Ratings based on 1,431 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

interesting grounds

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: location, grounds
Cons: a little more attentive service would have been nice at the Beach Bar.
Very nice resort. Good location and the grounds (fish ponds) were unique and very interesting. Saw lots of fish. Nice pool & beach area. Also great beach for snorkeling just a short distance down the beach past the fish ponds. Locals said it's called "Homeowner's Beach" lots of fish
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from las vegas

Overall good experience

Posted Nov 19, 2017
We stayed for a week November 10-19th 2017. The hotel was very beautiful and the beaches were great. My only complaint is that the food wasn't great and extremely expensive. Room service was a joke. I paid 23$ for vanilla ice cream. They didn't disclose all the hidden fees that went along with room service but they highly recommend it to guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Nice Hotel but very quiet at night.

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Location, beach, beach bar, rooms, fitness center, spa.
Cons: Extended hours for restaurants/bars.
Location: I suggest you rent a car. There is a lot to do outside the hotel which require driving. Helicopter ride (just around the corner) is a must.
The hotel is very nice for the price. Rooms were comfortable and roomy. Great beach and snorkeling. Nice basic pool, nothing too fancy. It would have been nice to have a few more dining option on site. Also, the restaurants and bars close very early. There was no option for friends to gather after dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, nice pool

Posted Nov 11, 2017
I had no issues w/ the hotel. The pictures of the beaches (at least on Google maps) is deceiving. These are not nice beaches. They are not nice white sandy beaches. They are VERY rocky.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

Wonderful resort

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: The oceanfront room was glorious
Cons: Nothing
Location: We did nothing but enjoy the grounds, our room, the beach and the gym. Never left the property
This was an amazing place, the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was spectacular! The property was gorgeous. We saw birds, mongoose, the beautiful turtles. We can’t wait to go back next year. No complaints whatsoever
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Had an enjoyable time and appreciated the staff here. Made us feel welcomed the entire stay! The island was good the hotel was great and would recommend this hotel to future visitors!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Aptos, CA

Very nice

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Pros: Oceanfront rooms had beautiful views
Cons: Sandier beach
Beautiful hotel on a somewhat secluded beach. Staff were extremely attentive. Pool was nice with lots of shade; beach had chairs with shade that were complimentary. There were not any extra charges (parking, wifi, beach chairs) which was a nice difference. Sandy beaches in area are a bit rocky, so water shoes are helpful. Lots of places to walk around: ancient fish ponds, paths to petroglyphs and beach paths.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Favorite Hawaii hotel

Posted Oct 26, 2017
My wife and I took our honeymoon 2 years ago in Kauai and Maui but our most recent trip to the Mauna Lani resort on the Big Island was our favorite hotel out of all of them. The beach is fantastic and has bungalows which is helpful for those of us that get burnt easily :-) It was also great to be able to go snorkeling and see green turtles no further than 50 feet off the shore. This resort is also just a short 10 minute walk from a shopping area with coffee shops if you want to get some fresh air and early morning exercise. There are several restaurants in that area which was great if we wanted to get off the reservation and see more of the area. Overall, I'd highly recommend this hotel and if we're ever back on the Big Island, we'll come here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

Nice Place

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: The staff was amazing! Friendly as can be!
Cons: In the rooms, the sliding shutters to the balcony doors allows too much light to enter in the morning. When the sun rises, the room lights up!
First time in Hawaii. Mauna Lani Bay was our choice after reviewing several hotels in the area. It was VERY QUIET at the resort! The first week the occupancy level was lower than the 2nd week. However, even when they were at 100% capacity the 2nd week, the resort did not seem "overcrowded" whatsoever. The resort is older, but still very nice. We were told that renovations to the resort will start October 2018 under new management. The staff was AMAZING! We have been to many countries and many states and I must say that the staff at this resort were the nicest that we have ever witnesses. Everyone went out of their way to make the stay enjoyable. The food is a little "pricey" for the quality. There are not a lot of eating options on the premises. However, on the resort grounds there is a real nice shopping mall that offers more restaurants. The entire Mauna Lani resort is truly beautiful. The staff keeps the place in great shape. The beach was spectacular! They offer numerous cabana style chairs for the beach. Even at 100% occupancy, there was never a problem finding one somewhere. The pools are really nice as well. The staff at the bar is amazing! It is VERY EASY to become friends with them due to their charming personality and their friendliness. They are more than happy to tell you about the island and places that they suggest you visit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Nice experience. However, Pillows on bed very uncomfortable . Sofa needs replacing( cushions well worn). Staff very helpful and courteous. Thanks