Ratings based on 125 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convinient location

Posted Apr 4, 2017
The carpet is old and dirty..but rest everything looked good..comfortable bed and ac..staff are nice and check in was really fast..
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average stay

Posted Mar 18, 2017 on Hotels
Average stay, great location, old hotel needs renovation. For its class and rate comfort and cleaniness needs improvement . Service is good, breakfast spread average.
3 out of 5
by Zakir

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Cons: Train your staff who needs to know customer service I booked twin bedded room but I simply told not available
Not a good experience Had to wait a long time to check in as the staff were not trained to handle it took 20 minutes to to find a card mechine which actually works At the end some one had to go some other part of the hotel to get one. Even I was in a hurry to go to a wedding but I been asked to wait booked twinned bed but been told not available No toletaries in the bathroom except liquid shop Shower tray gets filled up with dirty water when taking shower Other customers were already complaining to see the manager when we were checking in Been told hotel policy is only one key should be issued though two people were staying Though checking out was done smoothly with out any problem
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good Hotel very noisy at night if in the new part

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Please tell, clean, good breakfast but service was somewhat missing at times.
Cons: Better attention paid to visiting non Indian residents at breakfast
Location: All the main attractions are within an easy walking distance.
An interesting city, very overcrowded. Walking is a dangerous occupation as every pavement is filled with street vendors and you have to muscle your way about. Traffic is non stop, very noisy. Streets extremely filthy and people had have the constant habit of spitting everywhere and urinating wherever and on occasion deficating in the street. It is a cultural shock returning after 60 years.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location if u want to move in City

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Old school charm
Good Staff, Liked my stay, It was a short stay, Slept in the bed for few hours freshened up and got away
4 out of 5
by Bholanath

5 Star Location

Posted Jan 11, 2017 on Hotels
Conveniently located at the heart of the shopping district, connected to subway, paces from all attractions with lavish spread of breakfast including traditional Indian dishes. Has the best Bengali restaurant "Aheli", in the city.
1 out of 5
by Sanjay

I will avoid this hotel at all cost

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed for one night and booked a suite. - First I was allocated a suite room (#717) which has a bad smell, the carpet coming off it seams, stains everywhere and the floor in general smelled bad. I refused to take it. I knew they had a new building come up next to the old building. I asked for a room in the new tower. - A new room was allocated (#1801) where I was given a double room. So now I had a choice between a worn down smelly suite or a double. Given the alternatives I choose the double. - The new room was cleaner but the shower was a big puddle of water. The water was leaking into the main bathroom. - For security reason, the elevator had to be operated by room card in the new tower. However they can only issue one room card. So either everyone gets in/ gets out at the same time or you go to the elevator, call service desk, who routes it to the room and then someone comes physically to the elevator to push the button to bring it up. - We ate twice at the restaurant and sensed stale food. Our hunch was correct. Two of us fell sick on our way back in the aircraft because our journey was right after the stay. - The general staff (bellboy/ doormen) are openly asking for tips. When did tips become a right? This property has deteriorated considerably over the past 22 years. When I first went in 1993, this was a top notch property in Kolkata. I certainly have made my last visit to this property.
4 out of 5
by RAJIV

Convenient; extremely well located

Posted Dec 29, 2016 on Hotels
Check in Service - Excellent Restaurants - food and service - Excellent Housekeeping - a bit disappointing. Attitudes could improve
3 out of 5
by Jagdies

Jagdish j

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
The initial two were very. Bad service till I went to the manager it all changed They are little short of customer service One day not cleaned the room