Ratings based on 1,396 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Nice experience. However, Pillows on bed very uncomfortable . Sofa needs replacing( cushions well worn). Staff very helpful and courteous. Thanks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Friendly and relaxing

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Very warm and friendly staff, comfortable grounds.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from atlanta

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Excellent resort, staff was awesome. Close to shopping and the airport. This was our first time to Hawaii and we loved every minute of it. Rooms are clean and roomy. Quiet for the most part. Gave us leis on check in- which we loved ! Also let us stay late the day we checked out and use a hospitality room to shower and change before our flight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great luxurious, spacious, quiet hotel by beach

Posted Oct 9, 2017
My husband and I stayed here for 7 nights. It was our first time visiting Hawaii. At check-in, we were greeted by hotel staff and given leis and a cold towel. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. We wanted a room with a view, but got one on the first floor and were told that's what we were booked. No upgrading. We enjoyed the beach right at the hotel. The resort fees covered a cabana, towels, and snorkel gear. We both appreciated that there was wifi both inside the hotel and outside while on the beach. We would definitely come back to stay at the Mauna Lani when we come back to the big island.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Gatos, Ca

Nice luxury hotel. Beautiful views of the ocean.

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Sunset at the Canoe House restaurant was lovely, the food was great and so was our server.
Cons: At the price of the hotel, a free coffee bar in the morning would be very nice.
Location: Location is great and the North Shore has plenty of things to do.
I really appreciated the efforts taken to preserve the old Hawaiian fish ponds. They make an effort to fit in with the natural surroundings. Our room was very nice and the staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice but expensive and isolated

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: great staff, nice atmosphere, beautiful suroundings
Cons: room wasn't very functional- no plugs near bed for CPAP machine. no ice nearby. pool hours were short, couldn't find towels after 6 pm.
Location: a bit isolated. 30" to airport, LOTS of traffic/congestion getting back into Kona. always backed up. a few stores nearby. GREAT snorkel at nearby beac
Very nice and upscale hotel; ZFood too expensive and not worth it, at least at the bay terrace- $60 per adult for sunday dinner buffett, just average food. Cant swim at the beach in front, have to take shuttle. couldn't find ice, had to ask staff. Feel like u have to tip for every little thing. Staf WAS wonderful, very nice, helpful. Just be prepared to pay $$$ and drive to get anywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Oasis pops out of lava fields

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Great place, comfortable, good for activities: trails, beach and golf. Nice to hang out at pool and close-by shops and restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 16, 2017
A little dated. The bathtub didn't work properly. Some things felt a little worn. But overall, great staff and nice hotel with good beach access
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous Hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Location and Aloha Spirit. Staff is wonderful, it's like returning home with each visit.
I have enjoyed this property since it's opening in the early 1980's. I have never been disappointed and this stay was no different. The staff is very friendly and attentive, the location is superb; perfect for early morning walks around the ancient fishponds and the beach. The Canoe House is ideal for those romantic dinners. Will continue to return to Mauna Lani Bay for years to come.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fl

Nice all perfect

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Awesome all perfect mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmhdhdjjsjsjsjdjajhjjsjdjhdjdjdjdjfjfjfjfj