Ratings based on 33 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England


Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: The pool.
Cons: Total refurb, Ayling resort.
Location: Out in the sticks! Need transport! Noisy! Lots of nice beaches and towns to visit but you need transport. Luckily we had hired a car.
Isolated, need car. Noisy, directly under flight path and power station close by. Hotel is certainly not as advertised on the website. Kitchenette not fully equiped, we had to ask for kettle. Had to ask for toilet rolls on a daily basis, just not acceptable. Drinks not offered on arrival and welcome pack of wine, fruit and water not in room as advertised. Air conditioning unit leaked on first night and flooded bedroom floor. We thought it had been repaired next day, but clearly not. Complained again and receptionist asked me what did I want her to do! Repair it comes to mind! In the end they unlocked the second bedroom in our maisonette for us to use. Breakfast very basic and poorly stocked, always running out of coffee, when items ran out they were not replenished. Rooms not cleaned daily.
5 out of 5
by Amy

Wonderful stay

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
I spent some wonderful days in this hotel. its a great destination for relaxing vacation.I was very happy with the room we were given, very clean,spacious and fully equipped.The staff was very polite and helpfull from the minute we stepped in.I can't wait to come back
5 out of 5
by Jerry

Enjoyed every minute of our stay!

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
I loved everything about this place!.Excellent service, great room and tasty breakfast.Look forward to visit again.
5 out of 5
by jaquiline

Posted Apr 5, 2017 on Hotels
A really nice place to stay and spend some relaxing holidays with your family.Very friendly staff and always there to help you with everything you might need.We made an excellent choice by staying at this hotel and we will definately do it again!
5 out of 5
by kerry from uk

I can praise this hotel sufficiently highly

Posted Jun 3, 2016 on Hotels
We wanted a small quiet hotel hat we had not previously visited and settled in The Small Village which proved to be a good decision. Talking to fellow guests around the pool and at breakfast, it would seem that our high opinion was shared -it was difficult to find fault. Our room was good, breakfast was good both for quality and choice, lunch around the pool was very good value ( enough to share between two ) and dinner, on the three occasions when we ate in, did not disappoint Overall I can praise this hotel sufficiently highly. As has been mentioned by several other reviewers, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful - without exception.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

comfortable and clean

Posted May 30, 2016 on Hotels
We had a good time. our room was comfortable and clean. The cleaners were cleaning carefully. Really enjoyed our evening meals at sunset. The staff were smiling and ready to serve . Our congratulations to the bar's staff because they were professionals and always smiling. Close from the hotel there is a small village with many options for food,coffee etc. and mini shops for shopping
1 out of 5
by James-Pieter

Remote, tired and like a ghost-town.

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
We did not have a good stay at all. As soon as we walked into our room, I noticed a GIANT cockroach on the wall of our bathroom. I went straight to reception and asked them to get rid of it. The receptionist's response was just 'oh dear.' She later said 'sorry about that. it never happened!'. It definitely DID happen. There was no offer to move our room, no compensation in the form of a free drink or free breakfast, nothing. The room was very tired and a little bit stained looking. There was a strange noise coming from the wooden chairs, as if there were insects IN them. The pool area was fine but the toilet seat fell off the toilet when I went into in the loos behind the bar.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Quiet escape to the sun

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: It was friendly and quiet, just what we wanted.
Location: The island is small, so if a car is hired, you can easily explore the whole island. We particularly like Kos town, the castle and shops.
My daughter and I booked a last minute deal to this resort in Kos. We wanted a quiet, peaceful break and that is exactly what we got. The resort is about 2 miles from the attractive village of Mastichari down a country road, it is too far to walk, so vehicle hire is almost essential (we hired a small car from the airport), although it is possible to hire bikes and cars on site. The drive to the resort is uninspiring, so we worried what we might find..... but the 'Small Village' was perfect for us. Clean attractive apartment, friendly staff and a lovely pool.
4 out of 5
by Diane from Texas

Definately need a car

Posted Sep 10, 2014 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed here a for couple of nights in the middle of a month long Greek Island adventure. I chose this hotel because it offered accommodation for an extra person one night since a friend was flying in to join us for just one night. First and foremost, the desk staff were exceptionally helpful and gracious and we can not compliment them highly enough. That said, before you book at this hotel you need to understand that unless you have a car, you must take a taxi to this hotel. So while the accommodations were fine, the "restaurant" arrangement can only be described as quirky and a bit frustrating. We ate there because there were simply no alternatives unless we wanted to taxi to a near by village and it took forever to even get a menu. There was a black board with menu items posted, but there were no prices listed by any items and even when we finally got a menu, many items listed no prices. The waitstaff, while friendly did not appear to know what to do with us since most of the guests much have been on the all-inclusive plan. Beyond the food situation though, the pool was beautiful and had a lovely view of the sea. I would have loved to give this place a higher rating, but believe in honesty and the importance of letting potential future guests know how remote this place was. That said, I would definitely stay there again, but would only do so with a rental car at my disposal so that I could ear elsewhere.
5 out of 5
by Gulfiya

Тихий семейный отдых

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Хороший отель! Но, нужна машина, так как поблизости нет магазинов и т.д. Или добираетесь на трансфере до Мастихари, а там на автобусе до других точек острова. Хозяева очень доброжелательны. Все понравилось.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017
Благодарим за отзыв Ждем вас снова The Small Village team