Ratings based on 242 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jerzey

Total paradise

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Relaxing,romantic,stunning views,world class beach,pampered.. staff is friendly and so willing to assist in every way. I will retutn!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Spectacular Hotel on best beach

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Elegant hotel and definitely snorkel with the manta rays.
Cons: Cell service & wifi is very weak. We couldn't find a trail for walking/running.
Location: Sunshine Helicopter tours over the volcanos and lava and cliffs with waterfalls was spectacular.
The Mauna Kea is spectacular and the beach is perfect and peaceful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

Wonderful hotel in an idyllic setting

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Setting and beach are awesome.
Cons: Microwaves in rooms please
Location: Great location for beach activities and reasonable distance to other Big Island attractions
Unique, peaceful, historical hotel located on an iconic, crescent beach. Very comfortable and clean rooms; friendly staff and good service. Wonderful hotel amenities and good restaurants,albeit pricey.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Mauna Kea Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Aloha and mahalo for choosing to stay with us at Mauna Kea Beach Hotel. We are happy to see you enjoyed your visit and appreciate all of your feedback. We hope you'll visit again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Mauna Kea

Posted Nov 3, 2017
I heard about how great this hotel is and how beautiful beach is. I finally booked this hotel and I really love it. I can just stay in this hotel for my entire stay and no need to go anywhere sightseeing or shopping. I can't wait to go back
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Mauna Kea Beach Hotel Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Aloha! Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your positive feedback. We're happy to know you enjoyed your visit and we welcome you to return again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A fabulous destination

Posted Nov 3, 2017
This hotel exudes charm wherever you look. One of the world’s best beaches located with some of the most dependable weather.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 16, 2017 by Mauna Kea Beach Hotel Guest Relations Team, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your positive comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Beautiful and Relaxing! Snorkeling was amazing right in front of the hotel.
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

One of a kind

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous location and history. Memorable get away for a couple.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful sandy beach, Great staff!

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Very restful, wish it was closer to other restaurants
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malibu, CA

Paradise

Posted Sep 7, 2017
From the moment we arrived to the moment we departed everything was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Mauna Kea

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Hotel truly exceeded my expectations. The room was perfect. The only thing I would have liked that it didn't have was a mini fridge. The beach was spectacular, agreed with the reviews I read before the trip that it is the best beach on the big island.