Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but not great.

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Location. Clean.
Cons: Several lights not working. Bathrooms were large and new. However shower configuration was awkward: position of shower head resulted in water all over
Location was fine. Breakfast was adequate. The area smelled like a barn but for the most part, the room did not smell that way. Rooms were very clean and the quad room was excellent size for our family of four. However non-working lights rendered the small eating area unusable. There was a refrigerator in the room but the interior of it was room temperature.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok but not great

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Well located to Salzburg and countryside. Room was clean but several lights in room and hallway not working made it dark. Refrigerator in room did not work. Bathroom was large and very nice but shower configuration left us with lots of water on the floor! Breakfast was decent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Good hotel in this farming/tourist village

Posted Sep 19, 2015
The staff speaks adequate English for foreign guests. The food in their restaurant is good. I loved how the cows (with their big bells) came out of the house next door every morning (bottom side level was for the animals, and I presume the farmer lived in the other part). The rooms were clean, medium sized. Comfortable beds. Great location. Adequate parking. Great access to tourist sites in the area. Short drive (10 minutes) to Fussen. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Bittersweet stay

Posted Jul 23, 2015
My mistake was too arrive late at night at this hotel. I had a hard time finding it in the first place, once I was given the keys and directed to the adjoining house, I was quite hesitant to stay since everything was pitch dark and I was genuinely scared. I figured my chances of survival at a rest area were greater than this place. There were a couple of spiders in the room. I wasn't able to lock the back door and I felt uneasy. I even grabbed whatever form of weapon at my disposal and have it underneath my pillow, close to my chest and I slept with my clothes on right after I called and texted my family of my location in case they wouldn't be able to reach me. I know, I know, it sounds hilarious now that I am typing this out. Quite ridiculous, but it was almost midnight and I just wanted to quit my day. And so, I slept and woke up quite refreshed. I opened the back door that wouldn't latch and was greeted by a beautiful view of trees surrounding the area (no wonder it was pitch dark). I walked outside and for the time, I was able to appreciate the beauty of its surroundings. It was quite beautiful! I went for breakfast and the staff was accommodating and pleasant enough. There were several choices in food, but I was just surprised at the rawness of the place, that I didn't eat much. I walked outside the perimeter and took several photos. Finally rested in one of the chairs they have scattered about and enjoyed the morning breeze.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago,IL

Beautiful Hotel In the hills

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Location, price, room size, food
Location: Downtown Salzburg
We wanted a hotel close to Salzburg in the hills. We found this perfect gem. The rooms were huge, clean and had beautiful views. The bathtubs were large and worth soaking in. We ate dinner at their restaurant and our meal was the best one on our trip. We were delighted when the locals began to play their brass instruments for us in celebration of the Christmas season. We hope to return during summer to go hiking. This place was only 10 min. from downtown and the owners were wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean and efficient, good location.

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Good location, 10-15 minute drive to Salzburg. Very clean and efficient, good restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from France

Lovely room with separate bathroom and balcony.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Proximity to Salzburg
Cons: Dining area needs a facelift, but I suspect that this is already on the cards.
Location: Salzburg is an easy 12 k away - beautiful city - lots to do there. Lakes around this area are wonderful too.
Got off to a bad start when we found that the restaurant was closed. 'The chef was on holiday' for ten days. As this was the main reason we had booked - the reviews had been excellent - to say I was not best pleased is an understatement as we had to drive 12k into Salzburg each night for something to eat. When I complained, at first I didn't even get a 'sorry'. This was a real shame because the hotel is in a lovely area for walking (and skiing in the winter) The room in the annexe was large, obviously recently refurbished and the beds very comfy. The main hotel (dining area) is a bit tired, but clean. The breakfasts were good and had variety. All in all good value for money. Despite initial problems I would happily stay there again (checking when the chef was having his holiday first!) and I would recommend it to visitors to the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

4 Night stay

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Location, staff, food and drink. Nice spacious rooms also. Very clean
Cons: Maybe a bigger menu, but really not that big a deal.
Location: 30 minutes by bus into Salburg, but keep an eye on last bus back. 10 minute drive to St, Gilgen and the start of the Austrian lake district.
We chose this guest house for its situation. Only a short bus ride into Salzburg and going the other way just minutes from the Lake district. The guest house is in two houses. The main bar / Restaurant building where breakfast is served as well and the seperate accommodation block on 3 floors. Our room on the second floor was bigger than your normal double room. No noise could be heard from the bar, but saying that it is a very quiet village anyway. Staff were very friendly and helpfull. Food was excellent and plentiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Burke, VA

Spectacular view; great playground; outdoor dining

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Location: Ten minutes east of Salzburg so perfect spot for tourists.
After a looooong day of travel, this place was so appreciated! Large room on third level with a large deck and the view was beyond gorgeous. The decor is nothing fancy but all was clean and the beds and lines super comfy. We had a nice dinner and breakfast outside. Huge slide which our 12 year old must have gone down 30 times and I even tried it! Nice breakfast included with price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Canada

Wonderful place in the country

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The friendly and professional staff. The 'Alchemiste' Beer!
Location: About 10 minutes outside of Salzberg in a little town called Koppl.
Really warm and welcoming staff - good food (and beer!) We were really lucky as a local(?) fellow showed up with his guitar one evening and regaled everyone with music all night in the bar - so much fun!