Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by G from Coventry

Needs a big lick of paint

Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
1 star hotel charging 5 star prices, needs a lot of modernisation furniture still from the 50's and looked vey worn, carpets smelt like they have never been changed, staff were friendly and polite making the best of trying to keep the hotel clean and presentable, felt very sorry for them as even their uniform was unclean. Ridiculous charges at bar and restaurant bottle of kingfisher was over 400 Rupees over 4 times the price to other places which had far better décor, Floatel hotel living on past glories. only good thing I can write is breakfast was okay with varied foods.
3 out of 5
by Christopher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 3, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by alain from Paris

Deçu

Posted Dec 28, 2015 on Hotels
Chambre sale et air conditionné trop fort. On ne peut pas le regler et meme en appelant la reception, rien n'a changé. Dommage car le cadre peut etre sympa.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mumbai

Good concept of a floating hotel

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: The concept, and just that.
Cons: A lot. Staff can be better equipped to help guests in need.
Location: Located too far away from the airport. No cab service with the hotel. To reach airport in times of emergency is a task
I had booked the Ganges facing room but the view is best avoidable with filth flowing in the river. Only the view of Howrah bridge is worth looking at, that too in night. I took ill on my way to the hotel and after 3 reminders, utter confusion and 90 minutes later I get one tablet of the medicine that I had requested. I had booked an emergency flight to rush back home due to my bad heath but the hotel could manage any cab for almost an hour in spite of their assurances earlier and they did not have a cab service of their own. I had to ultimately cancel my flight and lose money on the same. The room had a distinct stink. Food was passable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Hotel was shut down.

Posted Apr 2, 2015
Terrible experience. Expedia gave me a confirmed booking for a hotel which is shut down.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Shanghai, China

Change of pace

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: I liked looking out the window and watching the river traffic and just the water flow by. The decor was a nice change of pace.
Cons: Place is too loud. Dining room furniture being moved around above my 3rd floor room until 1 a.m. Noise from repairs/maintenance and from other rooms.
Location: The location is surprisingly excellent. It is within walking distance of almost everything worth seeing in Kolkata.
Oh, I don't know. Overall, it was OK. The food prices in the restaurant are HIGH by India standards, especially by Kolkata standards. The dining room is overstaffed and thus is somewhat disorganized. Overall, I think the hotel has tried to figure out every way to get as much money as possible out of all guests. However, they did not charge me to use the phone in the lobby; guests cannot dial outside the hotel from their rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

noisy

Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels
very helpful staff, needing refurbished, but it was the noisiest hotel I have ever stayed in. With about 25 rooms and about 10 function suites, noise was almost continual. If you want a good nights sleep go elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by nanty

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Subrata Kumar

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

alt und verbraucht

Posted Oct 28, 2014
das einzige gute was man über das Floatel sagen kann ist wohl das es auf dem Ganges schwimmt und das Personal sehr nett ist, das war es dann aber auch schon. Das Hotel selbst ist vollkommen abgelebt und hat eine Renovierung dringend nötig. Darüber hinaus ist das WLan (500Rs am Tag) und Bier unverschämt teuer, die Handtücher fallen schon auseinander, die Laken haben Flecken, warmes Wasser gibt es nur für 2 min, etc. Ich habe schon sehr oft in Indischen Hotels übernachtet, dieses ist im Bezug auf Preis Leistung eines der aller schlechtesten.