Ratings based on 2,718 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great services offered and amazing views

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Swam with a ton of fish and some turtles, then lounges about with an incredible view.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu

Posted Jan 14, 2018
Doing a training in Kona so it was nice to return to a beautiful well kept hotel. Just some construction going on but it didn’t impact us in anyway. Staff was friendly. We were there during the missile alert—as with everywhere else, there was a lack of communication at the hotel. We were on the beach and after the alert we ran back to our rooms but before doing so thought to check with the nearest restaurant staff to see what was going on. You’d never guess there was an alert as everyone in the restaurant was eating...no panic...nothing. As we headed into our room guests were headed out to the beach so we had to notify them of the alert. There some guests who were told to go to the lobby but our tower was a 5 min walk from the lobby (which by the way is an open air lobby). I think this was a challenge everywhere as tourists and guests weren’t sure what to do and where to go. Overall though, we had a nice stay at this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Beautiful property. Stunning views

Posted Jan 12, 2018
Very large property so lots of walking to get around
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old, tired hotel; grossly overpriced

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: The luau was well done.
Cons: Customer service is lacking. They texted me during the week. When I voiced my concerns, they didn't implement the remedies they offered us.
Location: Shopping centers near by. A couple of decent restaurants in the shop. Golf course in Muana Lani much nicer than Waikoloa. Better service in Muana Lani
In short, the hotel rooms need a face lift. We only ate on the property twice; dinner in the Italian restaurant and Christmas brunch in an inside ballroom. The food was marginal at best, but the pricing was at a premium. I was very disappointed that the breakfast was in a windowless, inside ballroom. I like to dine outside or at a minimum be able to view the beautiful outdoors when I'm in Hawaii. We asked for additional towels one day, and it took over 3 hours for them to be delivered. On a subsequent day, we were on the lanai when housekeeping did the room and were advised that there were no clean towels at that time, but that they would bring us some later in the day. They didn't. Had to call for towels that night and waited over an hour. Sheets were not changed. I'd cut my ankle and accidentally bled through the bandage on the duvet cover and housekeeping didn't bother to replace it. The shower was not cleaned at all during our 8 day stay. We were not told that self parking was $27 per day, over and above the $35 / day resort fee. The pool and lagoon are disappointing because there is no direct view or access to the open ocean. The Spa's massage on the beach - there was only 1 villa and you had to leave the villa immediately after your 80 minute massage; no opportunity to sit and enjoy the ocean view and relax after the massage. Overall, this was a very disappointing experience for the price paid. I've stayed at a resort in Mauna Lani for approx the same price; much nicer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arlington,WA

Beautiful Resort

Posted Jan 3, 2018
Pros: The different pool options, lots of dining choices and the lagoon. Dolphin encounters right on site.
Cons: The pools are all so cold! Even though its warms out the pool was way to cold! Also, a hot tub on the Ocean Tower side.
Location: Dolphin Encounter onsite. Public beach nearby. Queen and Kings Markets for shopping.
Good experience. Lots of dining options! Room was clean and had a great view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel except when it rains

Posted Dec 29, 2017
The hotel ground and rooms were nice. We enjoyed walking around to see their art collections. But during our 4-night stay, the pools were closed for 3 days because the rain washed a lot of mud into the pools. Too bad we paid extra to stay in the tower next to the water slide but couldn't use it for most of our stay. The hotel beach is rocky and unsuitable for swimming. The lagoon was open. The water was kind of murky for snorkeling. But I did see their sea turtles (and jelly fish).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Bad conditiions and too much hidden fee, bad location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Amazing Resort

Posted Dec 28, 2017
This resort easily exceeded our exceptions. The resort grounds are very well maintained, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful and the resort facilities were great. We had a great time in the pools, on the water slide, on the monorail and on the boats. We only stayed for 3 days but wished we had stayed longer. Would not hesitate to recommend this resort to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Lots of Amenities!

Posted Dec 23, 2017
I enjoyed the tram and boat transportation. The huge sprawling pool with a waterslide was fun! Can also swim with dolphins and take kayaks, paddle bikes and paddle boats in there ocean lagoon. Enjoyed their on site Luau.Great room with an ocean view too!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 21, 2017
Overpriced and overhyped. While pretty on pictures, the hotel is nothing special. It’s too far from everything and the closed grocery store is just as overpriced as everything at the hotel, so you really need to drive out for more acceptable options.