Ratings based on 1,943 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The hotel is going through major renovations which were not highlighted by Expedia when I booked.it mentioned renovation at the tail end of the page, should have been first line. The location is great and when the renovations are complete the hotel will be wonderful. Listening to jack hammers and backhoes all day even on Saturday was not what I paid for. The hotel staff was very nice but there was nothing they could do about the noise.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland

CONSTRUCTION SITE

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: This hotel would be 4 star, but it was under construction when we stayed.
Cons: Do not advertise this hotel during construction, or have the rates extremely discounted.
Location: Not much in the area. Only a few beaches to relax. Everything else is about a 40+ minute drive.
This is currently a construction site. Do not rent here until renovations are completed. LOUD LOUD LOUD LOUD LOUD noise all day long. My fiancé and I were on our honeymoon and could not enjoy it. We had to leave all day long and find a local beach to hang out. We only slept in our rooms and night and would leave during the day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond Hill

Beautiful Resort

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Hapuna Beach Prince Resort was incredible, from the beautiful lush gardens and perfectly manicured grass to the very friendly, helpful staff. We were honestly treated like gold. Everybody always greeted us with an "Aloha" and a smile, even when just passing by. Jennifer at the front reception was great and accommodating, very efficient. I can't say enough about how wonderful all the staff were at this resort. The room was very spacious and clean. The Pool was large and clean, and the pool area was beautiful and peaceful, just a minor thing is... some of the poolside loungers need to be replaced soon. Buffet breakfasts were wonderful and the omelettes at the omelette station were delicious and very light tasting, I actually never liked omelette's until I had a bit of my daughters then I ordered one every morning! Dinners were so good too. Our first night there we ate at the Beach Bar... don't let the name fool you, it was quite elegant and the food tasted like we had gone to a fine dining establishment! Our waiter, I'm sorry I don't remember his name right now, was so sweet and nice, he told us about his family! He was so nice to talk with. The Beach is just gorgeous and we were always able to get an umbrella and loungers. We did some snorkelling off to the right side of the beach, it was great, plenty of fish to see. What can I say other than everything was just wonderful! Aloha and Mahalo to all the staff for a wonderful stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Cons: construction made it noisy but otherwise it was very nice stay
construction made it noisy but otherwise it was very nice stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful beach and views!

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Pros: We loved the huge room , balcony with screens and shutters. Also loved the poolside bar and restaurant. Carmela was wonderful and always used our name
Location: Not much near hotel. Kona about 45 mins. away where there were more restuarants and shops.
Didn't know hotel was starting remodeling so a lot of walkways blocked and big machines making a lot of noise during day which wasn't relaxing laying out at the pool. Hotel very spread out and sort of confusing to get to parking garage, etc. We had to take 3 different elevators to get to room. Furniture in hotel and poolside very rundown. Hopefully this will all be replaced with the remodeling.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A nice overpriced hotel undergoing renovation

Posted Aug 28, 2017
I was intentionally trying to avoid hotels undergoing renovations so one can imagine my surprise when I checked in to the sound of jack hammering & tractors. I cannot find a disclosure anywhere on Expedia when I booked this hotel about it undergoing renovations. The lobby was nice, staff fine. The parking is quite far from a few wings of the rooms and you do need to leave the resort often if you want to eat anywhere but the very expensive resort restaurants here or the sister hotel. The room was spacious but some of the furniture is outdated and looks used for the price of this hotel. The in room fridge is great and the patio furniture set up was great. Bed was comfortable and amenities appropriate. The beach and pool are the entire reason to stay here. Snorkeling is good in the cove. Overall at $31/night resort fee on top of the nightly room charge this place needs to improve its facilities or cut its fees. $31 for 2 bottles of water/day, self parking, a beach bag and some golf balls is a bit ridiculous especially during undisclosed renovations by Expedia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful location and atmosphere

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: location, laid back
Cons: restaurant choices
Our stay at Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel was lovely. I suggest you get a room as close to the beach as possible because hearing the waves all day and night made for the best experience and one that is hard to find. The hotel is starting the process of being renovated which lent to some noise occasionally and weird equipment lying around but it wasnt too much of a distraction. The room was quaint and the customer service great, I would definitely recommend for a peaceful and beautiful beach vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nice quiet hotel for family vacation.

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Nice quiet hotel has its own very clean and nice size beach right under pool area. Very family friendly and golf course nice if you like to golf! It is very far from other places 30 min to airport and other downtown Kona city activities about an hour away. But it is nice and quite if is that something you are looking for :)! Only downside is that Marriot bout this hotel so the construction was going on while we were there!;( I just wish when we booked that they have wornd us about this instead we couldn't completely enjoy our vacation because of construction that hotel was going under ! They need to stop this while they have guests staying at hotel that is a big NO ! Other than that hotel it self is nice big great looking building but rooms need updating which I am sure Marriot is going to do anyways.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Wonderful Resort with amazing beach

Posted Aug 24, 2017
We loved everything about the Resort, from the views, to the staff, the beach and pool. Everything was top notch!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, lovely pool and great eating venues.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness of rooms and friendliness of staff.
Cons: Add golf carts to move people from far away rooms to center of hotel lobby.
Location: Location was great and close to other resorts and eateries.
Had a great time and plan to return some day. Staff was courteous, helpful and attentive. Venue was clean; the restaurants were of high quality; and the pool and beach were close by. So enjoyed those activities.