Ratings based on 106 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from SE England

Renaissance Kota Bharu

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Fine as a one-night stop prior to flying from Kota Bharu or getting to Pehentian Islands. Front of house manage was excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuala Lumpur

A decent hotel but some improvements needed

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: huge selection of buffet breakfast and wide selection of 24-hour room service menu, quite centrally located hotel location with a mall next door.
Cons: pls ensure the housekeeping staff are well trained as the hand towel & the towel mat were missing. took the staff 1 hr to send the room service menu.
Location: quite near the famous shopping heaven, Wakaf Che Yeh in Kota Bharu. 15min away from the main goverment hospital.
overall, it is a decent hotel but some improvements must be done. majority of the staff were very friendly, especially the door men. one of the receptionists, Mr Anuar was very patient and polite in handling the check-in process. in terms of the room, refurbishment should be considered by the management. the decor and arrangment of the furniture felt quite dated and the carpet had slight musky smell. in terms of the amenities, the usual bathrobe and room slipper were not available and it was quite disappointing. requested for the wifi, was told to sign up as a member and I was able to access the internet for free. my colleagues who came along during this trip were stuck in the lift during the second day. it seemed that all the lifts were malfunctioned and the a few guests were stuck in the lifts for quite some time! it was quite a frightening experience for those unfortunate guests!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Selangor

nice place for holiday and rest

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: staff and facilities
Cons: food for breakfast no variety and prices more expensive compare another hotel
Location: location its nice, but need to introduce the nice place to guest and provide map around hotel.
staff very helpful and guide me about interesting place at kota bharu
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but interior needs refurbishment.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Not value for money. I book and paid a room for three persons but facilities given fit for two.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bangi

Hotel with access to shopping complex and town.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Overall environment which is nice and comfortable.
Cons: Breakfast. Should provide much more choices and variety of food and also quality. Coffee was not nice at all.
Location: The best thing is when you're in Kota Bharu is to find local food which is tasty but you need to go out early morning.
I've been wondering about this hotel for long time as my uncle really love to stay in the hotel each time he's visiting Kota Bharu and makes me wonder what so special about it. So, i give it a try as the price is quite reasonable and to my surprise, starting from the lobby area, although it is not as grand as it's other sibling in major city like KL and etc., the small lobby did provide comfort and the ambient was nice. Check-in was smooth with welcoming drinks. Basement parking is a shared between shopping complex and the hotel which is a bit overcrowded sometime during peak hours. As for the room, it is not that spacious but the the double bed is enough for me, my wife and my 2 kids to sleep as 2 person can sleep on single bed as it is quite big. Bathroom is clean and nice. Amenities was okay. Although the hotel is near to main town area, I didn't hear any noise from the traffic nearby which is a bonus for me when having a good night rest. The only complaint for me is the breakfast as not much of a choice and not that tasty. But still, I would still consider it okay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Kathy, Hotel Management
Thank You for your respond. Will inform our team to improve. Thank you for choosing Renaissance Kota Bharu Hotel
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Alcohol free zone

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
The room and service was excellent. our only issue was that we would have liked an (alcoholic) drink with our dinner and this is a dry hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by ABD RAHIM

Better stay somewhere else.

Posted May 15, 2017 on Hotels
The services provided was very bad. On day 1, I have requested for towels and it took them 50 minutes. On day 2 same thing happened, no towel was provided and they send in the towel after 45 minutes. Poor customer services. Wifi is not complimentary for in house guest.
5 out of 5
by Norhayati

Good for traveles

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Good for leasure and shopping