Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by Kalyan k

Uncomfortable hotel better to avoid.

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
We had a very uncomfortable stay for 5 nights in this hotel. The location and view from room was the only positive point, rest everything was bad. The room was smallest I have seen any this type of hotels, the bed was ridiculously small,could hardly accommodate two adult persons. The bathroom was also very small with defective plumbing. The lift lobbies and the lifts stink. The gangway bridge was shaky and difficult to walk.wifi was not free and exhorbitingly costly. Breakfast spread was average but the service in the restaurant is below standard. Food prices are very high. I would not advise anyone to stay in this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2017
Dear Guest, Warm Greetings from Floatel, Kolkata !!! At the onset, we would like to thank you for giving your time to review us. It was a pleasure for us to have your stay at Floatel, Kolkata. Since it is ‘theme’ & floating on river Hoogly the room, wash room & bed size (Queen Bed) are little small compared to any land based hotel in the city. However, you can try our SUITE ROOM on your next stay. As per as the wifi speed is concern, we would like to intimate that we have a speed of 4mbps. Although we will definitely review your feedback & will try to provide more speed. The team and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Floatel, Kolkata, in the not too distant future. Warm Regards Sourav Roy Manager Front Office
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bangladesh

Great Night-life attraction in Kolkata

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Location, Its floating in the river so river-view! Away from the crowed! And well behaved staff!
Cons: its up to the mark already!
We reached the place close to midnight, though its a bit far from airport- you see the place, you will love it! Its just as good you can dream a place for a nice, comfy and soothing environment for your self or family!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Property Badly Maintained

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has a lovely location. It floats on the river Ganges. The view from the room is excellent. But the property is not well maintained. The room was very small and it was full of old wooden furniture which had outlived their utility. Rooms are not cleaned properly. The room service is poor and most of the staff members have a laid back attitude. The bathroom was stinky and the tiles were full of stains. The restaurant serving the breakfast has a good ambiance. But the breakfast spread is not plenty. The croissants and other bakery items are served cold. We noticed inefficiency everywhere. The staff at the reception had no knowledge of our booking made wth hotels.com long back. On producing the print out of the hotels.com voucher they were kind enough to provide us a room.
3 out of 5
by Jagdies from Nottingham

Jagdies Janki

Posted Aug 18, 2016 on Hotels
The kitchen staff was really good Toilet was not good condition also room cleanliness could do with more work and cleanliness The people at the hotel are really good that is what makes it work
1 out of 5
by G from Coventry

Needs a big lick of paint

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
1 star hotel charging 5 star prices, needs a lot of modernisation furniture still from the 50's and looked vey worn, carpets smelt like they have never been changed, staff were friendly and polite making the best of trying to keep the hotel clean and presentable, felt very sorry for them as even their uniform was unclean. Ridiculous charges at bar and restaurant bottle of kingfisher was over 400 Rupees over 4 times the price to other places which had far better décor, Floatel hotel living on past glories. only good thing I can write is breakfast was okay with varied foods.
3 out of 5
by Christopher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Good concept of a floating hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: The concept, and just that.
Cons: A lot. Staff can be better equipped to help guests in need.
Location: Located too far away from the airport. No cab service with the hotel. To reach airport in times of emergency is a task
I had booked the Ganges facing room but the view is best avoidable with filth flowing in the river. Only the view of Howrah bridge is worth looking at, that too in night. I took ill on my way to the hotel and after 3 reminders, utter confusion and 90 minutes later I get one tablet of the medicine that I had requested. I had booked an emergency flight to rush back home due to my bad heath but the hotel could manage any cab for almost an hour in spite of their assurances earlier and they did not have a cab service of their own. I had to ultimately cancel my flight and lose money on the same. The room had a distinct stink. Food was passable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Hotel was shut down.

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Terrible experience. Expedia gave me a confirmed booking for a hotel which is shut down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shanghai, China

Change of pace

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: I liked looking out the window and watching the river traffic and just the water flow by. The decor was a nice change of pace.
Cons: Place is too loud. Dining room furniture being moved around above my 3rd floor room until 1 a.m. Noise from repairs/maintenance and from other rooms.
Location: The location is surprisingly excellent. It is within walking distance of almost everything worth seeing in Kolkata.
Oh, I don't know. Overall, it was OK. The food prices in the restaurant are HIGH by India standards, especially by Kolkata standards. The dining room is overstaffed and thus is somewhat disorganized. Overall, I think the hotel has tried to figure out every way to get as much money as possible out of all guests. However, they did not charge me to use the phone in the lobby; guests cannot dial outside the hotel from their rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noisy

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels
very helpful staff, needing refurbished, but it was the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. With about 25 rooms and about 10 function suites, noise was almost continual. If you want a good nights sleep go elsewhere.