Ratings based on 1,964 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Great resort although under construction

Posted Oct 17, 2017
It’s a great resort and by one of the best beaches I’ve ever been on. Unfortunately there was just a lot of construction so not easy to go from one tower to another or go straight to parking deck. Otherwise i really liked our room and the location of the facility. I am hopeful after construction it would be great
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Hotel under construction, with great beach & staff

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Pros: A pro of the construction was we felt like we had the hotel mainly to ourselves and as usual staff was warm, hospitable and especially accomodating.
Cons: Let guests know in advance that hotel is under major construction so they can make an informed decision of whether they want to stay or book elsewhere
Location: Great location, the beach I cannot say enough about, the chairs/towels/snorkeling equipment all there and provided. Drove to Pupoipu Beach, amazing!
Our family has enjoyed staying at this hotel in the past and we absolutely love this stretch of beach, especially the accessibility from the hotel and the pool. This visit we were sad to find out upon arrival that the hotel is undergoing MAJOR construction and renovation. Three cons: 1. Our daughters missed getting to play in the well-lit pool (it has been drained/is closed) in the evenings and dining on the deck of the restaurant nearby (also closed) and we did not feel motivated to take the shuttle to another hotel to use their pool tho it was offered. 2. We were awoke all 3 mornings to the back up beeping of construction tractors which did not lend itself to relaxing and sleeping in. 3. The brunch is so delicious albeit a bit overpriced at $32/person. I never feel like I eat enough to get my money's worth but love to have the variety offered.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Construction and renovations ruined our stay.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The amount of construction and renovations taking place was never relayed to us before we arrived, so we were completely horrified to find the hotel in complete disarray and there was not a lobby, pool, restaurants, nor a quality fitness center, and the noise of the construction was overwhelming. We checked out the day after we checked in. Maybe we’ll try this place again in a few years when we’re confident the renovations are complete. I learned my lesson though. I will NEVER book another vacation without asking about renovations.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cali

Nice Hotel but it was under construction

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Expedia did NOT advise that the hotel was 2/3 rds under construction during our stay. We paid full price for hotel room, and once we arrived, we saw the hotel was in ruins - under construction, pool closed as well as NO restaurants or food available at the hotel. We were not alerted by Expedia or the hotel. Prior to booking, we checked the hotel website and did not see any notification that amenities would be closed and/or under construction. Feeling dooped.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Renovation

Posted Oct 10, 2017
I just didn't like that nobody told me it was under renovation when I booked my stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Unbelievable building, beautiful beach and golf course.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paso Robles, CA

Bring your hard hat!

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: The beautiful beach
Once this resort is remodeled, it will be fabulous and 5 stars. But wait until then and save your hard earned money. We were so very disappointed to be placed 3 doors away from major construction at this resort and in an old worn out room. We had 2 deluxe ocean view rooms. We could hear jackhammers and tractors all day long throughout the resort, on the beach and in our room. The hotel management was extremely nice to us and they did their best to make our stay as pleasant as possible, but in my humble opinion this resort should be shut down for a couple of months to complete the construction. The only place to get food at this resort was the pool bar and that didn't cut it for 6 days. Please see my pictures attached. So sad for us so please don't you make the same mistake! Stay somewhere else nice, like Mauna Loa and use the public section of this beautiful beach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from la ca

Nice hotel after construction

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Should be much nicer after construction is completed
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Hotel was under renovation, without notice.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Hotel is basically good, if the construction was not carried out.
Cons: Improvement of the management
Location: A golf course is attached to the hotel, however there is nothing around the hotel.
When I made a booking, no announcement of the renovation. However, the hotel was under renovation, and unable to use pool facilities, and almost of the restaurants were closed. During daytime, large construction noise, and the room I booked was supposed to be a "partial ocean view", but the balcony was blocked by the construction fence, and I only see the sky. This is totally lack of good management.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hilo

Construction zone

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: Staff is friendly.
Cons: Finding your way around the hotel is confusing. Read the directions on how to get from our room to the breakfast buffet restaurant and just gave up.
Location: Hapuna Beach is right next to the hotel.
On my recent stay, I was told that Hapuna Prince is going to become a Westin hotel. That is fine. Problem is that the the hotel and grounds are being fixed up and the place looks more like a construction zone than a luxury hotel right now. Wish I had known this before I booked my room. Also had to deal with a ceiling leak the night my husband and I stayed there. Staff arrived quickly to fix the leak and were able to fix the leak in 30 minutes. Very friendly. But we still had a wet rug to deal with after they left. Will stay at Hapuna Prince again after the renovations are complete. But wouldn't recommend it right now for people who want a romantic, four star experience.