Ratings based on 1,348 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Tan Valley, AZ

Hawaiian Paradise

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Return visit. The hotel continues to exceed my expectations in all areas. The staff are friendly and helpful, the room was well appointed and the grounds were immaculate. I'm already looking forward to my next stay. If you are looking for a quiet and enjoyable stay, this is it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Isolated resort but no need to ever leave!

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Great hotel in the big island. Certainly paradise. Having personal cabana every day is amazing and price included in the resort fee. Just make sure to get out there before 10:30 as they all seemed to be taken between 11-2pm. After that they start to free-up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sacramento, California

Super clean hotel ON the beach.

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Pros: The view and the facility grounds are amazing. Also, it appeared to be a much more mature clientele. There were no kids running around and being loud.
Location: There are tons of things to do on the Big Island. Snorkeling, scuba diving, lava viewing, zip-lining, etc.
My wife and I had an amazing experience. This hotel excelled in three areas; customer service, cleanliness, and it was literally 20 yards from the beach. The staff is so friendly and professional that they went out of their way to ensure a wonderful stay. It is my second time in Hawaii, and I had to force myself to leave the resort. It was that good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for families with kids

Posted Aug 9, 2017
This resort is one of the best on the Big Island . It has a nice sand beach. Most resorts on the island do not have a beach . Hilton is too crowded and city like. If the idea is to get away and relax , Mauna lani is the place to go. Will definitely come again . The kids were happy and so were we. The spa is also really good. Tad expensive , but that's what you expect in Hawaii.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from moultrie GA

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Great stuff, best location closet to shopping center, great service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Highland, CA

Great relaxing place out of town

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Fabulous place to stay. Very relaxing. Room was very comfortable and within easy walk to pool and beach. Friendly staff who provided great service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new Jerset

Great staff, great location!

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Great hospitality, superb location and great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stunning

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Stunning property just north of Kona. Great fitness facility, beach and pool and fantastic staff. Get a room with an ocean view.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Good Hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: The hotel was beautiful and in its area left little reason to venture anywhere else.
Cons: The food can improve greatly.
Location: The resort has a pool, is on the beach, has snorkels and kayaks for rent available. There are shops down the road but every else is 1hr drive at min.
Mauna Lani has everything you need and overall was beautiful and clean. The staff was helpful and nice. The food service to the pool and beach was just fine nothing impressive and due to cost of the food you would be better off bringing snacks and drinks down yourself as there is a grocery store down the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bay Area

Magical Mauna Lani

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: There is a very special vibe at the Mauna Lani. We loved the gardens and ponds with all the tropical fish, and even hammerhead sharks!
Location: Located on the Kohala coast, just 20 minutes drive from Kona Airport. Shops, golf and historic park easily accessible from the hotel.
Our family spent 8 nights at the Mauna Lani, and enjoyed a wonderful stay. Our garden view room was spacious and comfortable. Breakfast was included in our rate, and the selection of foods on offer was varied and delicious. We enjoyed paddle boarding, snorkeling, and relaxing by the beach on the cabanas, whilst checking out the green sea turtles. The hotel also offers a chance to explore Hawaiian culture - we tried lei making and a ukulele lesson. We spent the final evening of our trip at the Canoe House restaurant, enjoying a fabulous dinner whilst watching the sun go down. Can't wait to go back!