Ratings based on 511 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Excellent staff, comfortable room and very close to Athens center.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2018 by Lycabettus, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay, and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future, Kindest regards, The Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Very comfortable hotel with amazing views. Great value breakfast and cocktails dururing happy hour. You can catch sunrise over the Acropolis during an 8.0@ am breakfast or sunset with half price cocktails between 5 and 7 pm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 30, 2017 by Lycabettus, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful 5 star rating. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay, and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future, Warmest regards, The Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: The view, the neighborhood, the breakfast
Cons: Facilties might be updated
Very good; I loved staying there. It was in Athens but slightly out of the way. Lovely area and view.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2017 by Lycabettus, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the wonderful 5 star rating. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay, and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future, Warmest regards, The Management Team
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Nice hotel in Lycabettus hill. Unfortunately, we were in a room with old facilities that clearly needs to be redone. But the view was amazing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 16, 2017 by Lycabettus, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our Hotel. . Please may we assure you that we employ a continuous refurbishment program which targets every area of the property as required. Our team of architects and advisors plan each renovation with our valued guest’s comfort in mind. Our Eco Rooms wing features light, airy design with a low carbon footprint, and we have just completed two floors of bedrooms offering comfort and relaxing surroundings with a contemporary feel. We do hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future, Kindest regards, The Management Team
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney , NSW Australia

A great inner Athens hotel!!

Posted Oct 10, 2017 on Hotels
I loved my 2 nights that I spent there. it's central in an amazing suburb of Kolonaki in Athens. concierge at the front are amazing people who make people feel very welcome. the shower in my room was amazing with 3 heads - very relaxing. would stay again but hopefully next time get a balcony room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2017 by SGL Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words and the super 5 star rating. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay, and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future, Warmest regards, The Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Close to greenery

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Pros: I liked the off the beaten path location and the tasteful décor of the rooms.
Cons: Heat should be provided when necessary. They should also have a restaurant or at least a small snack bar.
The location on the edge of Lycabettus offers good walking opportunities amongst the gardens on the hill. It is, however, a longer walk to the museums and tourist sites than would be the case for hotels closer to the center. The rooms are very attractive, particularly the mosaic tiled bathrooms. My only complaints were the lack of heat despite a cool temperatures in the 60s and the lack of a restaurant.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 9, 2017 by Lycabettus, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. Please may we highlight our central climate control system which heats in winter and cools in summer with in-room thermostats to fine tune the temperature. Our restaurant is open throughout the day for meals, drinks and snacks. We also have room service should you wish to enjoy delicious meals or drinks in the privacy of your room. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the near future, Kindest regards, The Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami fl

Nice hotel with a fantastic view

Posted Oct 1, 2017
If you are seeking a nice, clean, hospitable hotel with a magnificent view look no further than the St George
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Lycabettus, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay, and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future, Kindest regards, The Management Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

the view can't be beat

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Check in was efficient, and the staff was most pleasant and informative .. when we inquired about a nearby grocery .. she quickly marked two choices. The hotel is on a hill, overlooking the Acropolis .. a most pleasant view during breakfast. The offerings for breakfast were diverse and plentiful. The metro from the airport took about an hour .. smooth and non-eventful with signage both in Greek and English. The appropriate stop is Evangelismos and then there is the trek up the hill. Get a map at the airport right after you enter bag claim. The streets do twist and turn, so the map is helpful. Before leaving home, I corresponded with the hotel staff, who responded timely with choices .. cab, metro, express bus. The bed is quite comfortable with nice linens. And the balcony is a plus. We would teturn.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 1, 2017 by Lycabettus, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words and recommendation. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay, and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future, Kindest regards, The Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nicosia, Cyprus

A favorite haunt for more than 20 years....

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Location: On a steep grade of Lycabettus Hill, but I always find this a kind of bonus: you feel satisfaction on reaching your goal! Plenty of taxis too.
I have been staying here since the mid-1990s when I was a journalist based in Cyprus and often visited Athens. On this most recent stay I found the hotel just as good and possibly even better than in the past. I was able to check in early and received a room upgrade on the third floor with a balcony view of the Parthenon, as well as a complimentary bottle of wine. I had a very slight problem with a loose knob on the shower controls but this was quickly remedied by the staff. The sixth-floor dining room has fabulous Parthenon views and I lingered over a tasty breakfast on Monday. In short, I would just add that this boutique hotel is excellent value for money, and arriving there really does feel like coming home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2017 by Lycabettus, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words, the super 5 star rating and your greatly valued repeat custom. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your recent stay, and we hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again in the near future, Warmest regards, The Management Team
3 out of 5
by Rajeev

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel needs TLC and is not 5 star .The amenities looked tiredand the location whilst good for view is not ideal in terms of accessibility
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 17, 2017 by SGL Management Team, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. Please may we assure you that as a family owned and run hotel, we value every guest choosing to stay with us. Our team is at your service during you stay, and it is always our pleasure to address any issues which may arise to ensure your comfort. We employ a continuous refurbishment program which targets all areas of the hotel where required. We have just completed two floors of bedrooms to add to our new Eco Rooms wing, and largest suite. All areas of the hotel are thoroughly checked for hygiene and maintenance to ensure quality hospitality at all times. Our location in Kolonaki is one of the finest in the city combining fabulous views, luxury dining, shopping and culture all on our doorstep. We do hope this assures you of our commitment to providing a quality service for our valued guests, Kindest regards, The Management Team