Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I will not recommend this hotel to all

Posted Jul 18, 2016
I will not go to Gayana eco resort again. Hotel staff at the check in counter at the Jesselton point is not efficient. It takes for more than half an hour. The boat travelling customers to gayana Eco resort is small and the seats is not comfortable. A hotel staff promised me for room upgrade as for celebrating the wedding anniversary if rooms is available in emails. But then no one help for room upgrade at check in procedure and the hotel staff said rooms is free for stand-by. Actually I don't understand the reason that more than ten spare rooms to stand-by for what. Bed, toilet and amenities in my Rainforest villa is just the same with that in my friends' Lagoon villa. The differences is just a table is provided in the balcony of Rainforest villa. But the price difference is 120 USD. Good in both restaurant is bad. Drinks in the bar is tasteless. Not many fishes and coral can be seen in snorkelling. Swimming pool is small. The wind from air conditioner in villa directly blow towards my head whole night and I got sick at that days. Curtains in villa is useless. And I couldn't see smile from staff at most of the time. The only thing that I appreciated is a few stars can be seen at the night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice but somehow no charm...

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Nice hotel in a beautiful spot but spoiled by all the plastic floating around the bungalows. Too bad no energy is put to clean up the water. Could easily be done and for a hotel that is supposed to be 5 stars it would be important. Otherwise the rooms are beautiful and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guildford, Surrey

Beautiful location

Posted Apr 21, 2016
I went in April 2016 and it was very quiet so felt like we had the resort to ourselves. I had an ocean hut which was stunning - complete with a deck and stairs leading to the ocean. A breakfast boat delivered our breakfast every morning. Staff incredibly friendly and helpful. Free snorkelling and kayaking, free boat to the mainland twice a day, and also to the sister resort (bunga raya) which has an amazing beach, restaurants and infinity pool. My only very small criticism is alcohol is very expensive, though guests do get one complimentary cocktail in the evening and a free fridge stocked daily with beer and soft drinks!! Food is delicious. There's an eco centre which educates you about reef protection and they breed giant clams. Also a touch pool so you can hold a sea cucumber/ starfish if you want to. More a romantic break for couples and divers rather than a family resort, though kids are welcome. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Cons: Facilities are shared between Bunga Raya resort and Gayana Eco resort, but there were only limited shuttle services between the 2 resorts.
A very comfortable resort, with friendly and enthusiastic staff. Great food too. Snorkelling right off the resort with numerous clams, anemone fish, parrot fish and groupers. MERC was a highlight- videos, an aquarium and live displays of reef rehabilitation - especially with respect to coral repair and giant clam breeding.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nottingham, UK

Great place to chill and relax and superb staff.

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Away from it all
Cons: A great choice on the menu. The food was excellent, but perhaps alternative menus could be offered daily, on a rolling programme?
Location: See above!
The resort was quiet, relaxing and gorgeous. For a family with two young kids (10 & 8) it was ideal. We visited the Marine Ecology Reseach Centre twice, as the kids loved it, endlessly swam and relaxed either in the pool or sea and also completed the jungle/canopy walk at its sister resort, Bunga Raya, via a free boat trip around the island.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Nice and tranquil hotel, very beautiful view

Posted Aug 5, 2015
I stayed in this resort for 2 days in July, the view is just great. I went snorkeling and kayaking there. There was not many fishes but the water is clear for the first day, however, there are lots of precipitate in water on the second day. The staffs are very friendly and helpful. We were satisfied with the room which was clean, you can hear the tides inside the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Good hotel, better manager, best staff

Posted Jul 18, 2015
Pros: The fantastic hotel staff, diving course and dives..lunch and evening menus, clean, comfortable hotel and rooms, swimming pool and Spa and treatments.
Cons: Breakfast menu, non-slip mats to water, sea-borne debris, WiFi
Location: There is a huge amount to do in and around the location, plus day-trips to the interior and other trips to Dive sites, rehabilitation center etc
Overall the holiday was extremely enjoyable - optimized by the hotel Manager and Staff. We chose to do the PADI Open Water Diver Certificate which cut down our exploration time and, unfortunately, we saw little of the location - we have to go back and catch more of what is on offer, the variety of trips available is inspiring. It's a very peaceful resort - we took the speedboat a few times to KK which was very enjoyable. Other than the holiday memories, I will remember the courteous and charming nature of the people we met - how friendly they were..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hong kong

Good breakfast

Posted Apr 12, 2015
the hotel view is beautiful and good taste breakfast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Milton UK

Amazing resort with with wonderful staff

Posted Nov 5, 2014
Gayana Resort is a wonderful place. Our villa was truly amazing with world class lighting, bathroom and a supersize and very comfortable bed. The staff were as friendly as anywhere I have been in the world. The resort is bordered by sea and rainforest - a sublime location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shanghai

Secluded getaway

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Room size, views, proximity to the city, no large crowds
Cons: Room wi fi signal. draft beer selection and snack menu. Hotel beach can be nicer with lounge chairs, not everyone likes sunbathe by the pool.
Location: Location is convenient, only 15 min by boat to Kota Kinabalu but only three scheduled boat shuttle
Good, warm and friendly staff, food quality excellent and prices reasonable. Limited room availability ensure tranquility in the resort.