Ratings based on 2,429 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated hotel, hotel staffs need better training

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The hotel guarantee check in time is 3pm, but our room was not available at 3pm, so we checked with the front desk after 3pm, and the comment from the front desk staff was "we are only 17 minutes late". We booked an ocean view room but quickly learned that this means you either have a very dark room that mainly has a view of the pool with a little bit of the ocean or a room where you can see the ocean and the wall of the building which blocks more than half of the view. We felt this was false advertising. So we expressed our disappointment about the room to the front staff, after communicating with them for almost two hours, they agreed to give us free upgrade to ocean front room which gave us a real ocean view. A few nights later, the smoke detector in the room malfunctioned. The maintenance staff couldn't fix it after an hour. He wanted us to change rooms in the middle of the night which we refused. So they agreed to come back the next day to fix the smoke detector. We asked them to clean our room after the work was done. The smoke dotector was fixed the next day, but they didn't clean up the room. The beds were all dusty. So we had to call the front desk again to have them clean up our room, it was like 10pm already. They did give us some free breakfast vouchers for the inconvenience. If you want a problem/worry free vacation, I don't think this is a good hotel to stay. We have stayed in other hotels with much better service, at a much lower price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from India

Budget hotel and value for money

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Location: lava lava beach club, kona coffee farms, seahorse farm
there are two shopping centers very close to the hotel. airport is a 30 minute drive and car rental is a must in the big island, hawaii.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Nice Hotel. Would be perfect with minor mods.

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Hotel was great and beach front so it's not far to the beach, although preferred the pool. If looking for nicer public beaches they are just a short drive away. The only things we found were lacking or annoying were minor fixable facility issues like 1) no coin laundry which would be useful for longer stays 2) no toothbrush and slippers provided in the room automatically unless you order it. 3) you need to ask for a special key for the gym and they do not tell you that until you go to the gym to find out you can't get in! Otherwise, definitely a hotel worth staying again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

Perfect first night in Hawaii.

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The hotel is a perfect mix of beach, infinity pool and nice restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice & pleasing hotel, friendly staff

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Nice hotel & staff. Though wish there was a laundry room since we did alot of swimming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Kailua HI

very relaxing

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Low key and relaxing. Not huge crowds of people.
Cons: New door locks that you just tap with your card are temperamental and often had to be tapped several times before unlocking.
Location: We love the Lava Lava Beach Club restaurant very close as well as large shopping areas reahable by shuttle from the hotel.
Grandma and Grandpa took their daughter, husband and 8 year-old granddaughter for 2 nights. I requested adjoining rooms which made it very convenient for us. Having all the pools in one area allowed us to relax under an umbrella and enjoy a mai tai and still be able to keep an eye on our grand daughter who is an excellent swimmer. The weekend was enjoyable and relaxing for all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Beautiful sunsets!!!!!!!

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: convenient to shops and other parts of the island
Cons: I think that the prices for food is a little outrageous, so we never ate their. Make prices more reasonable and you will have more people spend mone
Location: Kings Shops and Queens Market near by. Great to go and buy food as well as restaurants.
Marriott was very nice. Room was spacious. My only comment is that the bathroom needs better lighting around the sink/mirror. The staff was nice. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful hotel next to the beach

Posted Sep 19, 2017
My husband & I had an amazing experience at this hotel for our honeymoon. Staff was super nice, food was great, & the hotel is walking distance to the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: pool(s), room decor
Cons: price of buffet breakfast too high
Excellent pool and beach, breakfast too expensive for what you get Room decor very nice very clean close to shops
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2017
We initially were given a room on the sixth floor that sounded like an airplane was taking off in the bathroom. Apparently they have a problem with the air conditioning equipment on the roof. Once we were moved to the fifth floor, there was much less noise and we had a pleasant stay.