Ratings based on 484 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Impressive Service

Posted Jul 1, 2015
This small boutique hotel is in the heart of Athens' most prestigious residential area. Surrounded by trendy shops and restaurants. Convenient access to public transportation and historic sites. Spectacular view of the city and Acropolis. The staff could not have been more accommodating. The service was excellent. The concierge's recommendations were spot on given our requests. Thank you for being our home away from home!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great 5 star rating. We are delighted to know that you liked our location and found the service to be of a high standard. We hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the near future, Warmest regards, The Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Efficient

Posted Jun 30, 2015
The only problem was having booked for 2 single rooms they were 3 floors appart.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your recommendation. Please allow me to assure you that every guest is valued at the St George Lycabettus Hotel, and we do give priority to placing single rooms together whenever possible. We are g;ad to know that you found our team efficient, and we hope to have the pleasure of looking after you again in the near future, Kindest regards, The Management Team
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent place to stay.

Posted Jun 19, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed for one night in Athens and needed somewhere to stay last minute. The St. George was a decent place to stay, though I would say the beds were not very comfortable - they had a rubber mattress pad under a very thin sheet and it bunched up under you as you sleep. Also, a strange thing - in our room, they had wall mounted shelves that protruded out of the wall along the main area that you walk, and both of us walked into them at least three times each. You turn around and wham! There they are. Not that it makes or breaks your stay, just a strange place to put shelves.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2015 by SGL Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Please may we assure you that your observations have been actioned by our team and we thank you for bringing them to our attention. We take your comfort very seriously, and to this end use the most hygienic of mattress protectors with our Coco-Mat fine bed linen. Our valued guests always come first, and it is our pleasure to be at your service during your stay. Kindest regards, The Management Team
4 out of 5
by Douglas

Posted Jun 18, 2015 on Hotels
very nice hotel and no complaints at all - but service felt a little bit like a "big" hotel. they should go for that boutique feel, rather than trying to copy the hilton
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2015 by SGL Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review. We are glad to know that you liked the hotel. Your observations have been duly noted, and we thank you for bringing them to our attention. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon, Kindest regards, The Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Malaysia

Nice hotel but quite a walk up the hill

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Enjoyed the amazing view from the rooftop bar overlooking Acropolis and view from the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and for recommending us. We are glad to know that you liked our wonderful view. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon, Kindest regards, The Management Team
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cincinnati

Most Horrible Stay I have had in 25 years

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Pros: If we could have been placed in a proper room other than the basement there were good views
Cons: There is absolutely no excuse to give us the worst room available because we booked on Expedia.
Location: Just made for the most miserable experience ever and would never ever recommend this hotel to any Americans booking via Expedia.
I have been traveling for more than 25 years and have used Expedia a great deal for personal travel. My wife and I decided to travel to Greece early June for my 55th birthday. Greece was fabulous and so were the people. Santorini and Mykanos was awesome. We booked our travels (hotels, local airlines and transfers) via Expedia. Upon check in at the St George Lycabettus the person at the front desk made a smart comment about not using a proper booking agent and booking with Expedia. Since we booked via Expedia our Deluxe King Suite with a View turned out to be in the basement next to the staff elevator. Upon entering this small room we noticed 3 single beds? Not at all what we are used to. After opening the curtains for the view of the Acropolis, we saw nothing but a wall and an air conditioning. Not what you would expect for almost $1000 USD for 2 nights. We tried to put our documents in the safe and it didn't work. So we tried to call the front desk and the phones were out. We went to bed early but couldn't sleep since all you could hear was the staff changing right next door and the constant noise of elevator. Early the following morning we asked the manager to please help with a better room and again she asked why we should get a room with a view since we booked on Expedia. She said she would try to move us. Later in the day we inquired and no one knew what we were talking about and the hotel was full. We left the bottle of wine thin the room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your valued feedback. Please allow me to assure you that we are at your service during your stay to ensure your comfort. Interior view rooms, as per your booking, offer great value and comfort for our guests. We offer a range of room types based on view plus extras - please see our website for details and rates. Each and every guest is valued at the St George Lycabettus Hotel, and our team is always only too pleased to address any issues which may arise during your stay. We hope this assures you of our commitment to providing a high standard of service at all times, Kindest regards, The Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Fabulous View and Great Staff

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: The staff, room and view.
Cons: Nothing that we found.
Location: Fun pedestrian area sidewalk cafes and shopping. Not far from other Athens activities.
The hotel sits atop a hill and has a breathtaking view of the Acropolis. The breakfast is outstanding and the evening restaurant is also very good. The staff were always very helpful and friendly. Because the hotel is on a hill, walking to other areas are a little more difficult, but for those who don't want to walk, taxis are easy to get and very reasonable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful 5 star rating, and your kind words. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon, Kindest regards, The Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland, UK

Nice location

Posted Jun 9, 2015
Pros: Very nice location to view Athens from the breakfast place
Location: Very nice location to view city at the breakfast place
Very nice location to view Athens from the breakfast place
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad to know that you liked our wonderful view. We hope to see you again very soon, Kindest regards, The Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

june 5-6

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: I've said it above
We arrived after midnight---front desk was not very friendly--we had notified them that we would be late---felt I was putting them out. Asked for a power converted--none avail.--if this is a 5 start hotel, it should have this avail. for it's guests
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you felt we deserved a 5 star rating for cleanliness & hotel condition. Please may we assure you that, as a valued guest, your feedback has been duly actioned, and we thank you for bringing it to our attention. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future, Kindest regards, The Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

An Oasis in Athens

Posted May 19, 2015
Great location & in walking distance to all sights. Amazing views of Athens. Friendly staff. Great little pool with enviable views.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 26, 2015 by Owner, Hotel Management
Dear Guests, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to know that you found our team friendly, and that you liked our pool and wonderful view. We do hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon, Kindest regards, The Management Team