, but I don't really think you're getting much else for the resort fee. The gear is only for an hour, and they don't open very early (when the water is calmest and clearest). So I asked the not-very-interested gear guy if I could just check out some fins right at the end of the day to have them for an early morning snorkel the next day. He said I'd have to pay by the hour for all those hours overnight when I wasn't using them. Really?
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Qingdao,China

海滩酒店,就在著名的哈普纳海滩边上

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Pros: 高尔夫,海滩,房间,服务
这所海滩酒店位置很棒,就在著名的哈普纳海滩边上,随时可以投入大海的怀抱,地处大岛的北部,去几个著名山谷比较方便,离机场和科纳镇也不远,位置不错,酒店旁边就是高尔夫球场,喜欢的人可以一展身手,这里是个安静舒适的度假好地方。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auck NZ

Beautiful Beach and Pool area

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: Beach was amazing as well as pool area
Cons: The rooms need a bit of upgrading
Location: Need to hire a car as hotel is quite far from places
We stayed five days couldn't fault anything apart from parts of hotel need a bit of TLC we understand hotel has been sold so maybe when they take over maintance will be done
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from G

Beautiful view nice hotel very comfortable

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Loved it. Really comfortable rooms, beautiful place to stay with family or partner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Upscale hotel on a gorgeous beach

Posted Jul 22, 2017
The hapuna beach hotel is in a great location. We were in a great spot for snorkeling. It's definitely more expensive in that area for dining. The dining at the hotel was not good and extremely overpriced. That was my only major complaint. Pool, beach, staff, and rooms were all very good. The hotel overall will need updating, which they plan to start in august.