Ratings based on 2,006 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oakland, ca

Nice resort style hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Note this hotel was under renovation during my recent stay so I cannot fully review. Our room was spacious and the lanai looking out to the ocean and pool was a nice treat. The bed was super comfortable and bathroom was large as well. Location wise- 45 mins from downtown Kailua so it's a trek every time. If you're into golfing, you're surrounded by so many courses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Despite construction,I recommend it .

Posted Nov 20, 2017
I was aware about construction,was nervous about it at the bigoning ,but I gave it try ,but did not really affected my stay as iam not so interested at the pool which under is under construction .Hapuna beach itself is a pool .with its magnificent color of water .the cafeteria at the 8 floor ,offer a variety of food including Hawaii lamb .so delicious .staff so helplfull especially door man .i do recommend this place if you want to be away from the noise of uahu island .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dual resident London and DC

Staying in a construction site!

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: The photos on the web site. Silly me for believing that's actually what the hotel looks like.
Cons: An honest, up front warning on the web site that the entire resort is under construction. And massive discounts to reflect that.
DON'T STAY HERE! I sent my husband here on a trip of a lifetime to enjoy this supposed beach paradise resort. He arrived to discover the entire hotel is under construction. Every thing is closed. No swimming pools. No restaurants. No beach access. There are constructions materials, fences, hard hat areas, pipes, port-a-jons, holes in the ground, dumpsters, diggers... it's a disaster. And the front desk still had the cheek to demand a resort fee on arrival! It's appalling that Expedia is still booking this hotel and not warning clients about the state of the hotel. I have complained bitterly to Expedia UK and sent photos to support my claim. They haven't even got the decency to respond to my email, let alone offer a refund Shame on them.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under Construction, don't go nightmare

Posted Nov 17, 2017
The worst I have ever experienced, noise , no amenities, no pool, no bar, no restaurant, no nothing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Beauty on the beach

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Such great staff, beach access was horrible due to the construction and the daily noise due to construction but the hotel is nice I am sure it will be beautiful when it’s all done but we don’t know we weren’t able to use anything other than the beach and some room service as well as a host breakfast bar we had a good time thanks to the highly attentive staff and great beach
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The beach was the only reason we stayed.

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: The beach
Cons: Tell the truth about what is actually going on.
At the time of booking our trip that we had planned for two years Expedia said there was minor renovations taking place. Upon check in this could not have been farther from the truth! There was heavy equipment, excavators, backhoes, mini backhoes, jackhammers roto hammers, dump trucks etc. operating from 9am. to 5pm. every day. The pool was drained, there were no restaurants no bar. Nothing. FALSE advertisrment in my eyes. If it was not for the beautiful beach this trip would have been a complete ripoff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
We apologize that you were unaware of the extensive renovations prior to your arrival. We ensure that this information is included on Hapuna Beach Hotel Evolution website which we encourage our guest to visit. We welcome you to visit in 2018 to experience everything Hapuna Beach Hotel has to offer. Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Under Renovation

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Great place. PALACIAL, be prepared to walk long way to get to your room.pool under renovation, a lot of construction barriers inhibiting beach access .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and we are glad to hear you had a great stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
The hotel is under massive construction and most of it is blocked. Expedia should make this very clear on the hotel's webpage. The current discription on Expedia doesn't not reflect the scale of the construction. We only learned that the whole hotel is under renovation when we arrived the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
We do apologize that the information regarding our extensive renovations did not reach you prior to your arrival. We are taking all precautions necessary to ensure that this information is included on our website. We do encourage you to visit Hapuna Beach Hotel Evolution website which includes a timeline of the exciting changes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hilo, Hawaii

Renovations

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Upon check-in we were informed that the hotel lobby and pool areas were undergoing major renovations. Very disappointed that we were not advised about this prior to our reservation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
We apologize if the information regarding the renovations did not reach you prior to your arrival. This information is included on our website which we do encourage our guest to visit for information regarding the timeline of these exciting changes. We hope you choose to stay with us in 2018 to experience everything Hapuna Beach Resort has to offer. Thank you for your review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Prince Hapuna Beach Hotel

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: The beach was nice.
Cons: Please see above. The hotel should have been shut down for such major remodeling.
Location: Near the beach. Nice location on the Kohala coast.
The hotel looks like it could have been very nice, and maybe it will be again sometime in the future. The point is, during our stay, the construction extent and noise were almost unbearable. We were told - when we arrived, and not before - that there would be construction on half of the property, but none on the building we were to occupy. There was no construction on our building proper, but construction equipment was in use all day on the grounds outside of our balcony to the point that we could not sit outside and enjoy the view, let alone eat breakfast out there. There was only one small take out café and one very expensive buffet breakfast available for food - all of the other restaurants were closed. Getting to the beach was a long trek through noisy construction areas in different buildings, which were dimly lighted. To top things off, on the morning we left, the emergency warning announcement (there was no emergency) was blaring repeatedly with the same message - apparently no one could turn it off! The personnel of the hotel were nice enough, considering the circumstances. If we had known of the hotel situation before our trip, we would never have booked there. We feel that this booking was very deceptive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by Guest Services Team, Hotel Management
Thank you for your thorough review.We do apologize for any inconveniences during your stay but do hope you still had a great time enjoyed the beautiful beach. We welcome you back in 2018 to experience all of the exciting changes!