Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Close to Reykjavik and Keflavik

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Reykjavik. Airport. Golden circle.
Clean, classic Scandinavian accommodation. A good, full breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice modern business hotel near the main highways.

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Friendly staff, modern facilities, wonderful breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Fabulous staff and good hot breakfast

Posted Sep 8, 2017
The staff at Hotel Smari were fabulous! We were able to check in early and they were helpful with our many questions. The hotel is not right in Reykjavik so a car is a necessity but it was easy to find and easy to access! Breakfast was included and there was a good variety of hot and cold foods.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Smithfield,RI

Easy access to major roads

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: The breakfast
Cons: Better pillows
Location: This is right down the street from the mall and a few minutes from Reykavik center.
We stayed here for our week vacation in Iceland, using it as a base for our daily road trips. The hotel has plenty of parking and included a nice breakfast with herbed scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, pastry, cereals, fruit and cold cuts. The room was big compared to other European hotels I have stayed in and had a large closet and desk. It also included an electric tea pot in the room. My only complaint was the bed was very firm and the pillows were very thin. They did give us second pillows when we requested them which helped our comfort.
3 out of 5
by Jeremy

Quick Stay before flight back to the states

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
The location of this was pretty good but this was a little bit of a weird experience for us. The room was a little run down. What do I mean by that? Well the bathroom sink faucet would wiggle, meaning you could turn it because it wasn't screwed in properly or something like that. Other then that everything was okay, other then the hotel charging us too much for the room. We had to get the manager to fix the price difference the next morning because the guy at the counter didn't agree with us. But we were right and the manager adjusted the price so we paid what we agreed on. Breakfast was good. One thing I think you can pretty much count on in Iceland is their morning complimentary breakfast has a higher standard then in the states. So it had nice choices.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Well located between airport and city. Very clean, great staff and modern furnishings. Sometimes airbnb can be more expensive than hotels and in this case the hotel provided far more value for money and comfort. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Good value hotel - ideal for road trippers

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Great value hotel in great location (easy to find) if you intend to drive around yourself. Breakfast was good & set you up for the day. Stayed 3 nights and no issues.
4 out of 5
by Trish

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small but a clean hotel

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
People at reception are very friendly. We booked all our tours and excursions with Gray Line Iceland. They picked us up from the hotel and dropped off there too. So we didn't need any other form of transport. However, the hotel is NOT near the city centre.
4 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Mar 7, 2017 on Hotels
The room was a bit small. Breakfast was great!