Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 23, 2016
The brakfast was very bad. No choice at all. With very high price I pay, definitely not worth
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fabulous location & great staff

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Pros: The pool, beach, relaxed atmosphere and boat ride to and from the resort. .
Cons: There were a few teething problems like aircon and doors sticking but they were quickly fixed when we notified reception.
Location: We took the opportunity to use the kayaks, paddle boards and snorkels and went on the short aerial jungle walk.
We had a lovely relaxing stay in this rustic jungle resort. Fabulous views and lots of wild life. We twice took the boat to eat at the sister eco resort which was great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well worth it...

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Peace and Quite
Cons: Some things to do in the rain!!!
...it does look a bit tried in places but it was well worth the trip to the Island to stay in a piece of paradise for five nights...after two weeks of travelling around Borneo. We had a lot of ran and there is not much to do when that happens...but wait for it to stop - so if travelling with teenagers then you need to have thinks to entertain them with. The staff were very friendly and helpful - always trying to make your stay pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful romantic location

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: It was quiet when we stayed and very private. The service was excellent.
Cons: More walking options.
We had a very nice time at this resort and would recommend it to couples looking for a romantic getaway. We stayed in one of the Villa's which looked directly onto the beach. There is good snorkeling and water equipment for activities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bondi

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: So much wildlife, yet non-threatening.
Location: We came here to relax and not do too much - it was perfect!
We came to Bunga Raya straight after we climbed Mount Kinabalu. We could not have asked for a better place to recover from that ordeal! It was perfectly relaxing, staff were super friendly, attentive and always available to help (and cart us in the buggy when needed).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth, AUS

Relaxing

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: location, facilities and staff
Cons: it would be great if they had a small convenience store there, to buy some chocolates or ice creams or minor things like that. The frequency of ferry
Location: 15 minute boat ride into KK and all that is on offer there. All the snorkelling, kayaking etc was included as well as a great breakfast spread.
Great place in an ideal, secluded location. Really enjoyed the proximity to a nice beach and snorkelling opportunities without having to go anywhere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brunei darussalam

Very good hotel and facilities

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Excellent facilities and location. very, very comfortable rooms
Cons: The food needs improvement, specially the western food. The sand flies are an issue. They clean the beach but do not spray right after
Location: Better to stay in the resort
Everything was very good. Zip line, canopy walk, snorkeling, kayaking, swimming pool, all at same place. Low point are sand flies. They do not know how to manage. they clean the beach in the morning and spray in the evening, of course is not working. We came back home with dozen of bites. We could not enjoyed the beach because of this. Besides this issues, it is a wonderful place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice place to stay

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Everything was fine and the offered spare time activities are comprehensive. The only negative thing was that there are only 3 connections a day to Kota Kinabalu. If one wants to go independently from the offered boat trips, it costs around 50 USD.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near oxford

Absolute heaven on an Island

Posted Sep 12, 2014
Pros: Everything, the staff especially were above and beyond anything I have ever experienced, truly lovely and helpful people, I made good friends here.
Cons: If anything could be improved I found the drinks and food rather overpriced, though they are of excellent standard, check mini bar prices though.
Location: The Island is only a 25 minute boat ride from Kota Kinabalu mainland and from there you can opt for trips out to the forests, markets, etc.
Bunga Raya is a very special place, for nature, relaxation, good health and stunning views this place ticks all the boxes, the island is stunningly beautiful with lovely Hisbiscus flowers growing everywhere and what impressed me also was that the creatures live side by side with the islanders. The staff are outstanding with their helpfulness and friendliness, already I am thinking of returning as I loved it so much, there is a swing on the beach which I enjoyed daily, an infinity pool, snorkelling, gym, canopy walking, so much to do here, it is perfection and you wont want to leave. To sum up, this island is a wonderful, natural jewel in the ocean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Gorgeous jungle resort.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Pristine beach with lots of water activities. Lovely pool and spa facilities. Rooms were well-appointed and very comfortable. Friendly staff.
Cons: More frequent ferry times would be better as we had to book a private transfer rather than wait 1h45m for the next transfer at the jetty.
Location: Isolated resort in a beautiful setting. Great for water activities. Limited dining options but tried both restaurants and we were happy.
Stayed at Bunga Raya for 2 nights with a friend. We had a deluxe villa which was much larger than expected. We had requested twin beds on booking and unfortunately arrived to 1 large bed, however this was quickly taken care of when discussed with hotel staff. The resort is built into the mountains in a very unobtrusive way and is much larger than it looks. There's a lovely pool but it is situated on a beautiful beach which was pristine during our visit. We snorkelled in the coral reef just off the shore of the resort and saw hundreds of fish and coral. Spa facilities are very good and we had some excellent treatments. My only criticism is that the bathroom shutters don't completely shut off from the outside so the bathroom is always humid and there were a few insects, however this didn't hamper our enjoyment of the resort. Would definitely recommend, we thought it was close to paradise!