Ratings based on 227 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

The best hotel on the island

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Everything. We have stayed at many nearby hotels, and this is the best hotel on the island.
Location: Hiking, restaurants, observatory, volcano, plantations, scuba diving, snorkeling. Everything.
This hotel is the most authentic, beautiful and well kept hotel on Mauna Kea. It is currently being managed by Kansas Henderson, and his reputation and performance is outstanding. He is a stickler for details and high customer service orientation, and it is reflected in his staff and his hotel. The views, the food, the amenities. The best beach on the island. We loved this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice, but tired.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This is, or more accurately, was a Hawaiian landmark property. While the rooms have been (modestly) renovated, the common areas are sorely overdue for updating. The pool is small, the beach, truly grand, the restaurants uneven. Given the prices, you have a right to expect more. Be prepared for $50 entrees in the restaurant Manta, and $10 coffee in the lobby coffee shop.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n

On beach. Could be dramatic. But tired

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pleasant but not a 5 star resort. The extra few dollars to stay at the 4 seasons would have been worth it. It's strangely quiet and a bit like a mausoleum. Restaurant is great and simple. Beautiful beach. Staff are very pleasant but seem a little disconnected. Like they have seen way too many tourists and are tired of them. But definitely pleasant. It's a strange thing. The bones of an amazing resort are there but it comes across as a tired Marriot. Which is what it is. I would simply suggest you shop your hotels and choose more upscale names if the prices are similar. Otherwise. It's fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Can't be beat!

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Everything! Great beach, amazing rooms, good food, excellent service.
Cons: More In-room information about services would help. There's a Bose system but no info on use. No obvious way to find the daily TV guide on the TV.
Location: Koala has the best best beaches in all The islands, and we've been to them all. Golf course looks amazing but we didn't play.
It's the nicest place we've stayed in the island. Once you're there you don't want to leave, other than to walk on the beach, maybe over to Hapuna. The hotel staff go above and beyond, and don't have their palms out - they naturally help when they can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Beach & Rooms

Posted May 7, 2017
Everything is first class at the Mauna Kea Beach Hotel..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Great beach, but not the Carribean of course. Probably best of all Hawaii. Food sucks. Worth staying for the beach. It's a nice place. Did not play golf so I don't know about the course.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful but more of a family health club resort

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Beautiful, but more of a family health club resort. We were staying for our honeymoon after a destination wedding on Oahu. We were disappointed to have broken air conditioning for 2 days, with out any accommodations or apologies from the staff. I booked nearly a year before our stay and informed the staff it was our honeymoon. Staff assured me the experience would be specialized and all servers would know why we were there, so we could be seated in more private sections, but no of this happened. Overall very expensive for average service and below standard accommodations. The beach was beautiful, but then again what part of Hawaii isn't. We will not be staying at this resort again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brentwood, Tn.

A lovely hotel with gorgeous beach .Great service.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: good restaurants and bars with great location and gorgeous beach
Location: well located on Kohala coast..
excellent experience with very good food in the restaurants. There is a beautiful beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Honeymoon Paradise

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Best Beach & Best Luau show on the island!!! Very friendly and helpful manager & staff, Beautiful hotel, Wonderful service. A paradise in paradise !!
Cons: Would have loved to see some affordable gifts at the shops, extended beach/pool and bar/food hours, and some romantic couples activities!
Location: Perfect secluded location on the Kona side of the island, not too far from Kona airport, Kona town, and Waimea valley. Best beach on the island !!!
I am out of words to describe how fabulous and perfect Mauna Kea Beach Hotel is! My husband and I stayed here for a week for our honeymoon in January(perfect weather). The very welcoming lei greeting by the staff, beautiful koi ponds, mesmerizing ocean views from our room & bath, gorgeous landscapes, Oceanside pool, gym & tennis courts, unique and traditional artwork & décor, pristine private beach, mouth-watering food, amazing cocktails, manta ray lookout, beautiful flora, and even parrots - this hotel is the "perfect" Hawaiian experience. Very relaxing, secluded, and peaceful resort - ideal for honeymooners! As far as surprises: we not only got a bottle of champagne waiting for us when we checked into our room and free desserts at the Manta and Copper bar, but also one day late checkout at no cost and an invitation to a wine reception. A huge thank you to the manager, Kansas, who was very friendly, kind, accommodating, and made us feel so special. Each restaurant has breathtaking views and a different vibe and chefs; hence making each experience unique. Amy (concierge) was awesome. She made sure we got tables with the best views at the restaurants! Fun fact - This was the first hotel on this island. I can't emphasize enough how glad we are that we did not choose any over-crowded "big name" hotels and found this hidden gem. Absolutely cannot wait to go back for some Mauna Kea MAGIC again!!! I definitely recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Ontario, Canada

Nice hotel, close very nice white sand beach

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: view, food, service
Cons: one old female staff in Manta restaurant is not nice, lie to us and reluctant to provide service. Others are very nice.
Location: near airport, hoping centre, big island shave ice
We stayed there for 5 nights, very beautiful view. It's very nice have b'fast there.