Ratings based on 449 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Beautiful neighborhood.

Posted Jun 4, 2016
Pros: Neighborhood is beautiful and I am a city boy by nature. I felt like I was home even though I was in Japan.
Cons: Paint in room but not a problem for me. I really like the place!
Location: Sumida river, more restaurants than can humanly be sampled, museum, shrines, parks, pachinko parlors, and perfect city neighborhood in my opinion.
Kurumi Mansion is first of all not a new building and Tokyo does have occasional earthquakes so there are signs of minimal associated wear. The manager Mr. Sasano is very people oriented and has the room staged with notes on WI-FI connection set up, TV remote use, Air condition use and general rules for good neighbor manners. The building has a lift plus stairs and laundry facilities. The neighborhood known as Koto-ku stole my heart and even though I had a rail pass I rarely used it. Kurumi Mansion is next to the Sumida river and is so peaceful I could spend hours watching the boats go by. Walking distance to restaurants, neighborhood parks, shrines and shopping. Close by train stations are Hacchobori, Kayabacho, Ningyocho, Suitengumai, Monzennakacho and Kiyosumishirakawa. There is no Maid service and there is no doorman so please be aware of this. Private bathrooms and a small kitchenette area are just what I needed because I have very large body art and Japanese society has bathing restrictions on body art (remember it is their country, their rules). The rooms have western style beds and toilets for those who take time to adapt to another culture. Walking distance to Post Office which I passed 3 times because it's smaller to what I see in the US but perfect. 7-i and Lawson stores everywhere and 100 Yen store also in walking distance. Kurumi Mansion is not a chain Hotel and with that in mind not for the must be perfect traveler. I personally will be going back many times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Debra from Jacksonville, FL

Convenient

Posted May 25, 2016 on Hotels
Convenient location near a JR station, convenient wi-fi, convenient laundry facilities. Thanks!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2016
Bon compromis pour séjourner à Tokyo pour un bon prix. Bonne emplacement. Personnel très sympathique et anglophone.
4 out of 5
by Chi-Hsuan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 22, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by catherine from Nanterre

Moyen

Posted May 17, 2016 on Hotels
Très agréable. Transports très variés. On se sent zen. Attention à la sécurité électrique. Besoin d'un coup de peinture.
3 out of 5
by Julia from San Diego US

Not for old people rely on public transit

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
The manager of the hotel is very nice; great river view; AC and elevator works well.Room size is ok considering in Tokyo. But, I will not stay here again for the following reasons 1. too far away from public transit, 2 miles round trip everyday, it was brutal for old people 2. bathtub was too old to clean, it was dirty. 3. bathroom was so small, not even room for changing cloth in there. 4. the floor in the room was not even, there is a big bump right by the bed. 5. there are more stairs to climb after you step out of elevator, if you have lots of luggage, not convenient. But if you have a car and doesn't mind all the above inconvenience. The price of this hotel is very cheap.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

great choice

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: Scenic location, great price, no maids to worry about
Cons: sewer gas smell in the room. i had to keep the window open to air it out.
I saved a lot of money over what was available so I'd definitely stay here again. Great location on the Sumida River. I think the Sumida River might be the most beautiful area in Tokyo. The view from the bridge to the subway station never gets old. A moderate walk from the TCAT Limo Bus terminal. Which is where the closest subway station is. You will need to bring a couple of towels, washcloths, soap, shampoo, toothpaste/toothbrush. And you do your own housekeeping. No bidet.
4 out of 5
by Stéphane

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Launceston Tasmania

Pleasantly surprised. What a great place to stay.

Posted May 4, 2016
Generous room . We even had a balcony overlooking the river.Manager very friendly. Gave us all the information we wanted in English. Free use of laundry a big bonus. Can't praise it high enough. Loved our stay. Would like to go back here again one day.10 minute walk to airport bus and subway. Situated in a very quiet street.