Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great experiance

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Pros: Great food, service and entertainment.
Cons: TV's could be better and have more channels. Room for more clothes storage like some drawers.
Very friendly staff made us feel very welcome. The food choice was good and the deserts were great. Overall, we have enjoyed the stay. There were also live music and entertainments almost every evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2017 by Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Hotel Management
Dear Darius, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of your stay with us and for all of your kind words and compliments! We are happy to read that you had such a pleasant stay and that you enjoy all of our available facilities and services. Regarding your notices about our TV channels and the clothes storages we would like to inform you that the management and the staff of our resort are already informed about in order to proceed with all the necessary moves. We hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Adults Only hotel right on the beach.

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: The hotel is modern with excellent air conditioned rooms, tidied every day. Mini bar was available. TV channels limited to BBC World / CNN. WiFi poor.
Cons: Whilst the food was okay, the area in which we had to collect it was very cramped. Opening lids to see what was on offer was very tedious.
Location: The hotel is an oasis in a very tired rundown village. There are tavernas on the beach. Very little to do outside. Bus to Chania passes the hotel.
We had a ten night stay which was extremely relaxing and quiet. The hotel was excellently placed with a 20 second walk to the beach. The staff were very polite, helpful and efficient. Some of the rooms were allocated lie out beds next to a pool otherwise it was first come first served. The lie outs on the beach were rented out at 2.50 euros per day. We left feeling calm and relaxed with a healthy tan thrown in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Hotel Management
Dear K, Thank you very much for your detailed review and about choosing to spend your summer vacations here with us. As you mention, our resort is ideal for relaxing vacations under a child free environment in front of the beach. We are glad to read that this was exactly what you are looking for your holidays. The management and the staff of our resort wishes you all the best and we hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards, The management.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kent

Best hotel / beach access in the area

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Pros: Beech and friendly staff
Cons: Shower tends to flood the bathroom floor
Location: We used Balos Travel for local excursions but there are places in town to visit who organise trips as well
This hotel is a lovely place to spend time and has bus pick ups outside which the local tour operators come to directly so you can survive without a car. Everyone was friendly and the week passed by seemingly too quickly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Hotel Management
Dear Raymond, Thank you very much for your review and for all of your kind words. We are glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay here with us and we hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards, The management.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your rate. We hope that you will give us the chance to seeing you again in the near future. Best regards, The management.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vienna

Awful hotel and management

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Awful hotel and management. I have sent the hotel management 2 emails about the issues we encountered during our stay and they do not even bother to reply. Our main issue was we booked and paid in advance for a Beachfront Junior Suite with Sharing Pool but were given a small dark room at the back of the hotel. We were told that there were already guests in the Beachfront room we had booked and that we had to take the other room. The hotel staff were quite rude about it even though they admitted that it was the hotel's fault (although the reason for the mistake kept changing so we were not being told the truth). After I called Hotels.com for help the hotel "found" another available room for us which was bigger but still located at the back of the hotel and it also had no sea view. The hotel manager told us several times that we would receive a refund for the room mistake which was clearly a lie as the hotel has not given us any refund to this date and they do not answer my emails. This hotel has the worst customer service that I have encountered in many years.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok

Posted Aug 22, 2016
The hotel itself is really a 3 star rather than a 4. The staff are excellent and could not be more accomadating. The breakfast buffet is awful. Basic and bland just like the rooms. The location of the hotel was great being near the Habour which has nice restaurants.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Hotel Management
Dear bill, Thank you very much for your review and for your feedback. We are really sorry to hear that our breakfast buffet did not meet your needs. However, most of our guests are totally satisfied from the variety and the quality of our served breakfast. We hope that your will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards, The management.
5 out of 5
by Shai from Israel

Wonderfull vacation

Posted Aug 17, 2016 on Hotels
We were 4 couples and stayed 3 nights at the hotel. On our check-in, we were welcomed by Alex and the staff and we must say that Alex was very kind and warm and gave us the best service everrr!!! The hotel was on the beach, surrounded by great restaurants in peacefull nighburhood. The hotel's main pool and the shared pool are infinity pools, magnificent view, delicious breakfast and freindly staff. Thank you for great vacation, Alex you are the best!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Shai, Thank you very much for your review and for all of your kind words about our staff members. As you notice during your stay, the satisfaction of our guests is the first priority for the management and the staff of our resort and we are really happy to learn that we manage to achieve our target at your case. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards, The management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic resort in a very peaceful Environment

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: The breakfast buffet, great greek choices. Fresh cheeses, fruits and yoghurts and bread.
Cons: The wifi needed a new login every 24h I disagree with paying 8€ to be able to use the safe
Location: I recommend renting ATV's to get around the island easily, hotel can do this for you, approx 50€ a day for 325cc.
The resort is about 30min drive from Chania main town or 20min from Platanias (party place). 45min taxi from airport. If you are looking for a chill stay away from all the main crowd this place is for you. Waking up each morning to the sound of the waves and direct access to pool and beach was such a nice relaxing experience. The staff was very helpful upon arrival (7am) and offered us free breakfast and guided us to chill and wait by the pool while the room was getting ready. It's not a party hotel to meet people, the age of guests are most around 60+.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your detailed review and for taking time to share your experience of your stay in our resort. As you mentioned, the child free environment and the location of our resort is ideal for those who are looking for relaxing vacations in front of the beach. We are glad to learn that you are totally satisfied from our available services and facilities and we will be very happy to seeing you again in the near future. Best regards, The management.
3 out of 5
by Stephen from West sussex

Promised so much, delivered so little

Posted May 24, 2016 on Hotels
I think the full season started the week after we arrived. Not being totally negative- ,the staff were friendly & helpful,the housekeeping first class with fresh linen every day. .. but it's a bit like trying to hold superbowl in a playpark. the Hotel was just not 4star. No armbands for all-inclusive but then asked our room number everytime. No organisation for-- mealtime seating, where to swim, where the gym or spa were .The free Wifi dropped out every 5 minutes. the swimming pools not heated Outside walkways just wooden slats, some rotten & muddy. There was also dogs in the area, & spoiled the beach a little with their mess. The food plentiful if you like processed but not good Greek food. Little variety and either bland or totally overspiced.... and the first time ever I've seen duck including the entire webbed foot! Again, for a 4 star hotel a little more effort. The soft boiled eggs at breakfast were good though. Lots of local drinks. Very good strong cocktails but the beer and the soft drinks all had a chemical taste that was unpleasant and the local bottled wine tasted corked. There were items totally out of the Hotels control, the beach and surrounding area very run down and scruffy. The bus service to Chania, reported as every 30 minutes from outside the hotel was a 15 minute hike to the far end of town and then up to an hours wait, if you're lucky and the bus is not full. The trip to Chania, however, around 60 minutes, is well worth the journey.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Giannoulis Hotels, Hotel Management
Dear Stephen, Thank you very much for your review and for your preference shown in our resort to spend your summer vacations. Firstly, we would like to mention that our staff asks for the room number during the meals, just for a double check. We are really sorry about any inconvenience this policy of our resort caused to you. Moreover, taking the advantage about your notice regarding the wifi, we would like to inform that recently the internet connection of our resort, upgraded in to high speed internet broadband. Finally, the management and the staff of our resort are already informed about your notices regarding our served food, in order to proceed with all the necessary moves. We hope that you will give us the chance to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards, The management.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford, UK

Lovely quiet relaxing holiday

Posted May 3, 2016
Had a wonderful stay at this hotel. We had a junior suite on the ground floor with direct access to the pool. The room was very spacious , clean and comfortable. When we arrived we had a complimentary bottle of wine and a fruit bowl in our room. Directly outside our room was a balcony with table and chairs with stairs leading down to the edge of the pool. We had our own sunbeds so there was no need to rush down early to get a sunbed. At the end of the pool there is a bar that you can swim up to and the sea is just on the other side of the pool so while you lie by the pool you can hear the waves crashing on the beach. The beach is pebbly but there are sunbeds if you want to lay there. There is very little to do in the immediate area but if you are looking for a quiet relaxing holiday this is a lovely hotel to go to. There is a monastery that you can visit and a handful of shops so if the weather isn't great and you can't really sunbathe then you may need to travel a little further to find other things to do. The meals were lovely with lots of choice. We were all inclusive and you can have beer, wine, local spirits, cocktails and soft drinks. The staff were really friendly and helpful and we had a really lovely time.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2016 by Giannoulis Hotels & Resorts, Hotel Management
Dear Claire, Thank you very much for your detailed review and for your feedback. The opinion of our guests is very important for us in order to upgrade our services to the highest level. As we can understand, you had memorable vacations in Crete, and we are really glad to learn that your stay in our hotel was a part of it. Thank you very much once again for all of your kind words and compliments about our staff members and our services and facilities. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Best regards, The management.