Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful sandy beach, Great staff!

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Very restful, wish it was closer to other restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malibu, CA

Paradise

Posted Sep 7, 2017
From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed everything was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Mauna Kea

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Hotel truly exceeded my expectations. The room was perfect. The only thing I would have liked that it didn't have was a mini fridge. The beach was spectacular, agreed with the reviews I read before the trip that it is the best beach on the big island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The best hotel on the island

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Everything. We have stayed at many nearby hotels, and this is the best hotel on the island.
Location: Hiking, restaurants, observatory, volcano, plantations, scuba diving, snorkeling. Everything.
This hotel is the most authentic, beautiful and well kept hotel on Mauna Kea. It is currently being managed by Kansas Henderson, and his reputation and performance is outstanding. He is a stickler for details and high customer service orientation, and it is reflected in his staff and his hotel. The views, the food, the amenities. The best beach on the island. We loved this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, but tired.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This is, or more accurately, was a Hawaiian landmark property. While the rooms have been (modestly) renovated, the common areas are sorely overdue for updating. The pool is small, the beach, truly grand, the restaurants uneven. Given the prices, you have a right to expect more. Be prepared for $50 entrees in the restaurant Manta, and $10 coffee in the lobby coffee shop.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n

On beach. Could be dramatic. But tired

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pleasant but not a 5 star resort. The extra few dollars to stay at the 4 seasons would have been worth it. It's strangely quiet and a bit like a mausoleum. Restaurant is great and simple. Beautiful beach. Staff are very pleasant but seem a little disconnected. Like they have seen way too many tourists and are tired of them. But definitely pleasant. It's a strange thing. The bones of an amazing resort are there but it comes across as a tired Marriot. Which is what it is. I would simply suggest you shop your hotels and choose more upscale names if the prices are similar. Otherwise. It's fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Well maintained classic Island Resort

Posted Jul 4, 2017 on CheapTickets
Pros: Layout, service, staff.
Location: Supposedly the best weather locale on the Big Island
Shared time with youngest daughter's fiancé's family. Great opportunity to begin to blend families! Toddler Granddaughter's first trip to a warm ocean!
5 out of 5
by Jane

Traveling alone

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
I joined my Aunt and her niece. I usually travel with my husband and family, so it was different traveling as a single woman. After not getting a lei and luggage up to my room, everything went really well. It was an amazing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't be beat!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Everything! Great beach, amazing rooms, good food, excellent service.
Cons: More In-room information about services would help. There's a Bose system but no info on use. No obvious way to find the daily TV guide on the TV.
Location: Koala has the best best beaches in all The islands, and we've been to them all. Golf course looks amazing but we didn't play.
It's the nicest place we've stayed in the island. Once you're there you don't want to leave, other than to walk on the beach, maybe over to Hapuna. The hotel staff go above and beyond, and don't have their palms out - they naturally help when they can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Beach & Rooms

Posted May 7, 2017
Everything is first class at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel..