Ratings based on 1,221 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Nice Location, close to Oriental Village

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Nice Location, close to Oriental Village Very clean and well maintained
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Amazing view but lacks the 5 star experience

Posted Sep 20, 2017
The hotel is in an amazing location and the setup of villas on both the rainforest and the water-floats was great! Unfortunately, post check-in the experience deteriorated first by a buggy that took 25 minutes to arrive to the premium suite over water that we have booked (one of the most expensive). The transport between the reception and suite is done via automated buggies. During our last night the electrcity cut off and it took one hour for the hotel to fix it. They stated that they sent someone within the first few minutes it cutoff but upon looking outside no one was there. On the positive side the view was great, the comfort was top notch, the breakfast was delicious and the beach was exquisite. The only real customer touch that we had was a small honeymoon cake sent by the general manager. We hope that the prestige of this hotel is met by an equal measure of customer interaction and friendliness by the staff. Nonetheless, a great experience with its ups and downs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dubai

Second time visit

Posted Sep 20, 2017
I've visited Berjaya Langkawi during 2012 in my honeymoon and this is my second time, they offered me a free upgrade when they know the occasion from rain forest to premium chalet on ground, Nico in the reception team was a trainee but he was doing great alone with his superiors, they offered me also three free dinners in any of the hotel restaurants, Thai restaurant is one of the best places I've been to,the food and service was super, and room service was always fast to my requests even in heavy rain conditions, I only suggest to the management to do some major renovations for the rooms and the bathrooms as well without increasing the price, but overall if you wish to experience new hotel visit in the nature, then Berjaya Langkawi is one of the best unique places in Langkawi with a very reasonable price,really will miss this place, Visited in Sep 2017 with my wife and one infant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

Excellent place for honeymoon

Posted Sep 16, 2017
They upgraded me to the executive suite and gave me the honeymoon package free of charge. Their service was amazing and the place is beautiful!! Only negative is the poor wifi, i did not get a stable internet connection at my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Peaceful, restful, luxurious.

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Stayed in a "Premier Suite on the Water". The room was immaculate and the view was priceless. Very private, we rarely noticed our neighbors. Loved sleeping in, in a room that could be almost 100% blacked out in daylight. Forget the shuttles, it was a lovely 10 minute stroll between our chalet and the main building. The water got a little noisy at night sometimes , but that's what Mother Nature does. Was able to organize activities including Sky Bridge, zip line and jet ski tours. Best resort I've ever stayed at; I miss it!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Resort with some reservations

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Natural environment Excellent food. Nice furniture. Note that family chalet can host 5 people.
Cons: Wifi is very slow (on top of slow cellular network). room attendants has to supply needed supplies.
Location: oriental village and skycap.
This 5star resort does not have money change or ATM. Worse, the reception told us to drive 30minutes away to get one and does not know that there are 2 money changers in the oriental village next door. It has water sports on the beach including jet sky and others. However, we noticed that guards are absent or poorly equipped to deal with emergency. The lobby has excellent restaurants with friendly staff and good food. The rooms were not supplied with toiletry like tissues or bath room supplies within the stay. It did not improve after contacting the guest services. Excellent shuttle services 24/7.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Christchurch, NZ

Great spot

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: clean, peaceful and friendly
Cons: maybe electric carts to ferry people, bit quieter than the Toyota vans. Would be nice if kayaks etc were free for guests to use.
Location: If you want peace and quiet, don't go near Cenang beach. The cable car was pretty impressive, Swim at the bottom of waterfall by pebble beach
Brilliant location, nice clean peaceful beach. Food in the restaurants was outstanding. stayed for 4 nights and could have done with another one or two quiet easily. The beach bar is a great spot and nothing is a problem for the hotel staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Old crown In need of a face lift

Posted Aug 20, 2017
I'm sure it was a good choice at some point back in the early 90's... not so much today, I'm not sure if I'm spoilt with great places but I won't be returning. The water was dirty at the beach, looks like the waste from the chalets goes straight into the ocean. I had a hole in my ceiling that leaked, the bed was broken and the window. Shuttle to get to anywhere was a pain! Dirty seats and sharing a bus with 15 people, restaurant was packed for breakfast and I was constantly reminded I needed to pay cash, why they didn't take incidentals from my card I don't know! Very frustrating. Wasn't able to book a table at the restaurant as it was booked out. The food was awful from room service, grizzly chicken, bland pizzas. Only positive was the TV channels!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Interesting rain forest experience

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: a unique experience. very different from normal resorts
Cons: We were in the rain forest, so bugs were expected, however, when we pulled the curtains there were like 20 spiders running out which shocked us.
Location: very close to the oriental village and the cable car station.
We spent 2 nights at the rain forest chalet. we had the little chalet to ourselves which was a fun and unique experience to us. We had a nice dinner at their Thai restaurant and saw the magical sunset. The food was good. We also enjoyed the spa facilities which we would highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Lovely secluded location with lots of wildlife

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Pros: Location, staff and cleanliness.
Cons: Nothing really.
Location: Nearby is the Langkawi cable car, horse riding and Umgawa zip line. Cenang beach a 20 min cab ride away.
Hotel has a great location - secluded in the forest but not too far away from other main attraction points on the island (e.g., 35 ringgit taxi ride to Cenang Beach, Umgawa zip line 5 mins away, cable car within walking distance). Wonderful variety of wildlife from different types of monkeys, hornbills and we even saw a flying lemur just after dark one evening! We got a room close to the lobby which was great and we walked all the time without needing to catch the shuttle, though the shuttle ride is fun. Staff were always lovely, friendly and eager to fulfil requests. Hotel is a bit dated but rooms are clean and neat. Would definitely stay there again and recommend to others.