Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel..

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Food could have been better in terms choices quality and quantity
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location maintained by worst management

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: Location is bit fine. but not completely ok. A bird sanctuary is near by, but no birds :-(. Boating is the only entertainment.
Very nice environment looking from outside. But rooms are horrible. mosquitoes and mosquito eggs in the wash room. No point of reporting to staff. No action will be taken. Only one in-house restaurant with minimal food option. Water flow under the room and sideways is a big highlight. But not maintained properly. Needs lot of maintenance.
4 out of 5
by Devika

Shabby-chic but worth the trip.

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed one night at this resort in February. Our bungalow had a lake view and was quite roomy for a family of four. My daughter and husband have are celiac and cannot eat gluten. The restaurant staff tried their best to accommodate us. I recommend learning the words for wheat, rye, barely, and oats in Hindi before you you travel. I would call this resort shabby-chic, the grounds with gardens crisscrosses by various bridges and canals are charming. The bungalows are in need of some tlc. But the location is quite special. You see and hear a huge variety of birds and are treated to an amazing sunset over the lake.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good stay but needs to improve

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Cons: please keep some transportation mode for local sight seeing
hotel was good ,we had a good welcome, excellent ambience, good rooms, good view quick service. Hotel team needs to check the room before allocating, my room tv was not working ,there was not set top box fixed to my tv ,it took almost 3 hours for the technician to fix it,its a very beautiful property please maintain it with proper standards
5 out of 5
by yashas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester...UK

Nice view of the waterscapes

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The view!
Cons: all in all...ok really...
Location: Bird Sanctuary...
Wonderful views (but we were lucky to get a chalet facing the front with nothing obscuring our view), the grounds are interesting to explore, the room is on stilts...which is again an interesting feature...bird sanctuary nearby is a great place to go...overall a good place to stay...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairns Australia

Tremendous potential

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: We liked the style of resort and its location on the lakeside. The freedom of area surrounding the huts was appreciated by us.
Cons: The resort as a whole needs a good overhaul and a change in attitude.
The huts themselves were quite good and very spacious and interspersed nicely throughout the bird sanctuary with little canals running in between. Sadly they are not well maintained though nor are the grounds. The location could be superb with a bit of a maekover and clean up. It could be quite achievable with the right people in control. We found the service non-existent and the staff extremely non-attentive and almost surely in their disinterest. The whole place needs to be better managed and put into the hands of people who actually care. The dining room left much to be desired both in decor and food quality. The swimming pool also has potential but it sits there looking quite derelict. Although we were not distressed to stay here for 3 nights we were not ecstatic either - not one of our better experiences in Kerala.
5 out of 5
by PUNEET KUMAR from pune

perfect backwaters stay :-)

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels
Very amazing place..perfect hotel to experience the backwaters. considering this as a govt hotel but its well maintained.. Very selective food but an amazing place.
2 out of 5
by Bincy from Toronto

Don't stay here

Posted Feb 1, 2015 on Hotels
The cottages are too old and cracked up. It's about time they do some serious renovation to all the cottages. Their breakfast service was poor. An example was most of their breakfast items was out of stock especially their poori. We had to wait in line for 10 mins and as soon as a set of 8 poori come they would all disappear in less than a minute. Their dinner service was poor as well. They need to hire more waiters to serve their guests.
4 out of 5
by shaikh abdul rashid from mumbai

enjoyed staying at KTDC Kumarakom

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels
it was very good stay, i stood 2 days,good food,staff were very helpful, very nice swimming pool, and good location, the resort itself is very good, try to take lake view room, the other services are very costly i have not tried, like massage and boating, i took boat service from other place