Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good stay but needs to improve

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Cons: please keep some transportation mode for local sight seeing
hotel was good ,we had a good welcome, excellent ambience, good rooms, good view quick service. Hotel team needs to check the room before allocating, my room tv was not working ,there was not set top box fixed to my tv ,it took almost 3 hours for the technician to fix it,its a very beautiful property please maintain it with proper standards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester...UK

Nice view of the waterscapes

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: The view!
Cons: all in all...ok really...
Location: Bird Sanctuary...
Wonderful views (but we were lucky to get a chalet facing the front with nothing obscuring our view), the grounds are interesting to explore, the room is on stilts...which is again an interesting feature...bird sanctuary nearby is a great place to go...overall a good place to stay...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cairns Australia

Tremendous potential

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: We liked the style of resort and its location on the lakeside. The freedom of area surrounding the huts was appreciated by us.
Cons: The resort as a whole needs a good overhaul and a change in attitude.
The huts themselves were quite good and very spacious and interspersed nicely throughout the bird sanctuary with little canals running in between. Sadly they are not well maintained though nor are the grounds. The location could be superb with a bit of a maekover and clean up. It could be quite achievable with the right people in control. We found the service non-existent and the staff extremely non-attentive and almost surely in their disinterest. The whole place needs to be better managed and put into the hands of people who actually care. The dining room left much to be desired both in decor and food quality. The swimming pool also has potential but it sits there looking quite derelict. Although we were not distressed to stay here for 3 nights we were not ecstatic either - not one of our better experiences in Kerala.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ajit from mumbai, india

Beautifully located hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Provides a lovely environment with quaintly designed cottages over canals, with lush greenery around. Comfortable rooms with good air-conditioning. Hotel is located next to a beautiful lake and a bird sanctuary.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paul from Cardiff, UK

Interesting Stay in an Interesting Place

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Pros: Peaceful location, lodges were well organised and private and lakeside position of lodges and restaurant.
Cons: Fine for us so hard to think of any suggestions for improvement.
Location: We chose the location due to proximity of the Bird Sanctuary. However, our tour was somewhat disappointing as the numbers of bird species was low.
The hotel is composed of rustic cabins on stilts with lakeside or canal location. Ours had lake view and was close to the swimming pool. The facilities were good and we found the place as advertised. The staff were helpful and the choice of food at meal times was very good. There was free Wifi in reception which we used. We really enjoyed our short stay (2 nights) and would return without hesitation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Philip from Bangalore

Makes a passing grade.

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: The design elements in landscaping- canals, domestic fowl, restaurant on stilts.
Cons: Attention to detail, sanitary fittings in the bathrooms.The cottages could do with better design elements, like the toilet pot not facing the bed.
Location: Neighbouring Taj Vivanta, it's right next to the bird sanctuary. A boat-trip offers better birdwatching opportunities against a morning walk.
The initial wow! of verdant greenery criss-crossed by landscaped canals soon gives way to the lack of attention to details and apathy typical of a government run place. Our bathroom did not have all the sanitary fittings in place, but the staff were quick to offer an alternative room when the issue was raised. The water in the canals has a circulatory system, which functions at sub- optimum level, causing stagnation in places.The waterfront hyacinth needs to be cleared or prevented like in the private resorts around. And probably the biggest downer is the food. Functional to say the least, but hardly authentic Kerala cuisine...smaller restaurants outside the resort do a much better job.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from New York, NY

Last minute plans!

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: The location, the property and most of all, the staff..
Cons: The cottages need a bit of sprucing up externally. The small canals need cleaning. And if the lighting was warm instead of white, it would be 5 star..
Location: Right on the water. I think this property has the best location of all in Kumarakom.
A friend and I were driving around in Aleppey when we decided to stay back for a day.. Went on Expedia looked up hotels nearby and KTDS was available and a little pricey than I would like to pay for KTDC. But it was last minute and options were limited.. So we booked it in seconds and landed up there in 15 mins, taking the reception staff by surprise..! But they were quick to work with us, up on their feet and promptly gave us the (best) cottage available etc. and in 10 mins we were checked in.. Left our bags and walked down to the restaurant for a beer and some snacks. Beer was flat, but food was relatively good.. Hung around for a while, went over to Taj for dinner (great ambiance, horrible food), came back and hit the bed. Woke up early and grabbed breakfast (was nice) and decided to take one of their boats and went on an hour boat ride in the lake. Was awesome, weather was good and the experience was memorable and worth the money (650 or something for the hour). Came back, ate at Tharavadu nearby (WOW!) and packed up and left. Staff was kind enough to extend checkout to 3 pm from usual 12 pm. Overall, experience was good. The property is huge and unlike other Kerala resorts with coconut trees, this one is heavily wooded, almost a forest spread over 100 acres. The cottages themselves were dated and rusty, but it was clean and so were the bathrooms (important for me). But the staff need special mention. They went out of their way to please. Will recommend!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vishwas from Bangalore

Nice property, but can be maintained much better

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: View and pristine environment
Cons: Maintenance.
Location: Hotel Travancore Palace, Chertala for awesome food. House boat for backwater experience
This property is right next to Vivanta Kumarakom. Technically this is much better property - bigger, has a bird sanctuary and canal in the property. But this is maintained just okay. You will see rusted, unpainted stuff everywhere. Rooms are not maintained – you can see the. Add to that their cable TV subscription had expired. Even with that, the property is best experienced at night as the view is breathtaking. This is certainly budget price when it comes to resorts at kumarakom. But had it been in the hands of private – it would have international acclaim.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Payel from Mumbai, Maharashtra, India

Good

Posted Aug 13, 2013
Pros: Best part is the restaurant. It's located right beside the lake and and above water. Like rest of the resort this also has nice wooden style.
Cons: Worst part is restaurant food. It's over priced and only average and doesn't have authentic Kerala taste,
KTDC Kumarakom (Water Scapes) has a decent size property at the bank of Vembanadu Lake. There are 6 rows of cottages. All cottages are of similar quality (at least so from the outside). The exterior has wooden style and the interior is comfortable with all basic necessity. Only first row (numbered 101, 102 etc) of cottages have a clear view of lake, rest of the rooms are on the back side with canal view. Canal is artificially made small canals. Looks good, but not maintained that well. There's a swimming pool and restaurant, adjacent to the lake. Overall very nice resort, and comparably much cheaper than Taj Vivanta just next door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NIK from INDIA

Value for money

Posted May 8, 2013
Location: SUPER LOCATION
Value for money. Great location. needs to be maintained better